Ratings based on 826 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Just-right-for-our-needs hotel

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: The Write Inn has character! One is never reminded of ubiquitous chain hotels which all seem the same. Excellent location, price, restaurant.
Cons: Major structural systems should probably be examined and updated. See comments above re. the elevator.
Location: Enjoy the sense of intellectual/artistic energy of Oak Park. Tour Frank Lloyd Wright's home/studio & houses designed by him. Explore Hemingway museum.
The Write Inn in Oak Park, Illinois, a western suburb of Chicago, was just right for our needs on a recent visit to relatives. The location was terrific: in the heart of Oak Park, within walking distance to great shops and restaurants, near the great, new library, across the street from the Ernest Hemingway museum, and within a couple of blocks of a church designed by Frank Lloyd Wright and close to the Frank Lloyd Wright visitor's information center. The hotel is not fancy but our room was clean, comfortable, reasonably-priced and provided all the expected amenities. While the parking arrangements were a bit awkward, the restaurant was terrific! Excellent professional wait staff, interesting menu selections, great ambiance, and tasty food. My only caution is that the facility is older and may need more updating: for example, as we were leaving, the elevator came to our floor but the door would not open, so we had to go down the stairs, luggage in tow.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Boarding house with antiquated feel and ugly decor
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great location and staff but not clean

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Staff was wonderful, and if you seek a location in Oak Park it was terrific. But the beds had dirty sheets on them, and when we opened up the coffee machine to make coffee the previous coffee pouch had never been removed and there was green mold on the pouch and on the machine.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

GOOD ENOUGH

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Pros: LOCATION
Cons: CLIMATE CONTROL IN ROOMS
I STAYED AT THIS HOTEL WHILE ATTENDING A CONFERENCE. I JUST NEEDED A PLACE TO SLEEP AND DID NOT WANT TO SPEND 200$ ON A HOTEL ROOM. IT IS AN OLD BUILDING AND NOT AS NICE AS A HILTON OR MARRIOT BUT GOOD ENOUGH FOR WHAT I NEEDED. THE STAFF WHERE HELPFUL AND FRIENDLY AND THE PLACE HAD A QUAINT CHARM.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: Front desk staff were friendly. Breakfast was not included but the restuarant downstairs had a men that was reasonable and the selection was good. I would stay again but I would go with the clear expectation that the rooms are small, compact and the kitchenette does not have any utensils.
Cons: The hotel is old, and it shows it. While they are doing a great job of keeping it clean and tidy, the age shows. Our room was also tiny, really small. The bed was wedhged between two tables with very limited seating and space to move. It worked for us as we were out during the day but you would not really be able to spend any time in the room during the day due to its size and layout. Also felt that the kitchenette was poorly equiped. It had a fridge, coffee machine and plastic cups. There were no plates, cutlery etc. so the kitchen was impossible to use for anything other than coffee. Our room did look down on an alleyway that was used for smoking. Not sure if it was employees or guests but we did find the noise from the smokers in the alley carried and did get quite annoying at night.
Location: Hotel is in a stunning area, lots of history and a lovely selection of parks and restuarants within walking distance of the hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 9, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This hotel belong on a rundown neighborhood

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Nothing , bed ,walls,bathroom and no cable tv other than Antana
Cons: It's totally out of shape and in need of repair ,Walpapers pealing off,bed cramped between tv stand and a wall ,20in tv without cable
Location: Good neighborhood
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hemingway district!

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
great restaurant in hotel - Hamilton bistro they were great about the dog.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Write Inn is a great value!

Posted Oct 23, 2016 on Hotels
The Write Inn has been our choice of stay for the past two visits to the Chicago area. It is a quiet, boutique hotel offering basic amenities, but it's the location of the Inn and the price value that brings us back. You are within mere steps, or walking distance of fine dining (Hemingway's Bistro) or many of the architecturally interesting structures of Frank Lloyd Wright's. Oak Park is a bike-friendly village that also offers great local shopping.