Ratings based on 187 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Overcharged

Posted Feb 15, 2018
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Friendliness of staff
Hotel car park was too small for the number of rooms Parking on the road ok till 9am Charged €20 on arrival as tourist tax When questioned the amount I was told it was to cover Expedia commicion Staff not very welcoming
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Michigan, USA

Could use some improvement

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Pros: The furnishings and decor of the room.
Cons: More helpful staff -- we stayed two days, and never saw anyone at the front desk after we checked in.
Location: Within walking distance of the train station, with a pastry shop across the street. Located on a main Salzburg bus line.
Our reservation was for three people, with an extra twin bed requested. The extra bed was printed on our reservation, but the hotel had no record of the request. The place itself is conveniently located, with a well-appointed room. The wi-fi access name as listed in the in-room guide did not exist, and there was no way to request an additional pillow. The wi-fi never did work during our two-day stay. The staff was not at the front desk most of the time. The breakfast was good, served in a beautiful room with mostly annoying music from a local radio station playing a little too loudly. We arrived on New Year's Eve, and a bottle of sparkling wine was provided, along with two plastic champagne flutes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque, NM

Salzburg Stay

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Parking was relatively problematic. I would recommend to those not traveling by car. The ease of city center access was very good. The breakfast variety was very good as well. I did have an issue with slow sink draining which was resolved.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angels

Nce hotel close to city center

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Beautiful ppl and great service They were very helpful everything we asked for
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cambridge

close to city centre,bus & train station

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: basic but comfortable room & they serve a good continental breakfast
Cons: decor looking a bit tired in places
Location: closeto all city attractions
good value for money,handy bus stop outside hotel with buses every 10 minutes during the day to get you to the city centre attractions
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Breakfast

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Not suitable for anyone with mobility issues as there is not an elevator and a small parking lot.
Location: Close but not walking distance to the city centre. Excellent access to the highway.
We chose this hotel for a short stay in Salzburg and were pleasantly surprised. Unfortunately their parking lot is quite small and was not available, but the street parking was free until 9am, which suited us fine as we drove into the city centre. The breakfast was excellent and overall we had a good time at this hotel and would recommend it to others.
1 out of 5
by Vladimir

Worst hotel stay experience in a long time

Posted Aug 8, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel itself is old but OK. It did not help that it has no AC and the weather was extremely hot, but understandable. What has absolutely no excuse in our opinion is poor customer service. The receptionist was more occupied with texting and chatting on his mobile than addressing our requests. WiFi was not working despite promises to reboot the router etc. and then later a claim that a technician is coming (never happened). Took 3 requests by 3 different family members to bring an extra pillow. Parking is limited and the receptionist made no effort to suggest the appropriate parking solution. It appears to be a family run business and looks like not all family members are equally committed to it. We had a 2-night booking and left after one night without asking for refund and looking back. Stay away.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

no air-conditioning

Posted Aug 3, 2017 on Hotels
No air-conditioning. Wireless internet only works near reception. No full-size towel and only 2 small towels in bathroom when checked in. Had to ask for another towel and it was still wet. Management response to such items is unapologetic and unhelpful. Shower fixtures cheap plastic. Parking lot too small. Decent breakfast.
1 out of 5
by Firas

Bad Itzlinger Hof

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
Horrible. Bad value for money. Nothing comfortable about this hotel at all!
3 out of 5
by Steven

Soso

Posted Jun 10, 2017 on Hotels
It was ok. The beds were comfortable but the amenities in the room very minimal. Our toilet seat was broke, one bottle of water, two tissues, once emptied it wasn't replaced. The best experience was the breakfast. Tv location not the best, and no air conditioning.The breakfast was great, as well as the staff that maintained it.