Ratings based on 787 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not really what I expected

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Location close to where I needed to be.
Cons: Parking, updating the rooms
Nice hotel in a nice area - but very outdated. Wallpaper peeling off the walls and the room was incredibly small. The parking situation is VERY inconvenient. Be prepared to walk three blocks to park and you can only go in and out once a day or you will have to pay each time. Probably will not stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lighting in the room could have been better

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: The building architecture and the room layout - 1940's feel
Cons: Elevator smell - musty
Location: Location wonderful in a very vibrant neighborhood - Ernest Heminway museum across the street, public library one block away - lots of restaurants -
Here on business - IMTS show - hotel better suited for tourist and or visiting family close by.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oak Park, Il

Water issue

Posted Sep 14, 2016
The check in process was pleasant. They were flexible to upgrade the room to twin beds room from single bed room. But during our stay, water wasn't available one morning. There was no update on the repair progress entire day. Imagine how uncomfortable I would have been if I hadn't taken shower the night before. Even when I contacted the front, the staff who had just started his shift wasn't informed from the other staff. The water was brown when it was fixed. No apologies given from the manager. They need to improve the quality of the customer service.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok for a short stay

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Ok for short stays, older and a little outdated. Not far from entertainment district. Front desk person not helpful, parking far from hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Macomb, IL

Nice place to stay in town

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: The room was clean and comfortable.
Cons: The parking can be a problem if it's raining.
Location: The hotel was right near the center of town. Perfect!
We were visiting our granddaughter in Oak Park. The Write Hotel was perfect for us. We weren't in our room except to sleep but it was clean and comfortable. The people at the front dest were always friendly and helpful if we had a question.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St Louis, MO

Convenient location and clean

Posted Aug 12, 2016
This hotel was very cute, had free parking, close by to a lot of shops and food, and was also close to a the green L train, which made getting into the city convenient. Honestly we were just looking for a place to sleep after long days in the city so I have no complaints. Very adorable hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 2, 2016
オークパークのみどころを回るには最高の立地。地下鉄の駅も近い。レストランの朝食も美味。ただ設備が少々古い。
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Great staff, excellent restaurant, comfortable bed

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Helpful staff, excellent restaurant, comfortable room, nice neighborhood
Cons: It was a little musty. The carpet could probably be replaced.
Location: Nice neighborhood within walking distance to restaurants and a couple of museums.
I was at O'Hare for a layover when the airline cancelled my flight, at 1:00 AM. Thank goodness for Expedia or I would have slept in the airport. Hotels were filling up fast. This is an older building, which is why only 4 stars. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. The staff was excellent. They were friendly and helpful. They turned a disappointing and miserable night (at the airport) into a pleasant experience. The next morning I had breakfast in the restaurant which was excellent. If I lived nearby I would come to brunch here regularly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville, FL

Nice, suburban Chicago hotel

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: the room, the bed, the food, the staff
I spent only one night in this charming hotel. It was an older building but the room was spacious and comfortable, and the dining room food was top-notch.
4 out of 5
by Zahilia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels