Ratings based on 321 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Really beautiful resort.

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: Very clean and the very modern.
Cons: I would have to say the choice of wines offered. There were no choices, and some of the quality of drinks were very poor at the pool bars.
Location: Did not venture outside the resort.
We had an excellent stay at lifestyle resorts in Puerto Plata. Everyone was so friendly and very eager to please the customers. Food was very good. The only problem was the wine served Same wine at every bar and restaurant. I had to end up buying my own because it was really a very poor wine, and they offered no other choices. Overall we had a very good experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from orlando

Overbooked disaster

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Cons: Let buyers know if rooms are not available so they can make other plans
At check in informed my 2br unit not available anywhere at Crown. They sent me to another property without adjoining rooms the the following day to connecting rooms without kitchen or living area. So I totally got hosed and overpaid. I informed Expedia on check in survey but no one has contacted me two weeks since!
3 out of 5
by Josue

Not soo Good of attention

Posted Jan 7, 2017 on Hotels
It sucks that we went for 2 nights and as soon as I got there I was inform that there where no reservations available for the restaurant, It should be more flexible for people that dont have manny days to stay and want to enjoy the resort, plus the staff didnt do any affort at all to fix this matter
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

Nice place to stay

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Hotel is ok. Hate that they push you to buy their membership. They push sonhard that you can spend hours talking to someone instead of enjoying the stay at the hotel. No means no, but they believe it means maybe.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Hotel was a two star equivalent. The staff was very unprepared and unfamiliar with providing us excellent service. The staff needs some excellent training on best practices and overall service skills.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dominican Republic

If you are not a member of the vacation plan

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: It was very clean and even the staff member try to make you feel comfortable, but they keep saying, if you are not a member you can't do this.
Cons: Treat everyone the same way.
Location: The beach is very beautiful.
If you are not a member of the vacation plan it does not worth it... they treat you like if you were not paying your staying over there. Most of the places are for (VIP) members, all the night bars, lounges, etc. All you have access to is the buffet areas and some restaurants that you have to do morning reservation for dinner.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Orbitz
Our first night there was without air conditioning so it was extremely HOT! We had to wait until the next day to be moved.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 5, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

they do not know how to book

Posted Mar 15, 2016
Pros: The grounds are absolutely beautiful. If you can get beyond what I said above go for it . The food when we got to a sit down meal was great.
Cons: Buy new equipment shuttlebuses are beat. Get a manager who know how to book your dinner request and not get bumped off
Location: we did the city tour recommended by expedia. Do not buy and thing from the silver shop. I got ripped off. Silver wore off in a day. $160. junk
This hotel along with 5 other hotels is on a massive complex built into a side of a mountain. When we tried to check into this hotel they said they over booked it and was going to put us in another hotel in a junior suit with 2 queen size beds. It tool 2 hours of arguing with them we end up with kings size bed but in another hotel. In morning they pick you up at 8 am and state they are taking us to breakfast then take us on a tour of complex. they stop at a building told us we have meeting would take 15 minutes. It was a time share meeting that lasted for 3 hours, they were very rude when I said I was not interested. The Tropical Hotel is the only hotel that I saw that might be considered as handicap accessible the rest are not. It up 10 stair down up. Like I said Its build on a side of a mountain so your always on a shuttle bus to get to different restaurants. You pick you dinner meals in the morning and they ask for you main restaurant then second. The shareholder have first priority and if they want your time slot you get bumped of. Then you get another place at 9 pm or go to the buffet. In the morning they take your towels and you do not get them back until 4 pm. We ended up taking beach towel to our room to use to get suntan lotion off. The WORST THING EVER, YOU USE SOILED TOILET PAPER AND THROW IN AN OPEN WASTEPAPER BASKET SO DISGUSTING AND UNSANITARY. I WENT INTO BATHROOM NEXT TO ASIAN RESTAURANTS AND BASKET WAS FULL AND DIRTY TOILET PAPER ALL OVER PLACE.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 4, 2016
Pros: in a warm place
Cons: no free wi fi which now a days is necessary
Location: only pay for trips not included in what is termed all-inclusive
staff not helpful. water undrinkable and they only give you a liter and a half a day. that's for coffee and tea and to brush your teeth with as well as drinking water