Ratings based on 175 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bogota, colombia

Paradise to take a breath

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Nice hotel, great location. Te foos little expensive but delicious
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Recommended

Posted May 30, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel property was very well kept and rooms were quite comfortable and clean. Complimentary wifi in lobby/restaurant area. Plenty of activities including biking, kayaking, scuba, snorkeling, bio-bay and a complimentary boat-shuttle to the nearby aquarium, which was definitely worth the visit. Massages in the spa were very good too, so were the food and drinks. Only drawbacks were the very poor water pressure in the room and flies in the restaurant area, particularly during lunch time! We enjoyed our stay enough that we'll be back, but these items should be corrected as they're not acceptable in a hotel of this caliber.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Little bordello in paradise

Posted May 29, 2017
Our suite was surrounded by 3 suites occupied by men who were pretty loud on the first night. On the second night they brought a group of 6 women, that looked like escorts at best, who at dinner time in the communal dining area, started undressing and showing off their bodies. With our young daughter in mind, we approached the manager and asked him to move us away from them. We were told the place was full and that they didn't have a quiet time policy, but that he would send a guard to keep an eye on them. It was clear that the women were not their significant others and I realized from early on how the night was going to transpire- other guests noticed too, and the staff clearly turned a blind eye to the fact that they were allowing one night company onto their property. We were awakened at 2 am with doors slamming, singing, blasting music, roudy laughter so we went to complain. We were told "Oh, no! we just moved them from here because people were complaining" they were in a communal area outside the dining room.The manager said he went and asked them to quiet down, and although the volume went down slightly, the music and door slamming continued until 4:30 am. In the morning, we asked to speak with the manager again- he only offered lame excuses, like we can't control who our guests bring in, we asked them to quiet down (to no avail), etc. He gave his apologies and gave as lunch for free... This was our nightmare in paradise!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Poconos, PA

Welcome to Fly Island...with occasional brown outs

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, great location, very peaceful!
Cons: Exterminate the flies and fix the power issues
Location: Island off of coast of Cartagena, Colombia. Not much to do, however that is the point. Its a relaxing area. Snorkeling, Scuba, Natural Park nearby
This is my second stay on Rosario, this time for 2 days at the start of my honeymoon. I chose San Pedro de Majagua because the first time I stayed, I felt it was a very beautiful and a perfect place to have a weekend with a loved one. Unfortunately my second stay was far from perfect. While the room was nice, and the staff was pleasant, the resort is now swarming with flies, making any meal impossible. We had to eat almost every meal in our room because dozens of flies would swarm the table anytime food was served. The manager claimed that they had tried several methods and an exterminator had been called, but that did nothing to solve the immediate health concerns over flies constantly on our food. Additionally, there were daily power outages ranging from 30-90 minutes. These were more of an annoyance than anything, although it did make it uncomfortable when the AC in the room went out. I can no longer recommend staying at this resort due to these issues.
5 out of 5
by Sandra

Posted May 23, 2017 on Hotels
Overall it was great. The hotel is clean. The restaurant is expensive but if you walk around you can get water, food and drinks from the hostel that is less than 5 mins away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

Great boutique hotel in a fabulous location!

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: It would be nice if the staff spoke a little more English as we did not speak Spanish. We managed to communicate though.
Location: It's literally steps from the ocean; the swimming and snorkeling is great. Don't miss the Enchanted Lagoon where the plankton glows in the dark!
We stayed two nights at this hotel in late April. It was great! The room was clean and spacious (upgrade to a Jr, Suite to get your own outdoor living area and hammock). The food was excellent, which we didn't expect being on an island so far from the mainland. The staff was very friendly and while there are no organized tours per se, they will take you on any tour you ask about. We had a guide take us to the Enchanted Lagoon to stand up paddleboard at night, which was a really fun experience. The swimming and snorkeling was great too. Very relaxing and excellent value for money. We would go back!
3 out of 5
by Anne

This place is so bizarre

Posted Mar 2, 2017 on Hotels
I am not the type of person to leave a bad review nitpicking small things about an otherwise excellent stay. This hotel is in a beautiful, totally isolated area; that is what you should expect. What's harder to understand is why the service is so incredibly bad. We're talking waiters-ignore-you-for-30-minutes bad. It was so bad we thought we'd done something to offend them. But maybe it was just that we didn't buy overpriced water there, instead buying it at one of the small shops a short walk from the hotel? Usually I'd just say "forget it, we won't eat here" . . . but you have to eat there for every meal. It's not a cultural thing, either — so many other places in Colombia featured amazing service, or at the very least, service that didn't require forcefully standing up and hailing your waiter in order to place an order.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oxford, United Kingdom

A vermin infested room

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: The food and drinks expensive. Lunch and dinner good, breakfast average. Staff attentive and eager to please. The robes in the room are great.
Cons: Vermin in rooms. Man-made beaches dirty. Strong smell of diesel fumes. Day trippers take over the hotel from 10:30 hours to 16:00 hours.
Location: Bicycle rides, walks around the island, scuba diving lessons, snorkelling trips, canoeing around the island and windsurfing is available at a price.
Stepping off the boat at the hotel’s marina is a strong stench of diesel fumes from the boats moored at the marina as well as local vendors selling cheap jewellery and At check-in we were informed that my sister in-law had no reservation, in spite of numerous long distance calls made by my wife from the UK since Feb2016 confirming the presence of her sister. The reception clerk then informed us that our junior suite was not available because we made a reservation for two people rather than three. We then asked to speak to the Manager but the reception clerk decided to ring the reservation office in Cartagena. A long conversation ensued at the end of which it was decided not to charge my sister in-law for her stay and that breakfast was included for all of us. Our room became a standard one and not a junior suite as booked. Worse was to happen that night, when my sister in-law found two cockroaches climbing up the wall next to her bed. A few more cockroaches were killed but my wife and her sister were traumatised by the experience. The next day the room was fumigated after we complained. On our second evening, the floor was littered with cockroaches and other insects. I killed a live cockroach in our bed and killed another one that fell from the ceiling. This continued for a good 20 minutes. In the morning, I complained to the cleaning lady who reported my remarks to the Manager who then moved us to a suite. We did not encounter any more cockroaches.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Your reservation was not accepted

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: No, but next time you might get it right
We ended up at Sports Baru which was very nice and we enjoyed it very much
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Nice hotel rooms (bungalow style). Essential oils used to keep the room fresh. Direct beach access (lots of pebbles) Would recommend a canoe tour of the mangroves around the island