Ratings based on 163 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

Nice place to stay

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Hotel is ok. Hate that they push you to buy their membership. They push sonhard that you can spend hours talking to someone instead of enjoying the stay at the hotel. No means no, but they believe it means maybe.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Hotel was a two star equivalent. The staff was very unprepared and unfamiliar with providing us excellent service. The staff needs some excellent training on best practices and overall service skills.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dominican Republic

If you are not a member of the vacation plan

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: It was very clean and even the staff member try to make you feel comfortable, but they keep saying, if you are not a member you can't do this.
Cons: Treat everyone the same way.
Location: The beach is very beautiful.
If you are not a member of the vacation plan it does not worth it... they treat you like if you were not paying your staying over there. Most of the places are for (VIP) members, all the night bars, lounges, etc. All you have access to is the buffet areas and some restaurants that you have to do morning reservation for dinner.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

they do not know how to book

Posted Mar 15, 2016
Pros: The grounds are absolutely beautiful. If you can get beyond what I said above go for it . The food when we got to a sit down meal was great.
Cons: Buy new equipment shuttlebuses are beat. Get a manager who know how to book your dinner request and not get bumped off
Location: we did the city tour recommended by expedia. Do not buy and thing from the silver shop. I got ripped off. Silver wore off in a day. $160. junk
This hotel along with 5 other hotels is on a massive complex built into a side of a mountain. When we tried to check into this hotel they said they over booked it and was going to put us in another hotel in a junior suit with 2 queen size beds. It tool 2 hours of arguing with them we end up with kings size bed but in another hotel. In morning they pick you up at 8 am and state they are taking us to breakfast then take us on a tour of complex. they stop at a building told us we have meeting would take 15 minutes. It was a time share meeting that lasted for 3 hours, they were very rude when I said I was not interested. The Tropical Hotel is the only hotel that I saw that might be considered as handicap accessible the rest are not. It up 10 stair down up. Like I said Its build on a side of a mountain so your always on a shuttle bus to get to different restaurants. You pick you dinner meals in the morning and they ask for you main restaurant then second. The shareholder have first priority and if they want your time slot you get bumped of. Then you get another place at 9 pm or go to the buffet. In the morning they take your towels and you do not get them back until 4 pm. We ended up taking beach towel to our room to use to get suntan lotion off. The WORST THING EVER, YOU USE SOILED TOILET PAPER AND THROW IN AN OPEN WASTEPAPER BASKET SO DISGUSTING AND UNSANITARY. I WENT INTO BATHROOM NEXT TO ASIAN RESTAURANTS AND BASKET WAS FULL AND DIRTY TOILET PAPER ALL OVER PLACE.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 4, 2016
Pros: in a warm place
Cons: no free wi fi which now a days is necessary
Location: only pay for trips not included in what is termed all-inclusive
staff not helpful. water undrinkable and they only give you a liter and a half a day. that's for coffee and tea and to brush your teeth with as well as drinking water
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bronx,New York

ok

Posted Feb 29, 2016
Pros: it saw ok for the hype.
Cons: keeping thy promise on the reservation
Location: it saw ok
not good at all i pay for 1 bedroom apt ? . & i got a tiny room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

DON'T GO THERE

Posted Dec 15, 2015
Fair for the price , 4 out of 8 got sick, the morning and noon staff at the buffet were the worse I've seen, they could see our glass empty and never bother to fill it..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice Hotel

Posted Dec 4, 2015
Pros: Quiet
Cons: Better reception service when checking in. Rooms not ready on time.
Location: Good location for a vacation if you plan to stay on the property & not venture far.
You have to be firm with what you pay for. The clerk tried to send me to the other hotel on the property. Check out is 11:30AM
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Not a bad hotel

Posted Dec 3, 2015
The hotel overall isn't bad and the staff is great. The only problem I had was at check in. We paid for an apartment suit and actually was placed in a regular room. We were moved a few hours later and the walk wasn't the shortest, as it's a big resort. They have golf carts at the resort and I felt like we could have been able to use one, since we also had two young kids under three with us. Also we got there on a Sunday and supposedly they have an international night with big named artists perform on Sundays and Wednesdays, but we weren't informed until the next day and we left on Tuesday, so the Wednesday show wasn't happening for us either. Other than those few things, it's not a bad resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent Hotel & Enjoyable Vacation

Posted Dec 2, 2015
Pros: The V.I.P Beach by far was the best I've ever seen and experienced. It was very relaxing and very romantic.
Cons: There is a big bug problem to the point where they have to pest control rooms. If you are afraid of bugs, this is not the place for you.
Location: Ocean World, Catamaran, and Spa!
The highlight of my vacation besides the excursions (swimming with the dolphins and catamaran; which I highly recommend), was the beautiful romantic beds at V.I.P Beach. By far the best beach for non-VIP members. They offer you timeshares like all the other reviews say, however the staff neglects to tell you about the cheapest option which is the one I purchased. Furthermore, I had a blast without being VIP but you must realize everyone is on a hustle down there. If you are not careful you can wind up spending lots and lots of money. The downside to this hotel is that if you don't like bugs or fear them (which hey for me I don't mind), but there are lots of bugs including roaches and mosquitoes. Some mosquitoes got into my friends room and they gave him a special candle that made them go away. In my room I had a lot of roaches. Overall, my vacation was great and the staff was helpful, make sure you do at least one excursion, but I do suggest booking those on Expedia as the hotel charges more once you are there.