Ratings based on 1,359 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Furniture throughout, old and dirty. Room extremely dirty, pitiful pillows and bedsprads worn out. Black mold near roof tops throughout. A lit of flies in buffet areas. Broken beach chairs. Bar staff irritated when ordered cups of coffee. Food in special restaurants good. Buffet food ok.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from slidell la

Needs major updating

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Rooms were not very clean. Construction on building next door started at the crack of dawn. Wife and I both terribly sick for two days of the trip.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't recommend

Posted Jun 4, 2017
For the price we paid it did not need our expectations. The food was cold, no variety. The service was poor. The quality of the drinks not good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago il

Out dated.

Posted Jun 4, 2017
You get a single metal old key with room number on so if lost or stolen someone can go straight to you room and help themselves. Out dated had to switch rooms toilet was Broke and hair from last visitor left behind . Rooms smell really bad from cleaning products. Most Staff can't speak English at all. We were also not welcome at the other Rui just down the beach with our bands .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Beautiful hotel

Posted May 28, 2017
Planning a vacation is at times not the easiest task & picking a hotel suitable to ones needs & expectations can be the toughest part. After weeks of searching for a hotel in Dominican Republic, I am so happy I found Riu Palace Punta Cana. We enjoyed our 7 day stay & couldn't have been happier with our experience in the DR. The hotels architecture is breath taking. As the name itself states, it is a palace. It is extremely big and everything you need is within (restaurants, shops, etc.) Checking in/out was a breeze. Rooms were bigger than I expected. Having 5 different restaurants onsite, offered us a wide selection of food during our stay. Our favorite was Don Manuel (buffet style). Food was good & staff was great. The daily activities and entertainment group (Gasolina, Chocolate, Dewin, Ricky, Pikachu, etc). were just as awesome; never a dull moment. Their enthusiasm is amazing and contagious! My only observations: bed comforters are very thin, almost curtain/drape like. We left the AC on at all times to get ventilation & reduce humidity in the room, so thicker covers would've been ideal. Phone didn't work in the room, so every time we needed something for the first 2-3 nights, we had to go to front desk. Positive note: hotel was very accommodating and moved us to another room. OVERALL: I would recommend this hotel to family, friends, and everyone who is looking for a hotel in Punta Cana. We will definitely be returning! Thank you Riu Palace Punta Cana!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Hotel with nice amenities and competitive prices

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: every thing
Cons: Rooms Keys do not always work. Locks need to be replaced or resort needs to spend money to update to digital room keys
Location: there is a water park in the resort (free for resort guests)
Great! I have stayed at this hotel 3 out of the past 4 years. Wifi is excellent as compared to last year. Food is great. Beach and swimming pools are fantastic
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cape Cod, MA

Riu palace Punta Cana is the best

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: The workers do everything possible to make your stay enjoyable. We always bring a little something for them. Bags of chocolate candy goes a long way
Location: You are about 20 minutes from Punts Cana airport by cab and in the lobby someone is available to book any outside activities that may interest you.
This resort has everything you want or need within reach, from pool, soft Sandy beach, eating or shopping. We have stayed here over 10 times and try other places but always come back to the best!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2017
Previously I have stayed at Riu Palace in Los Cabo's which is why I wanted to stay here again. The hotel needs to be updated and repaired. Their is mold in our room and shower was disgusting. The entire pool needs to be repaired as it's missing tiles. Someone on our stay had bed bugs which freaked me out. The staff was constantly looking for tips and did not attend to you if you did not tip them, veery disappointed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Asheville, NC

Avoid!

Posted May 18, 2017
Cons: Service, rooms, food, policies regarding swimming pool chairs, + humane treatment of animals.
Not what I've expected to experience in a so-called 4 star resort. The room had moldy smell on the pillows, the mattress, there was visible moldy spots on the curtains and the mattress. The swimming pool was dirty, and all the front pool chairs were taken by 7 am. People would hang their towels or t-shirts on the chairs around 6 in the morning, and they could only show up at 3 pm after lunch having those chairs unused by anyone the whole day! The food was extremely salty (all the veggies, meats, fish). Some of the staff were polite and nice, while others were extremely rude, like when one got asked to bring a bottle of water he complained about it in spanish to another worker. (You can't drink the water they serve because it is very chlorinated). This place is not nearly 4 stars. Additionally, Expedia had a promotion with $2100 "resort credit" for this hotel. Total scam! There were no resort credit, only a few lousy and useless coupons/discounts for golf and car rental (and even then it wasn't like you'd save $2100 as advertised by this dishonest hotel). Additionally, I've learned that this hotel along with a few other ones poison stray cats and dogs at their territory. There are 22 hotels in Punta Cana with much more humane treatment toward stray animals (they spay and neuter stray cats and dogs to control the population, and don't poison them like Riu does). Shame on you, Riu.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

not recommended if you have walking impediments

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: The nightly shows.
Location: Lots of tours and excursions available to choose from.
The hotel is nice and nicely decorated. Recovering from a knee injury, the shower/tub has a wall that is higher than your knee that you have to climb over to get it. (a little over 2 feet high) and you have to walk up and down at least 3 flights of stairs to get to restaurants and pools or rooms. The brochure shows 4 pools, but the first 3 are only for fountains! You have to walk about 1/4 mile to get to the pool and about 1/2 mile to get to the beach. Nice restaurants, food excellent. Lots of wait staff at main restaruant, but very inattentive, they will spend more time talking to each other or texting on their cell phones. Tip: Order two glasses of whatever you are drinking, they won't be back you'll have to chase them down. LOL. All restaurants are closed from 3-6:30pm Shows nightly awesome fun and entertainment for the whole family. Michael Jackson show was wicked!!!