Ratings based on 1,163 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los angeles, ca

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Nov 30, 2016
My stay here was wonderful. Great ocean-view suite, spacious and clean, even had a sound system in the suite. The staff was very friendly. Location is central to all your needs. Fun bar/club in the lobby of hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mesilla Park, United States of America

Newport Newbie

Posted Nov 29, 2016
This is definitely an upscale hotel and the hotel grounds were quite beautiful. The ocean view was calming and enjoyed our overall stay. I was a little disappointed with the attentiveness of the staff but this seemed to be through out the hotel. It just seemed to be a little forced. Of the three front check in staff not a single one greeted my daughter or I. The valet offered us complimentary water but never brought it up. But the thanksgiving brunch was to die for as well as the wait staff and the entertainment was outstanding. So overall we enjoyed it
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

near the beach and near shopping

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: The location is perfect The facility was clean. The staff kind and happy
Location: We visit family mand go to the beach.
The atmosphere was friendly and inviting. The staff was helpful and courteous The breakfast was delicious and the service professional. We will return to Island Hotel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in Newport Beach

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Location: Short drive to the airport, beaches, restaurants and everything else.
I stayed this past weekend at the Island Hotel. It's close to everything that we wanted to see and is conveniently located across the street from a higher end shopping center. The hotel is clean, most of the hotel staff are very nice and helpful. The only negative (which was huge to me) when checking in, the front desk employee assigned me to a room that he literally said was the room type I had paid for through Expedia. When I arrived to the room, it was much smaller than I expected, missing a couch and was a joining room. Also, I could hear sounds from the TV blasting through from the next room next door. I called the front desk and ultimately went back down and asked the same employee to come up with a different room. I was told there was a room above the Aqua bar, but it would be very loud, a room with a king size bed and he was send up a roll away.... Eventually I was given a different room that was supposedly being "blocked off" for someone else. We entered the room and at that moment I realized that was what I had paid for for all along. I was irritated by the fact the person tried to pass off one room for another... After that issue was resolved, my stay was enjoyable. I would go back, but in the future, I would call ahead to avoid any issues.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Always an incredible stay! Perfect location. Please don't tell me how much I should right in a review:)
Cons: Wish they would stop the add ons like resort fees. Just ad it to the rate or allow it to be prepaid. I like to give weekend trips to friends and family as gifts and I can never pick a hotel with these fees because I can't have them prepaid. Wish I could do it with the Island Hotel because we love.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Breathtaking Sunrise

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: The View
Cons: Nothing
Location: Newport Center, PIMCO, Green Street Advisors, Pacific Life
I had the luxury of getting an ocean facing room on the 15th floor and it was incredible. I spent most of my time staring out the window and waking up to the growing horizon is not something I will soon forget. I was very impressed with this hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Warm and welcoming!

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: The staff is outgoing, friendly, and always willing to help
Cons: nothing~everything was perfect from the valet reception to check-out
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

BEAUTIFUL, GREAT LOCATION AND FUN

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: EVERYTHING
Cons: NOTHING
Location: FASHION ISAND IS RIGHT THERE, BALBOA ISLAND AND THE FERRIS WHEEL, RESTAURANTS, OCEAN ARE ALL THERE. NEWPORT IS THE BEST OF THE BEST.
FANTASTIC HOTEL, GREAT STAFF, GREAT FOOD, GREAT AQUA BAR AND THE ROOM WAS THE BEST!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SF Bay Area

Convenient location close to beach & shopping

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Very nice hotel all around. Our only complaints are the bed, which felt like an old mattress, and the staff unwilling to provide an iphone charger for room use. My husband had to leave his phone at the front desk for charging. Might we suggest the hotel offers these to guests and takes a deposit? We would've been happy to do so, for the convenience of charging our phones in our room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awesome place, the suite was perfect

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Room
Cons: More waiters in the outdoor food area
Location: Mall, beach, fun
Fast check in, fun place, big rooms, food was great!