Ratings based on 1,424 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Cons: In general, food is great, but definitely they have to change the Japanese´s restaurant menu, it's terrible. Also, please clean the algae on the beach
It's a great place for having a relaxing time with your family or friends. You can find a variety of delicious dishes, ilimited liquor and extended leisure áreas.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami

Very pleasant stay

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Very good people , very good food, the deserts were no good, need to add Dominicans deserts
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst place we've stayed at!

Posted Sep 21, 2017
After we check in and get keys for our three rooms we find, one is flooded and another doesn't have AC and smells so bad it gives you a headache. We go to the front desk for help and they are immediately annoyed with us. We get two new rooms one with cockroaches and the other without a working phone. The food was disgusting and the chicken was raw. When we pointed it out they laughed and walked away. When we returned to our room after it had been "cleaned" our toothbrushes were moved around and had black hair in them. When I approached the front desk asking for new ones, they rolled their eyes at me and said, "I don't know what you want me to do, they aren't complimentary." The shower pressure was pathetic and the water was cold. Overall customer service was terrible, save your money and stay elsewhere!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pembroke Pines, Fl

Hotel stay

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Front desk was good, food and drink, spa and pool area was ok. Housekeeping staff was not good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

RIU All-Inclusive was Outstanding

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: Very elegant facility - well made and kept up
Cons: King bed was actually two separate double beds - wish they were a single; the casino was a big time let down and the people there were not friendly
Location: We didn't leave the facility
The hotel was a great facility - the staff was all very helpful and friendly although there was a language barrier with some, but that's to be expected visiting another country where English isn't the primary language. Hurricane Irma passed nearby and the staff took great care of everyone - we felt safe and secure the entire time. All the food and beverages were great - the buffets were stocked with about anything you can imagine.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Check in was terrible, the room was filthy

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Check in was terrible. Jesus in the front desk took 2 hours to get our room ready at 7pm. I was exhausted from a 10 hour flight and he didn't seem to care. Once we got the room after bugging him for an hour he gave us a filthy room. I called the front desk and they gave us a room which was better. This hotel did not give a good impression at the beginning, we were actually very disappointed. However, the waiters and bartenders were very nice especially Gregory at the swim up bar..he was very nice, attentive and made us forget about our bad experience. I wouldn't stay here again or recommend it, there are better hotels in the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the best resort that it claims to be

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: Food and drinks
Cons: Room cleanliness
Here are my details: Food: Many varieties of food and very delicious. Good selections for vegetarians. 9/10 Beach: Beautiful, safe and clean beach 10/10 Room: Dirty, smells like mould, sticky floors, A/C doesn't work, comforters are old and smelling sweat. Upon complaining the management shifted us to different room. 2/10 Service: People are friendly and service is quick. 8/10
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

RIU Chain is great but not this one....

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: Beach and friendly staff
Cons: If they would take the money to remodel and update the rooms that would be great! And they need to have better food!
Location: Close to airport. Shopping and lots of excursions.
This was our 2nd visit to DR. The first time was back in Aug 2012 and we stayed at the Hotel RIU Palace Bavaro. That was a top of the line resort! We were so impressed that we told everyone about it. My niece and her BF were booking their trip for Aug 2015 but they booked it at this RIU (RIU Palace). They liked it (he proposed) and they wanted to come back to get married! So the ONLY reason we did was for that reason. While I am sure it was a great hotel back in the day it is very dated. When they handed us actual keys to both the room and safety deposit box I should have known. When we walked into the room we were sadly disappointed. Very old and dated. Leaving that aside the food was par at best. Not too many options and it was not the best. The positives: Nice beach and the majority of staff were friendly! But if you are looking for top of the line...this is not it. For the amount of money we paid we could have gone to a much nicer hotel!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: nothing
- elevator broken almost all the time - room service comes an hour after order and the oder is always mixed up - celling leak in room - far walk from room to pool and restaurants - dirty beach - language barrier
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bethesda, MD

Lots to eat and drink. Very good customer service.

Posted Aug 28, 2017
We stayed for a week and the weather was amazing fortunately. The hotel sits on a beautiful piece of land and the property's architecture is amazing. 95% or more of the staff are friendly and helpful. The towel older guy, not so much. But hey, if people keep changing towels after 2 hours, that will piss me off as well. Our room was in perfect condition and the only complain that I have, is that the second jacuzzi did not work. I know, first world problems. But besides that, food and accommodations were great. Visit Saona Island, amazing place and tour. A couple of drunks here and there but they did not bother anybody. Be prepared to eat and drink a lot. NOTE: If you do not like sea weeds, do not go between the months of July and September. It can be really bad.