Ratings based on 263 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent guest house, centrally located.

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Pros: The appearance of the building, the friendly staff, and the apartment itself were fantastic, but the location was the cherry on the cake.
Cons: No improvements are required.
Location: All the major historical sites are a short walk away. The Colloseum and Vatican City are a must. Fantastic location.
We stayed at Luxury on the River during a break prior to Christmas. Overall, the experience was excellent. The location was perfect, and the room was spacious and well appointed. Situated in a beautiful old building, with fantastic historical touches, the inside of the apartment was well appointed and modern. The apartment was within a 20 minute walk of the Vatican, The Colloseum, the Pantheon, the Spanish Steps, the Trevi fountain and many shopping areas both old and new.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2017 by Beatrice, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for the high score you gave us and for your nice review! We really hope to have soon the chance to welcome you back to the Luxury on the River! Best Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Clean quiet experience. Great location and away from traffic
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by Beatrice, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for the high score you gave us and for your nice review! We really hope to have soon the chance to welcome you back to the Luxury on the River! Best Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Quirky and fun

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Fabulous location - walk to all major sites. Wonderful Rome neighborhood. Beatrice, the in-charge-of-everything, warm and charming..always accomodating. Room was very pleasant and comfortable. Would definitely return for another stay. And the elevator....well, that's another review.
Cons: Bathroom, although well equipped, was very small. Otherwise...a wonderful and charming boutique hotel. Perfect for those who want to experience Rome and don't like big and impersonal hotels.
Location: Several very small and wonderful nearby informal restaurants. Right on Tiber. All destinations are a quick cab ride or leisurely walk away.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2016 by Beatrice, Guest House Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Hartgen, Thank you very much for your beautiful review! Me and my colleagues are glad that you have enjoyed your stay and we really hope to have soon the chance to welcoming you back!! Best regards Beatrice, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Swartz Creek Mi

Absolutely perfect for our 7 days in Rome.

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Washcloths
Location: Great location by the river which made it accessible to the Spanish Steps, the Trevi Fountain, the Colosseum, the Forum just to name a few.
Luxury on he River is an extremely well run quaint hotel. Beatrice and her staff are professional and personable. From arranging a car to meet us at the airport to assisting us with recommendations of restaurants, also she scheduled all of our tours of the city as well as Pompei. Their help made this vacation the best. The central location of the hotel is perfect to walk to all major attractions. Breakfast gave us the opportunity to meet other guests from around the world.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2016 by Beatrice, Guest House Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Betty, Thank you very much for the high score you gave us and for your nice review! We really hope to have soon the chance to welcome you back to the Luxury on the River! Best Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful little place.

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: The staff are very friendly and helpful and gave us some great pointers. The bed was the most comfy bed I have found in a hotel
Cons: Nothing at all. Expect to take a few minutes to find it, but that would be true of any small hotel in Rome.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2016 by Beatrice, Guest House Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for the high score you gave us and for your nice review! We really hope to have soon the chance to welcome you back to the Luxury on the River! Best Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Your Home in Rome

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Location: The hotel is right on the Tiber River and just a short walk from Piazza del Popolo and Castel Sant'Angelo.
The hotel was wonderful. Our room was large and modern, and the bed was very comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2016 by Beatrice, Guest House Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for the high score you gave us and for your nice review! We really hope to have soon the chance to welcome you back to the Luxury on the River! Best Regards
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Modern, nice friendly but don't arrive late or €25

Posted Sep 21, 2016 on Hotels
The Stay was great. beautiful room with high ceiling and very modern. comfortable bed. great buffet breakfast. great service. Be careful of the hidden €25 fee for "late arrivals" which starts at 7pm which is essentially a guy in pyjamas coming to open the door and showing you to your room. This is a bit absurd especially for the price you pay for a room. We had a room which gave directly onto the breakfast room and we could hear people having breakfast from about 7.30am which really wasn't great as we wanted to sleep in. Aside from that, the place looks great, modern and the staff are very friendly. rooms are comfortable. bathroom is brand new which is great!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guests, Thank you very much for your nice comment and feedback. Being a Guest House, we have fixed closing time for the reception and we care about showing this on all the online platform, informing the incoming guests that there's a surcharge for the late arrivals :) We really hope to have soon the chance to welcoming you back to Luxury on the River Guest House. Best regards Beatrice, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, but a little noisy.

Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Orbitz
Converted home. Many doors to unlock to get to your room and fairly noisy. Rooms are very modern and up to date. Nice breakfast and staff. Overall value for money is great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2016 by Beatrice, Guest House Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We really appreciate to read your precious advices, which will let us improve our service so that our level will be higher and we will be ready to welcome you back to the Luxury on the River soon! Best Regards
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 10, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for the high score you gave us! We really hope to have soon the chance to welcome you back to the Luxury on the River! Best Regards Beatrice, General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Hidden Gem in the center or everything

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed in the luxury apartment with our 5yr old and 1.5 yr old and couldn't be happier. The apartment was stylish and modern and had everything we needed for a comfortable family stay. Staff were extremely accommodating with the kids and helpful throughout the stay. Would definitely return and recommend to friends.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for the high score you gave us and for your nice review! We really hope to have soon the chance to welcome you back to the Luxury on the River! Best Regards Beatrice, General Manager