Ratings based on 502 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Very nice hotel

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: Speedy lifts. Good food - extensive range of choice at breakfast and for evening buffet (great value at €17).
Location: Situated 15-20 minute taxi ride (€6-10 fare) to city centre, great views out over the river. Art gallery and botanical garden within walking distance.
We thoroughly enjoyed our 5 night stay. Staff all very helpful, friendly and efficient. Public areas spacious and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall experience

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: Breakfact buffet.
Cons: It shall provide Ironing board and Iron at room.
Location: Strange neighborhood.
It didn't have ironing board, nor iron at room. Excellent breakfast buffet. Kind of strange location. Staff very helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SF CA

Not 5 star

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Staff
Cons: Don't advertise 5 star
Location: Nothing nearby
Crowded and older hotel. Lousy restaurant. Does not meet standards for 5 star. Just average 3 or 3.5 stars.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Disappointing.

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff.
Cons: Hotel needs updating. Furniture is old, especially in bar area. Food service should be five star and not two star.
Location: Nothing is nearby. Everything is a taxi-ride into town.
This hotel is showing its age. When you see five stars, you expect a top luxury hotel. This hotel is sadly only about a three and 1/2 star hotel. The food is below average, the buffet breakfast was too crowded and the hotel is too far from the central part of town. We stayed in 4 star hotels in Coimbra and Nazaré that were much nicer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Good enough to be 5star hotel. Great view and staffs.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 18, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel 5-10min drive from town

Posted Aug 30, 2016
On arrival first impression in reception was wow! It looked good and smelt good. Just to be disappointed with the woman at check in who made no eye contact just held her hand out and said "passport" a smile and some information about the hotel and things nearby along with where breakfast and dinner areas can be found would have been a good introduction. First impression of the bedroom was wow! A nice bathroom with a rainfall shower as well as a normal shower which was pretty powerful! My partner and I decided to give the dinner buffet ago as as we arrived in the evening and didn't fancy venturing out. Dinner was a small buffet and not all food were labelled as to what they were - very disappointing and on top of that it cost €17 each. Breakfast was much better and we are that most mornings but never returned for dinner. Town was 5-10mins in a cab we used uber and it cost around €4. A cab back to Porto airport cost us around €10 which is cheap considering the airport taxi to the hotel cost us €25. Definitely recommend uber for getting about. Roof top pool was very small and quite packed. Waited at least 10mins to get served at the bar and I was the only one at the bar! I then had to wait another 10-15mins for the drink to arrive from the bar at reception??? We drank out drink at left was there a total of 30mins and left and didn't go back to the roof top pool again. Overall I would consider using the hotel again for the nice bedroom and the price that I paid for it.
5 out of 5
by Carl

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 18, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very bad choice!

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Breakfast buffet
Cons: Everything, starting form mentioning their policy about Expedia reservation on the Expedia site.
Location: Very secluded poor location, no restaurants or points of interest closely. There is not public transportation in the vicinity of the hotel.
The hotel did not accept the Expedia reservation and payment, and asked us to pay again for the room in the beginning of our stay. I had Expedia call them (they were surprised about the situation) but this did not change things. They did reimburse the Expedia reservation 4 days after our arrival, but we ended up losing $40 due to the currency exchange rates. This means that they kept twice the room charge for 4 days. The staff at the reception were rude and dealt with us in a very sarcastic way. At the end of our stay they were testing us to see if we are saying the truth about the minibar purchases. Room cleanliness was unacceptable for a 4 star hotel. They never swept the floor and the towel/bathrobe condition was very poor. The bathrobes reminded us of the rugs we use to clean the floors. The breakfast was very rich but you should go early otherwise you will end up in a huge crowded room fighting over croissants and the toaster. Dinner at the hotel is very cheap but if you ask for ice you will be asked for 5 euros per ice buckets. Outside the hotel the staff was protesting for their rights and complaining about the hotel management. I stayed at HF Ipanema park 8 years ago and I was very happy, so I though I would go again this year despite the fact that it is completely secluded from the center and far away from any type of public transportation. Never going back there again.