Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Sundar

Relaxing 3 day family vacation

Posted Jul 12, 2015 on Hotels
Fortune Retreats is a nice little cottage away from the bustle of Ooty but close enough to get there in 5-10 minutes. The cottage itself was nice, although slightly on the older side. However, everything works fine. The place doesn't have a kitchen. We checked with the management and their reason was guests tend to trash the kitchen and leave the cottage smelling so they decided to lock down the kitchens in every unit. The service was exceptional, make a call and less than 2 minutes later whatever you requested is there - extra towels, pillows etc. From time to time they had to change the LPG cylinders that provides gas to the water heaters. The approach road to the cottage is in very poor condition and could be a hassle in monsoons. A car is a must to get to this property. But once there, the views are very nice. Overall, a nice location and we had a very pleasant stay - 6 adults with 2 kids.
4 out of 5
by Angela from Casper, WY

Nice place

Posted Feb 25, 2015 on Hotels
This place is a ways out of town but it is in a beautiful location with great views. The room was comfortably furnished and decorated. The towels are ready to be replaced but I've see worse. Overall it's an inexpensive beautiful spot to spend some time in Ootty.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bangalore

view is worth the money

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Its a steep climb but a calm and beautiful view nice staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Mumbai

Nice hotel at hill top

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: Location....location....location
Cons: Only terrible thing which I can mention is road to reach this hotel which is broken and it is very difficult to travel from main market to hotel
Location: No comment---depends from person to person
Nice experience at the hotel...excellent location.....nice cottage with adequate space
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from ODISHA

grand plaza is a nice hotel close to the rly. jn.

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: FOOD-FRIENDLINESS-FUN-
Cons: TOLET SHOULD BE PROVIDED WITH BATH-TUB
Location: IT IS CLOSE TO RLY .STATION KONNI-AMMAN TEMPLE AND MARKET
I STAYED IN THE HOTEL FOR TWO DAYS WITH MY WIFE. DESPITE LANGUAGE HANDICAP I ENJOYED MY STAY. ROOM SERVICE IS EXCELLENT. ROOMS ARE CLEAN SPACIOUS AND COMFORTABLE. WHAT PLEASED ME MUCH WAS THE RECEPTION-DESK.THE MANAGEMENT IS CO-OPERATIVE AND GUEST-FRIENDLY. I WOULD LIKE TO VISIT IT AGAIN AND AGAIN....
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels
It was worst Stay in my life... worst Hotel cleaniness..... worst service.... worst location...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from hyderabad

Beautiful Hill View at ooty.

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: Location, Staff, Food & ambience.
Cons: Room heating facilities charged extra, probably some minor modifications such as warmer upholstery & flooring.
Location: Beautiful parks, inexpensive shopping for ladies, beautiful gardens & scenic roads. Pleasant people, variety of chocolates & essential oils.
I checked in with my wife at this hotel on 4 aug 2014. Located atop a hill in scenic ooty. Excellent rooms, but tends to get cold & need artificial heating. Gear up for the cold & a bit of uneasiness. Food was good & the hotel staff were pleasant & had all the features of visiting this place once again. Loved the experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth for the price

Posted Nov 27, 2012
The location is really excellent .. the service was poor couple of times the food order got delayed and the worst part is the bed ... would have rather slept on a stone.. so stiff it has given back pain in the 3 days stay..
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2014 by vinod issac, Hotel Management
we maintained all cottages . we providing good privacy because our cottage is individual villas. this is not star type hotel . we offering good service and good rooms . and our rates also below 1000 on that time but now we improve our service and cottages . you will get separate garden and separate campfire facilities also . nobody can give this type of privacy for the gust . In the food we have no ready made food . whenever you order food after only we start cooking , that means you will get fresh food , but it will take minimum 30 mints . when ever we took the food order we informed the time . sorry for the difficulties , unexpected happens