Ratings based on 1,175 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful resort close to beach

Posted Jul 21, 2016
One of the best resorts that i ever stayed at. Beach pools spa specialty restaurants and free drinks
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

nice hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Location: There is a casino and club about a half mile away. Shops are also within walking distance.
I went for a wedding for 4 days. The hotel rooms are a little outdated. I didn't feel comfortable sleeping with the bed spread so I just slept on the sheets and asked for a blanket. The grounds were beautiful and well maintained. They also had a lot of activities and the beach area has a lot of shady areas. The food was okay. After eating the same thing 3x a day you get a little tired of it. They do have restaurants on site but you do have to make reservations for them. The wedding was beautiful. It will help if you know a little Spanish. Very hard to communicate with the staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

looks way more impressive than it actually is

Posted Jul 18, 2016
The hotel looks magnificent upon approach. Then you walk in and the lobby is also impressive but you are hit with the strong smell of mildew. We had a suite which looked beautiful but smelled so strong that I could hardly stand it. All my clothes stink of mildew just from being in the room, and even after washing them, the odor remains. The beach is beautiful, the food is good. The staff is friendly. The beds are hard and uncomfortable. The air conditioning is not strong enough to cool the rooms. Everything stays damp. I would give this hotel 3.5 stars, not 4.5 as is listed. The mildew smell really is overwhelming and unhealthy to breathe. Unfortunate because we will not return because of this big problem. All the guests talk about it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from virginia Beach

There are better Riu's

Posted Jul 17, 2016
I have previously stayed at Riu Palace in Riviera Maya and also Guanacaste, both of which are great hotels. Riu Palace Punta Cana had terrible air conditioning, it was hard to even be in the room. The buffets were seriously lacking most of my favorites from previous Riu's and the mixers for drinks were sub par at best. and little things like never having my coffee restocked in the room, never getting more washcloths or hand towels, were quite annoying. Honestly, go to Costa Rica instead.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from f

4th time at a Riu resort

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Last time in DR we stayed at Riu Bavaro, but Riu palace is okay. The rooms were average, nice big king size bed, missed the walk in shower Riu Bavaro had and it was more modern. Beaches were great and the two pools were good and warm. Last time they had Different beers but they switched it up. Overall good trip for money we paid, after doing 4 Riu resorts between Jamaica, Bahamas and DR, it's time to try a different resort.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gainesville , Ga

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: the staff
Cons: needs updating
air conditioners were not cold. getting into an onsite resturant was a problem.had to ask for wash cloths.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible experience

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Terrible food, bad drinks, horrible service but still beautiful beach and met some great people. I would not go back to this resort...ever.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Incredibly Relaxing

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Great experience. The hotel is located right on the beach with a big beautiful pool. Staff are incredibly nice and will do anything for you to make your stay even better. The only part that was not the best was the food. It's a seafood mecca which for me is great. I am a seafood lover. My meat eating husband, a little difficult. Overall awesome trip and if I had the opportunity to go back, I would start packing right now.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Roaches, Roaches, Roaches!!

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Place is a roach motel! There was a roach in the closet, a roach by the mini bar, a roach by the bathroom sink, and a roach on the headboard! Rooms are old and the wood in the rooms are a roach magnet. Stay away!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IL

Nice and fun hotel!

Posted Jun 30, 2016
The hotel was nice and clean. Staff members were very attentive. Love the nights at the hotel.