Ratings based on 843 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mobile, AL

Close to Frank Lloyd Wright Studio and homes

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: Proximity to FLW homes. Room bigger than looked online and with two seating chairs. Nice frig, coffee maker and microwave. Room looked updated.
Cons: Better instructions on how to use parking garage several blocks away. Staff did not volunteer info. Breakfast vouchers would have been nice.
Location: One of few places to stay in Oak Park.
It was in easy walking distance to Frank Lloyd Wright homes and restaurants were nearby too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from columbus

Great location

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Steps from nice park and town. Hemingway's Bistro in hotel - a great restaurant. Hotel is old and rooms, while comfortable, could use some updating.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Nothing fancy but the place has character and the location is great. Lots of cute boutique shops and nice restaurants nearby. Easy access to the green line which takes you to downtown Chicago in 30-45 minutes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel for Oak Park activities

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Great location, free parking! Art deco style, lots of character. AC worked in 1 room, but not in the other. Very nice staff, interesting place and good restaurant. Overall good value for money.
4 out of 5
by Fiona

Hotel

Posted Jun 22, 2017 on Hotels
Nice hotel. It was a bit cold in the room due to the AC but apart from that, nice bed and great bathroom!
4 out of 5
by Jan

Terrific location, friendly staff

Posted Jun 20, 2017 on Hotels
This is a delightful small hotel in a wonderful area near all the sights and activities of Oak Park. I was here only part of one night when a storm over O'Hare cancelled my connecting flight. I happened to get a queen room where the bed was hard as a rock and the pillows nearly as hard; but it has wonderful staff and a lovely restaurant that I would have loved to enjoy had I had more time. The atmosphere is very literary, reminding me of the Algonquin in NYC in times past. In spite of the bed in that room (312) I'd love to stay here again.
4 out of 5
by Charles

Great location - old charm

Posted Jun 18, 2017 on Hotels
There are not many hotels in Oak Park (exactly two), so there aren't many choices. But the Write Inn is well located near many restaurants and shops and even the el. Hotel is a very old building; rooms were kind of weird (including old glass windows with chicken wire in them), but it was clean and comfortable and the front desk was helpful. Only two complaints -- the phone didn't work, and the hallway carpets, especially on the first floor, were in need of cleaning. Restaurant on the ground floor, Hemmingways, is really good and we enjoyed our dinner there.
1 out of 5
by hesham

Posted Jun 16, 2017 on Hotels
Not a good place to stay never again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel itself had a lot of character, but the rooms were not super inviting. Reminded me of an old dorm room/cruise ship. I would not recommend if you plan on spending very much time in your room. Parking is a few blocks away, so if you are traveling alone, loading and unloading of your things is a bit tricky as you have to walk with it that distance to the parking ramp.
4 out of 5
by Megan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels