Ratings based on 2,519 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Syracuse, NY

Nice hotel, convenient location

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: Conveniently located to Parliament Hill, Byward Market, restaurants, shopping. Clean, comfortable, charming, professional staff.
Visited Ottawa for a weekend getaway and have stayed at Lord Elgin twice before. Never disappointed. Again, enjoyed our stay. Highly recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Centrally located Hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2016
This hotel is within walking distance to Ottawa's main attractions. Staff is very professional, but the hotel is outdated.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Perfect location for sightseeing. The pool is quite small and located in the basement (no natural lighting).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milano

In centro. Molto comodo

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Ho soggiornato nel corso di un viaggio di piacere e ho trovato questo hotel molto confortevole, pulito e ben organizzato. Unica pecca la piccola colazione che a differenza di tanti altri alberghi della stessa categoria non vale il costo. Consiglio di farla fuori se non è compresa nel prezzo della stanza
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, great location,

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Room was newly renovated, bathroom was beautiful, but there was no shelf to put shampoo etc on. We also noticed that water could penetrate under the sliding door! Other than that the hotel was great,we will be back
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location.

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: Location - easy walking distance to many attractions. Fridge in the room - great.
Cons: Low water pressure in the shower.
Location: Very close to Parliament Hill - Northern Lights show was really good. Close to Byward Market and Rideau Centre. Great access to the Rideau Canal.
Great welcome and check in. Got the room we booked. They kept our bicycles in a storage room easy getting them in and out. Friendly, helpful staff, particularly at the Bell Desk.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great staff...close to major city sites

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Early morning construction @ 7am and no hot water between 9 am and 4pm didn't make the stay much fun. We couldn't get to the pool due to the continual movement of construction materials
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto

renovated room lacking

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Location: Excellent location, near parliament buildings, byward market, shopping mall, and canal.
Overall, a nice room and hotel, but what could have been great was marred by trivial irritations. Pro: 1. In room coffee maker and fridge 2. Comfortable size and pleasant decor 3. Great location 4. Free wifi Cons: 1. Tv takes several seconds to move to next channel, making channel surfing slow and tedious 2. No shelf in shower means toilettries sit on floor 3. Coffee maker takes up most of the desk, so has to be moved if you have work to do. 4. Airplane-style toilet guarantees to wake anyone in room 5. Valet parking only, so at a busy time, you have to wait for your car 6. Under construction, and while hotel committed to not starting work until 9:00 am, it did not stop workmen from being in halls an hour earlier, with loud walkie-talkies
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from calgary, ab

Good location, neglected and dingy place.

Posted Aug 14, 2016
I'm shocked that other reviewers were ok with this dingy place at four star pricing. This is horribly neglected (pool level was a dump from the impassable laundry carts to the shredded kids pfd's) place that has clearly coasted by on location.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

classic comfort and elegance

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Great location for Parliment Hill, restaurants and Activities. Service was superb!