Ratings based on 1,307 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from K

Beautiful resort & steps away from the beach

Posted Feb 22, 2017
I had a positively wonderful stay at the Riu Palace Punta Cana. The grounds were gorgeous, the pool was beautiful and fun during the day with DJs and activities. The beach is only a few steps away from the pool. Everything was convenient! Only downfalls were the free wifi was pretty spotty in lots of areas & that you couldn't make reservations at the hotel restaurants.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Moline IL

Hotel in need of repair

Posted Feb 16, 2017
We have stayed in several RIU hotels. This one is in need of help. The room we were in had stains on the walls, it had 6 outlets, and only 3 worked. 2 of them were missing the face plates, so you could see the wires, and 2 more you had to prop the cord up to keep it in the outlet. The best part was we left early, because my wife was sick, with it turned out e-coli, and not a sole cared.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The hotel need a lot of work

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: The staff
Cons: the hole facility need to have better maintenance and the lobby too dark during the day.
The staff was super nice but the hotel need clean, paint in and outside. Floor is very slippery and not enough safety when is wet. The main entrance need a lot of work, furniture is very wear out . The food need more control on the salt.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Grounds , pool and beach are gorgeous !

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Wonderful place the staff can't be any nicer they go out of their way to make you feel like you are in a palace and feel special. Drinks are terrific not watered down at all !! It's just beautiful and so much fun. The rooms can use a little update but they still where nice and clean and your on vacation for the beach who stays in their room !
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

NOT a 4 start, maybe 2....maybe

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Pros: The beach
Cons: Hotel cleanliness, food quality, drink quality, overly aggressive sales people at the hotel shops
Location: Monkey Jungle and Hoya Azule were both very nice
I will start out with the positives. Beach was perfect, many palm trees, plenty of chairs for everyone. Nice roped off ocean area for playing in ocean. Sorry, that is all I got for positives. Hotel is in need of serious updates as you use a large key to get into room and that could take several mins as you had to get the key turned "just right". My room had not been cleaned from previous guest, sand in my bed, fridge not stocked, one towel left, low on TP. The safe requires another large key with a padlock. So you need to carry around two large metal keys during your stay. Drinks were poor quality, hard to mess up a margarita but half I could not even drink. Food was pretty to look at, but unless you were a vegetarian, food was very dissapointing and some inedible. With exception to the steak at the steak house, all meat was like eating beef jerky, terribly dry and piled with salt. All prepared food was salt laden to the point I could not eat. The fruit and vegetable were good, desserts were good, but I am a meat eater and could not stomach the meat except the one steak. Servers at the restaurants were good and attentive. Other service was hit or miss, some very rude and others were kind and attentive. We went on two very good excursions, one was The Monkey Jungle, and this was excellent. The other was Hoyo Azule and was very nice as well. Would not return to this hotel, but would return to DR.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

good hotel for a good price

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: the beach, food, view from the room, nightly entertainment
Cons: bed upgrades - the bed was not comfortable. Some of the staff at the pool bar would ignore us unless we spoke up.
Location: The location is perfect, about 20 min taxi ride from the airport. The excursions were fantastic! zip-lining & visiting monkeyland.
This was the first time we traveled to the Dominican Republic and was instantly pleased upon entering the hotel. It was by far the nicest out of all the sister properties. My husband and I booked a suite which was very pretty - the bed and some furniture could use a little upgrading. (the beds were not very comfortable) The majority of the staff was friendly although we did come across a few people that were not. The first night, we noticed a leak in the ceiling, notified the front desk and it was fixed by the time we came back from the beach. We found out that the cleaning staff works around the clock so if you don't want the maid coming in at 10pm while your trying to sleep, make sure you put the Do Not Disturb sign on your door. The food was great, the steakhouse was the best and wish we would have eaten there a few more times. The hotel has nightly entertainment so you have something fun to do every night even if is walking the grounds around the fountains and pools. The beach is amazing and the staff is constantly coming around with drinks! if you tip, they come back more often. The only downfall is that they hotel has photographers that come and want to take your picture on the beach - they are pretty pushy and kind of made it awkward when they pose you. The person who books the excursions for you was very nice and friendly, he was very knowledgeable about each one and grouped actives together to give you a better deal! We would definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sunny beach with excellent resort

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Our family had an excellent vacation because of outstanding resort! The staff was very nice and pleasant, the food was VERY good with multiple choice, the room was clean and fresh. The resort area was beautiful with green palms decoration. That was Happy vacation! Highly highly recommend to all my friends!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful resort by the beach.

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: It was on the beach.
Cons: I wish the staff was more informative when asking questions about the place. We didn't seem to always get a full answer.
Location: We didn't do any excursions. The water was a little rough to do any type of boating.
Have stayed at quite a few Riu Resorts and they are all pretty much the same - clean inside and out, nice pools, pleasant people. Would recommend it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Terrible food, decent staff, not worth the price.

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Front desk rude, wait staff mostly great, over priced. Food terrible. If in DR go to Casa de Campo.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Disappointed with a "riu" hotel,

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Pros: Pool, beach, buffet
Cons: Need lockers by pool for beach and pool users, it's a long way to room. Teach staff it's first come first served not oh you speak my language u first.
Location: Beautiful spot, we could go to casino in hotel next door not great, also a water park was ok. We didnt go too far it's not recommended .
Desk staff on check were ok but after that wouldn't see you unless you spoke Spanish that goes for all bar staff in spots bar and lobby bar. Waiters and waitresss were v good. Only food that was decent was the buffet food, same every night in other restaurants. Wifi was a joke not in rooms restaurants bars just about got it briefly in lobby. This hotel has to come into the new century very behind the times lobby full with everyone frying to get on their phones or comp. Bathroom had a shower with 4ft wall to get over, we spoke to older couple and they weren't able to shower. The husband fell and their wasn't a bandage to be found within 15 miles. No help from staff whatsoever only called cab and sent them out lots of$$$ later for band aids. Their friends left the hotel absolutely hated it. Its a beautiful building too bad it has so many shortfalls. If rains all day put some entertainment indoors a dance band with dancing, most boring place to be on rainy day.