Ratings based on 2,556 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worn and bad value for money.

Posted Sep 17, 2016
TV didn't work. Construction noises all week. Limited elevators. Very worn feeling.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hamilton, Ontario

Perfect location for all we wanted to visit.

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: From the valet parking to the renovated unit.
Cons: Soap dish should be added in the shower.
Location: Perfect location for all we wanted to visit.
The Lord Elgin exceeded our expectations. We will be back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nice newly renovated hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Nice new rooms. Not overly friendly front desk but valets great and helpful! Great location.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Richmond Hill, ON

Close to downtown Ottawa

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Pros: Convenient location
Cons: Cost of valet parking
Great location to tourist sites, Byward market, etc. Convenient location for us as we were moving our daughter into U of Ottawa which was just down the street. Hotel needs a bit updating but overall a pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very pleasant stay

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Check was a breeze, room was ready, clean and in the renovated section. Valet parking is expensice and not too reliable and that 3$ bottle of water is a turn off. I also wish they had a bathtub in room. We did a lot of walking and it would have been nice... and no shelf for soap and shampoo in the shower. But even this did noy dether from the great time we had and the fun time we had in Ottawa.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2016
The stay was excellent; everything was up to standard and there was nothing to note of which diminished the quality of my time there. *creme brulee at 'Grill 41' tasted very bland, borderline terrible. It was also small and cost over ten dollars. I can't comment on any other items, only had the brulee.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Excellent location

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Everything is in walking distance. Including tour buses that you can take to see the city. Mall is really close by and has an excellent food court. The room and the bathroom is a good size and comfortable to navigate. The staff was really friendly and always greeted us.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Four stars and no more...

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Besides having an issue with my television and not having enough staff at the pretty much - obligated valet service. It was good overall…
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Girls time in Ottawa

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: The location
Cons: Rooms are a little dated, but the hotel is being updated floor by floor
Location: We were able to walk to everything, Parliament Hill, museums, shopping, even to Gatineau is easily within walking distance
We were spending family time in Ottawa, seeing the sights and enjoying the cuisine. Lord Elgin was a perfect location for walking everywhere.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2016
The location of this pleasant hotel is a real plus.