Ratings based on 1,130 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

beautiful beach, fun staff, paradise!!

Posted Apr 30, 2016
Pros: Beach, pools, swim up bar, staff!
Cons: more vegetarian/vegan options at the dinner resturants. More fun activities organized by hotel when it rains
Location: Monkeyland and Sonoa Island excursions!!
The staff is sweet, funny and overall great! The rooms are clean and pretty. In room liquor dispenser? Oh yeah! Over RIU has not disappionted me yet (the Cancun one is great too)! Being greeted with drinks as we check in, no stress with anything, everyone is super accomadating. Definitely going to continue staying at RIU Palaces because they are paradise!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Pros: The beach is close by and beautiful. The hotel staff is pleasing, although do not expect room service--we could not even get any water.
Cons: The facility is dated.
The hotel is dated. The first room we got had a awful smell. They relocated us but the second room, as the first, was a smoking room and the fridge made a terrible noise.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

LOVE THIS RESORT/HOTEL

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Pros: Very friendly staff. Amazing food! Right next the beach! Luxurious pool! Everything!
Cons: Our toilet clogged twice during our 5 day stay. It was actually clogged when we arrived. There was mold on the ceiling above the bath tub.
Location: We loved the resort so much we never ended up doing any of the excursions nearby. Maybe next time!
Riu Palace Punta Cana was such a wonderful experience. I loved that everything was all-inclusive so I didn't have to think about pulling out money unless I wanted to buy souvenirs or get a massage. Which I ended up getting 2 massages during my stay and both were phenomenal! The staff was beyond friendly and never expected any tips or anything.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit

Great family vacation place

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Pros: Location, good food and great beach.
Cons: Room cleanliness, staff attitude.
Location: you can visit the other Riu hotels and if you are really dedicated, you could walk to Hard Rock. Not advisable at night time,
The hotel is in good condition and it's location is really good. It wasn't too noisy and overall great for a family vacation. The food was great including lot of choices. We eat at the buffet mainly because we traveled with our 1.5 year old and we liked the diversity of options. Staff was great at the buffet, very helpful and professional. I wish I could say the same about the pool bar staff. We are not heavy drinkers, so we would order an occasional drink and coffee, but they were just not around doing their job. They spend 90% of their time amusing and hitting on the girls at the pool. Being a guy, I wouldn't expect the same attention anyway, but come on, it's so obvious and wrong, On top of that, I didn't see any effort from management to correct the issue either. I would hesitate to recommend this place to any female friend or family traveling alone just for the share harassment.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Unfriendly staff

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Since the beginning of our stay all staff members seem to be in a hurry with ver low disposition to help us. They gave us a very smelly room and when we request to change it they told us to wait until next day. The other room smelled but not so bad. The servers had a bad attitude, cero good manners and all the time making fun of the "gringos". They didn't knew I speak spanish. I "lost" my iphone and the "security" service was ridiculous. They even charged me $16 to connect with my phone carrier. After I myself did the research, the iphone appeared in the front desk (even though I asked several times for it). It was not a good experience at all. They guys who sell excursion packages were also very rude. They even told me "if you don't want to do an excursion, you should've stayed at home". Awfull service.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Relaxing, enjoyable time

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Pros: The resort is about 30 minutes from the airport. The staff was friendly enough compared to other reviews I read.
Cons: Food, rooms need to be upgraded. Wi-fi
Location: We did one excursion with the dune buggies, I would recommend.
We just returned home yesterday after a week long stay 4/16-23. We had a very nice, relaxing stay. The beach is beautiful with amazing aqua colored water and miles to walk. The staff was friendly but there was a language barrier with some. I would not say tips are expected but the service us better if you tip. The buffet was pretty good, it had A LOT of variety. The restaurant food was blah, we had Italian(okay) and the Steakhouse(ew). We did not eat at the Krystal. We did really enjoy the sushi at the Japanese restaurant, probably because it just tasted different. Everything else tasted the same to me, had this one flavor and I can still taste it now that I am home! The drinks are okay, one beer is available, El Presidente, not my favorite. The grounds are very pretty, landscaped well with the fountains, etc...The wi-fi is very spotty. Overall, I would recommend this resort as we had a really great week.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on beautiful beach

Posted Apr 21, 2016
Pros: Nicely kept grounds, friendly staff, multiple restaurant options, large pool, wide beach, lots of beach chairs.
Cons: A couple of check-in staff members were not very friendly.
Location: Beautiful beach close to other resorts. Not much outside resorts.
First room had very strong musty smell. Hotel moved me to a much nicer room but bed was not very comfortable. Food was good quality for buffet and the restaurant options were nice. Staff were very friendly except for a couple of check-in staff members. Grounds were kept very clean and manicured.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from phila, pa

the staff is looking only money

Posted Apr 21, 2016
the transfer person was very bad. I could not get the pick up time. I had to come 3 times to get the pick up time
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from orange county, california

Nice hotel located on the most beautiful stretch o

Posted Apr 20, 2016
I absolutely loved this hotel and will definitely be returning
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Luxury at your fingertips

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Awesome experience! Fantastic buffets - these aren't like other buffets you've been to before. High quality, fresh food and with variety. Considered the Best food for all the RIU properties (which are all right next door to one another). You can go to the other locations (only 2 of the other 4 for breakfast and drinks only) but why bother... Other RIU guests cannot have meals at this property, probably for a reason. The RIU Palace Punta Cana is a very inviting all inclusive: In room bar, jacuzzi suite (with a few extra fancy rooms double the size with spiral staircases up to an outdoor jacuzzi as well as the in-room one). You can do as much or as little as you want. Pool is loud but we're not party people. Go to the hard Rock if you like all that. We chose this location as we knew that have been there, it's RIGHT on the beach and a classy joint Not too kid friendly though- the Bavaro Principe has way more fun things for tots. Sign up with your respective rep for activities. Something nobody tells you so I'll share: however you book, there's an associated activities rep in the lobby along the edges (daily)/selling you different excursions off property. Find your rep and remember that CASH gets better pricing than using your credit card in the DR. Bring lots of tip money because although "everything including tips" included, those poor people work really hard & have extremely minimal salaries. They're very much dependent upon tips, even a couple bucks goes far!