Ratings based on 100 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful old Inn in a village trying to survive

Posted Sep 23, 2016
We loved the location of the Inn and the way it has retained its character over the years. We were a little surprised that when we arrived at breakfast, there was no one to greet us or let us know what the breakfast was all about. The breakfast was continental with cold cereal, juice, coffee, and options to make your own toast or pick up a pastry. The atmosphere was cool and would have been nicer if staff looked at us, greeted us etc.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good place to stay.

Posted Sep 21, 2016 on Hotels
This was a clean comfortable room in an older establishment. Friendly host and adequate breakfast. Would recommend to friends and family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sask.

Old well kept inn. Friendly hosts.

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Close to ferry. No elevator so not good for seniors. Close to historic harbour walk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grimsby ON

Great stay overnight

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Pros: Convenient for visiting my relatives; cleanliness; free parking; friendly atmosphere.
Location: Close to relatives whom I was visiting
Greeted by the owners, Mike and Anne, like old friends - which they are! Wonderful buffet breakfast
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Could be lovely but needs a face lift badly!

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Staff were friendly and helpful. House was nicely furnished with beautiful antiques. BUT the carpet on stairs, in hallways and rooms was dirty and needs to be properly cleaned or replaced. Unpleasant smell in room and hallway.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton AB

Charming, welcoming but tired.

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed here for the first two nights of of two week east Canada maritime holiday. It is close, about three blocks walk to little shops, just a few mind you, and the docks area where there are a couple of restaurants. The stores mostly are closed on Sunday and the rest of the week they close at five. Not a lot to see in Pictou but it is quiet and only a 15 min drive to the ferry to PEI. The hotel was built in 1930's, and although it has a lot of that period charm, the room, especially the bathroom could use an update. The fixtures and tiles appears to be from 1970's...but all that renovations take time and money. Maybe they have plans for that some year. The breakfast is very simple, help yourself to a few pastry items, make your own toast, cold cereal, juice and coffee/tea. The bread and muffins appeared to be a day or too old as they were on the dry side....Because we were dissatisfied with day one breakfast we skipped day two and headed to the ferry and had a hot breakfast there. The innkeepers were friendly and obviously try their best. However if you are passing through for a night or two, you can deal with the squeaky floors, rattling pipes and paper thin walls. It's all about the charm.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hilden, NS

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
very nice. Enjoyed the quiet surroundings and comfortable room. Would return again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Minas, NS

Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
We had a good stay, beautiful Inn. Loved the ambience. Very clean. Friendly service, nice breakfast. Only negatives are there were a lot of large scary spiders outside around the entrance that should have been cleared away some time ago (we arrived at night), the room was a little musty I'm guessing due to older carpeting, and the tub maybe needs some draino as it was very slow draining. Beautiful view from our bedroom window!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

A bit past its time but fine for a night.

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on CheapTickets
Pros: Location, breakfast.
This is an interesting property. The Inn is certainly in need of updating, but it certainly charges reasonable prices, and it is fine for a short stay. The dining room was closed at dinner when we arrived but was used for a very nice breakfast the next morning .... definitely beyond expectations. So, we'd stay there again (given the price), but you need to understand that it is an old facility.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Riverview, Mich.

Great place to stay.

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Went there to be close to the ferry but had a GREAT stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2016 by Mike, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments.