Ratings based on 1,352 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cape Cod, MA

Riu palace Punta Cana is the best

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: The workers do everything possible to make your stay enjoyable. We always bring a little something for them. Bags of chocolate candy goes a long way
Location: You are about 20 minutes from Punts Cana airport by cab and in the lobby someone is available to book any outside activities that may interest you.
This resort has everything you want or need within reach, from pool, soft Sandy beach, eating or shopping. We have stayed here over 10 times and try other places but always come back to the best!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2017
Previously I have stayed at Riu Palace in Los Cabo's which is why I wanted to stay here again. The hotel needs to be updated and repaired. Their is mold in our room and shower was disgusting. The entire pool needs to be repaired as it's missing tiles. Someone on our stay had bed bugs which freaked me out. The staff was constantly looking for tips and did not attend to you if you did not tip them, veery disappointed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Asheville, NC

Avoid!

Posted May 18, 2017
Cons: Service, rooms, food, policies regarding swimming pool chairs, + humane treatment of animals.
Not what I've expected to experience in a so-called 4 star resort. The room had moldy smell on the pillows, the mattress, there was visible moldy spots on the curtains and the mattress. The swimming pool was dirty, and all the front pool chairs were taken by 7 am. People would hang their towels or t-shirts on the chairs around 6 in the morning, and they could only show up at 3 pm after lunch having those chairs unused by anyone the whole day! The food was extremely salty (all the veggies, meats, fish). Some of the staff were polite and nice, while others were extremely rude, like when one got asked to bring a bottle of water he complained about it in spanish to another worker. (You can't drink the water they serve because it is very chlorinated). This place is not nearly 4 stars. Additionally, Expedia had a promotion with $2100 "resort credit" for this hotel. Total scam! There were no resort credit, only a few lousy and useless coupons/discounts for golf and car rental (and even then it wasn't like you'd save $2100 as advertised by this dishonest hotel). Additionally, I've learned that this hotel along with a few other ones poison stray cats and dogs at their territory. There are 22 hotels in Punta Cana with much more humane treatment toward stray animals (they spay and neuter stray cats and dogs to control the population, and don't poison them like Riu does). Shame on you, Riu.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

not recommended if you have walking impediments

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: The nightly shows.
Location: Lots of tours and excursions available to choose from.
The hotel is nice and nicely decorated. Recovering from a knee injury, the shower/tub has a wall that is higher than your knee that you have to climb over to get it. (a little over 2 feet high) and you have to walk up and down at least 3 flights of stairs to get to restaurants and pools or rooms. The brochure shows 4 pools, but the first 3 are only for fountains! You have to walk about 1/4 mile to get to the pool and about 1/2 mile to get to the beach. Nice restaurants, food excellent. Lots of wait staff at main restaruant, but very inattentive, they will spend more time talking to each other or texting on their cell phones. Tip: Order two glasses of whatever you are drinking, they won't be back you'll have to chase them down. LOL. All restaurants are closed from 3-6:30pm Shows nightly awesome fun and entertainment for the whole family. Michael Jackson show was wicked!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great place to relax!

Posted May 11, 2017
I have come to this hotel for many years and have had a great experience every time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel close to beach staff were excellent

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: everything
Location: never left the hotle
we enjoyed our stay and would go again every think was taken care for us it was a wonderful vacation
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

The worst hotel & people

Posted May 7, 2017
The experience is not even the start of it. It's the time from arriving to the airport that they customs are terrible no manners at all. Hotel sucks as well. No great customer service at all.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from south carolina

Mold/ mildew

Posted Apr 26, 2017
I am home now and I have a respiratory infection from the mold/ mildew blowing out of the air conditioner vents. We ended up sleeping with the doors open and no AC. It was really bad we complain to the people at the front desk they said they would take care of it by spraying something in the room and it did not work. Overall the landscaping and the exterior of the resort is remarkably beautiful and so were the beaches and the pools. The dining room staff have good days and bad days. sometimes we heard from other people staying at the resort of how they were treated rudely by some of the dining room staff. because we experience that I have also we could immediately relate. Overall the resort is nice however the management is very poor the food was okay but not really anything to brag about. The alcohol beverages were all off brands and the bartenders never could get our drinks to taste good. The only beer they had was Presidente and that is the most god-awful beer I have ever had. You can not get a decent cup of coffee until the bars open in the morning where a cappuccino machine is. Not even if you tip the bartender's they want to say in Spanish that they are closed and pretend like they don't understand you however they forget we've been there for the whole week and we see them everyday and no they speak English.room / breakfast coffee no bad We even had to take a shuttle to a grocery store to buy wine because the resort only had cheap to- $5 bottles of wine it was awful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

All for nothing

Posted Apr 21, 2017
First off the air condioner in room was broke had to move the next day to a different room just what you want to do on vacation the liquor was so bad no top of anything. The food was like eating fast food. The entertainment was very poor. Would never return to this resort again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from VA

Not a 5* resort as advertised. Disappointed!

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: The beach was nice and sandy, some seaweeds, no rocks. The lobby area is great.
Cons: Room needs a fresh coat of paint, rusty and leaky bathroom needs total renovation, no light in the bathtub, tub was old and grimy.
Location: Half hour drive from airport. Half hour drive each way to do excursion tours, spent a lot of time being driven to other hotels for pick ups.
3* room, 0* bathroom. Pool is showing age as there were loose tiles in there and one of my kids got a cut from the exposed edges in the pool. Got woken up a few times late night and early morning due to noise in the lobby and doors opening and closing. We were there for 8 days. Food was salty on most days. Bed was hard, sofa bed was very squeaky, got a backache from it.