Ratings based on 1,075 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Staten Island NY.

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Nice hotel .werry nice beach. Nice food.nice drinks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from RIU Palace

Very beautiful & would definitely return.

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Great experience. The dinner reservation rules should be explained at check in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pear River, NY

RIU Palace Punta Cana DR

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Pros: Grounds, food, beach, service!
Cons: No RIU management office on site! No casino to speak of!
Location: Dominican Republic cultural tour, visit to DR home, coconut factory, cigar factory, marketplace of locals.
This hotel has an absolutely beautiful exterior! You feel like you are in Morocco in a palace - beautiful grounds and exterior. The room although comfortable was dated and needs renovation. I still am glad we stayed because of the grandiose feel! Buffet superior and restaurants are all very good! Sipping piña coladas all day! Of course, right now I have an unresolved issue of paying for one extra night which I don't believe I should have been charged! But that's another issue! hotel is wonderful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Hotel with a Great Beach!

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: The service was impeccable and everyone was so friendly.
Cons: They should add some hot tubs along the pool and extend the pool hours.
Location: If you want to see the real country take the Santa Domingo tour into the country. It provides an up-close look at the local culture and was great!
The Hotel and venues and all the restaurants were great. The pool and beach area are also great but small for the amount of guest. Like all Riu resorts there is plenty to do for the whole family. We always enjoy the entertainment and the entire staff were excellent as usual. This is the perfect place to go for a relaxing get away and my wife and I loved it. We had dinner at all five restaurants. The Italian and Japanese were Great but our favorite was Steak house near the beach they serve Steak and Lobster every night and like everything else if you want more just order another. In, short we were very pleased and recommend this resort.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

overall management needs improvement

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, room was clean.
Cons: Beach was extremely dirty! Management should pay great attention to that part of operations.
Location: You can walk along the beach to the local souvenir market or explore territories of the neighboring hotels in the evening. In general, this place is f
Check-in was a bit terrible. Only the upper level rooms have a partial ocean view, thus I had to change my suit room. That entire move upon arrival was unpleasant. However, when I have informed that we came to celebrate my wife’s birthday, and also tipped front desk staff – they became more responsive to my needs. Food was ok but the beach was disgusting and always dirty. I would highly recommend RIU not to save on that; people come to DR to enjoy the beach and the sea. Neighboring hotel’s used to clean their beaches on a daily basis, while RIU was simply ignoring all that crap coming from the ocean. Expedia representative in the hotel was useless, thus I wouldn’t recommend ordering a taxi through them, simply ask front desk. The best RIU I have stayed so far is located in Cancun, Mexico. The most terrible RIU is in Bahamas / Paradise Island.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Roons conditions is poor, but service is perfect ............................................................................
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Savannah, Ga

Beautiful resort with amazing staff

Posted Jan 21, 2016
We enjoyed every minute of our vacation. Everything from walking the beach, lounging by the pool, and even water the water aerobics were a blast. Highly recommend to any person.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Wheaton, IL.

Enjoyed our stay.

Posted Jan 21, 2016
Pros: Attentive staff
Cons: Rooms could use some updating.
Location: Really enjoyed the beach area.
Although the rooms are a little dated, my wife and I really enjoyed our stay. The food was good. The restaurant and bar staff were very attentive. We would stay again in a heart beat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great winter getaway

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Cons: catch up on the facility maintenance
We really enjoyed our stay, the entertainment at the pool was excellent, especially the water balloon fight. We've been staying at RIU's for years and I agree with some of the www comments about the place showing it age (missing pool tiles, or cracks in the walks, etc.) but it did NOT impact our stay at all. Buffets are buffets; but these were somewhat better than most. But the main treat is the specialty restaurants - their food was Excellent! The Sea Bass at Krystal, the Lobster risotto, the chicken and beef at the Brazilian... we really enjoyed out stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

beautiful hotel

Posted Jan 17, 2016
Pros: its was clean , great service, nice beach
Cons: please , the drinks , why must it be so sweet?? , use fresh fruit,less sugar .Printing of the airlines tickets should be free , hello 21 century
Location: stayed at the hotel the whole time
beautiful , clean , hotel , lots to eat , my people don't go there to eat pizza , burger or pasta , eat mangu , rice and bean , fresh fish , soup of the day , really excellent,