Ratings based on 801 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Top Hotel in CBD for a fair Price.

Posted Aug 26, 2016
a very nice place serving an excellent breakfast and very good coffee. Friendly personnel that is helpfull all time. Rooms even have a rather large safe that was not mentioned in the description.
5 out of 5
by Brian from Cowes

Perfect Location

Posted Jun 17, 2016 on Hotels
Great position for friday night football.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jun 15, 2016 on Wotif
2 night of a hassle free stay. I'll stay here again
5 out of 5
by Vicky from Skye

Beautiful little hotel

Posted Jun 14, 2016 on Hotels
Was pleasantly surprised by this little gem tucked away at the bottom of Bourke Street. We got a great rate which included breakfast and that was a treat in itself, lovely little spread and your choice of hot items from an extended menu. The hotel is just lovely and I would highly recommend it to anyone who wanted to stay in the city, especially if you are attending a sporting event at Etihad, Casino or Jeff's shed, just a few minutes walk.
5 out of 5
by Marie Claire from Noumea

Alto on Bourke, on s'y sent bien

Posted Jun 12, 2016 on Hotels
Mes enfants (20 et 28 ans) et moi, nous nous sentons comme chez nous avec le service, l'amabilite du personnel.
1 out of 5
by Shane from Adelaide

Misleading services

Posted Jun 11, 2016 on Hotels
I asked if there was parking available. I moved my vehicle from a u park around the corner. Was not told about the $20 parking fee until I had already moved the car. They were aware that my car was currently in an $8 over night garage. They said they had great room service. The menu looked great. I ordered a $25 burger and chips and when it arrived by a guy with tattoos all over his face I realised they use a take away store as there so called room service. The burger was not worth more than $8 and the chips were all most non existent and soggy. The French man behind the counter smelt like a week old ash tray. The room smelt so badly of bleach I had to leave the window and bathroom exhaust fan on all night because it was making me nauseous.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2016 by Gary, Hotel Management
Dear Shane, We pride ourselves in providing excellent customer service and regret to see that we missed the mark during your stay. Car parking is indeed available at an extra charge of $20/night as stated on our website and has to be booked in advance. We do have inhouse room service during weekdays from 18:00 to 21:00 made freshly and delivered by our lovely waitress, an alternative option is offered to our guests from an external company and available over extended hours, including week-end. We will forward them your comments as it seems they have not been up to the standards we expect them to deliver. While bleach is used on occasion to sanitize the bathrooms we try and limit its use to the strict minimum, we will ensure that housekeeping is trained further in that regards as it seems that it was over used on that occasion.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 9, 2016 on Hotels
Bit small not a four star
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2016 by Gary, Hotel Management
Alto Hotel is a small hotel of 50 rooms. Often described as intimate, rather than large and glitzy. Our Petite Queen rooms (Small Queen as listed here) are compact at 18 sqm. With our Studio Queen rooms slightly larger at 22-24 sqm. We do list this information on our website and here so that guests can be aware of the style of room when choosing a room. All of our rooms come with free WiFi, large LED Smart TV with 120+ foxtel/cable channels. We also offer 24 hour reception. Inspected and rated by Star Ratings Australia as 4 star hotel.
5 out of 5
by Steven

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 30, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Charles from Nashville

sufficient but not as expected

Posted May 27, 2016 on Hotels
This is an old hotel, not built in 2006 as indicated, that has been admittedly extensively remodeled. Rooms are small. Staff is very friendly and efficient. Amenities fair (workout facilities several blocks away). Sufficient but not as expected
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2016 by Gary, Hotel Management
Thank you - Our staff always appreciate feedback on their service which is often described as friendly. While the building that Alto Hotel occupies was constructed in 1916 in a Neo Baroque architecture as the exterior photos indicate.. The building was extensively redeveloped into a 4 star hotel during 2005 and opened for guests for the first time in 2006. Unfortunately many websites have limited options or tick boxes where we can provide details of the hotel. When asked what year the hotel commended we chose 2006 instead of the original use of the building as offices in 1916.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2016 on Wotif
Small rooms with small windows that resemble prison cells.