Ratings based on 1,179 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2016
the grounds and beach were keep very nice and clean the staff was very friendly but the drinks and food was terrible
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Excellent, but needs better internet

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: Staff, room, location, and a beautiful beach.
Cons: Internet access in the rooms, and other common areas.
Location: The location is great, and we didn't go to any other place.
The hotel and staff were what we expected, a very good place to spend your vacations time with a staff willing to do as much as they can to make your experience unforgettable. The only "bad" thing is the Internet. We only could get the wi-fi/internet in the lobby, so it was very difficult to get in touch with our relatives or work from any other place in the hotel, so we had to go to the lobby every morning to get whatever we needed related to it, and then go to enjoy all that this place has to enjoy. If you want to just to relax this is a perfect place to do it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Dirty!

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: Better food, honest people who cleans!
Location: On beach.
The resort was dirty, food was horrible and staff very unfriendly. We saw several roaches. My jewelry was stolen from my room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX, USA

Nice hotel with direct access to the beach

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Well preserved facilities with plenty of open spaces. The place offers a multicultural family environment, since it is visited by people from all over the globe. A large variety of foods to select. Is all inclusive but do not expect Johnny Walker Black Label included. The staff is very friendly. In fact, all Dominicans are very friendly. Excellent dancers during the shows every night. And the turquoise water in front of the hotel with shade provided by coconut trees really makes a difference. Good coordination between the hotel and your rides to and from the airport. There was animation and activities in multiple places. There was a nice environment around the pool area but my wife and I felt more attracted by the beach.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful resort close to beach

Posted Jul 21, 2016
One of the best resorts that i ever stayed at. Beach pools spa specialty restaurants and free drinks
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

nice hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Location: There is a casino and club about a half mile away. Shops are also within walking distance.
I went for a wedding for 4 days. The hotel rooms are a little outdated. I didn't feel comfortable sleeping with the bed spread so I just slept on the sheets and asked for a blanket. The grounds were beautiful and well maintained. They also had a lot of activities and the beach area has a lot of shady areas. The food was okay. After eating the same thing 3x a day you get a little tired of it. They do have restaurants on site but you do have to make reservations for them. The wedding was beautiful. It will help if you know a little Spanish. Very hard to communicate with the staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

looks way more impressive than it actually is

Posted Jul 18, 2016
The hotel looks magnificent upon approach. Then you walk in and the lobby is also impressive but you are hit with the strong smell of mildew. We had a suite which looked beautiful but smelled so strong that I could hardly stand it. All my clothes stink of mildew just from being in the room, and even after washing them, the odor remains. The beach is beautiful, the food is good. The staff is friendly. The beds are hard and uncomfortable. The air conditioning is not strong enough to cool the rooms. Everything stays damp. I would give this hotel 3.5 stars, not 4.5 as is listed. The mildew smell really is overwhelming and unhealthy to breathe. Unfortunate because we will not return because of this big problem. All the guests talk about it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from virginia Beach

There are better Riu's

Posted Jul 17, 2016
I have previously stayed at Riu Palace in Riviera Maya and also Guanacaste, both of which are great hotels. Riu Palace Punta Cana had terrible air conditioning, it was hard to even be in the room. The buffets were seriously lacking most of my favorites from previous Riu's and the mixers for drinks were sub par at best. and little things like never having my coffee restocked in the room, never getting more washcloths or hand towels, were quite annoying. Honestly, go to Costa Rica instead.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from f

4th time at a Riu resort

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Last time in DR we stayed at Riu Bavaro, but Riu palace is okay. The rooms were average, nice big king size bed, missed the walk in shower Riu Bavaro had and it was more modern. Beaches were great and the two pools were good and warm. Last time they had Different beers but they switched it up. Overall good trip for money we paid, after doing 4 Riu resorts between Jamaica, Bahamas and DR, it's time to try a different resort.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gainesville , Ga

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: the staff
Cons: needs updating
air conditioners were not cold. getting into an onsite resturant was a problem.had to ask for wash cloths.