Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Gabriel

Posted Jan 13, 2017 on Hotels
It was what I expected
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from jp virginia

Terrible

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Ended up going to another hotel. This place sucks. Bad neighborhood and the beach near is the worst
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tampa, Florida

Friendly staff, nice beach, and terrible internet

Posted Apr 14, 2016
Pros: The convenience of having everything at one location was great; there was no need to leave the resort. The beach was quite relaxing with clear water
Cons: The internet service is HORRIBLE; slow, not dependable, and available in one small location. This single factor would dissuade me from recommending.
Location: We never left the facility preferring to relax and enjoy the beach and the pool.
Overall, our family visit (with a 2.5 year old child) was enjoyable. Let us state upfront, we would not recommend the facility based on the HORRIBLE internet service (slow, unreliable, requires new username/password each 24-hours, and only available in one small lobby location). But, if the internet access was different we would recommend and even consider returning. Now, we will continue with describing the rest of our visit which was relaxing. This facility has welcoming and friendly staff, good but not outstanding food, clean but small rooms, nice beach with clear water, and nice pools. We visited the beach in the morning and the pools in the afternoon. The beach is public with small with some beach chairs, clear calm water and clean white sand. Our daughter enjoyed playing in the sand and trying to catch the small fish in the clear water. The pools were clean and the water temperature was refreshing. The small pool-side bar served tasty tropical drinks. The food at breakfast was very good and lunch was much better than dinner; while the food quality varied from very good on some days to good on other days. The omelet breakfast service and the made to taste pasta at lunch were the best. All the fruit was fresh and tasty. Although the facility offers entertainment, we choose not to partake in the evening activities but enjoyed the beach activities. This facility is an excellent place for a family with small children and parents not needing to access to reliable internet.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from miami, florida

no bang for the buck

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: nothing really
Cons: quality of food. entertainment and the quality of the rooms
Location: no much to do nearby, and going on the boating tours was crowded on a small island with nothing to do
This hotel is old and run down. For the price the rooms are to small. The food is generic and the overall stay was not very good. You have no beach to speak of
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bogota

budget hotel

Posted Jul 30, 2014
I went to this hotel 5 years ago and fine for a cheap beach break, going back after 5 years and nothing has changed ! but the world has moved on and so this is now a bit below standard. The entertainment staff are excellent though
1 out of 5
by Arturo Moreno from San Pedro Garza Garcia

You should never stay at a Decameron Hotel

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: Unfortunately, there is nothing I liked about this hotel. I never felt so free and relieved as the time I did my checkout. Thank god I am back home.
Cons: Customer service is their greatest weakness. Since the hotel is faraway from everything, they should offer transportation to the island attractions.
Location: The beach is awful. The safe-swimming area is too small and you need wet shoes because you get your feet hurt with the stones.
The place lacks the basic features that you will surely find in any other hotel. Being supposedly all-inclusive hotel, I got this: 1 No potable water on the room 2 No wireless internet on the room. If you need to connect, WIFI is available in a limited area at an extra charge 3 The key for the Safe-deposit box in the room has extra charge 4 Swimming pools were most of the time on maintenance. You cannot swim after six 5 There is only one restaurant that does not need reservation 6 Have your breakfast and meal early, because drinks get finished 7 No flat screen. You get a 15-year-old relic TV with a terrible image quality 8 The shower dirty and full of hairs 9 No fitness center 10 No Hot tub Besides the poor infrastructure and hygiene, the terrible customer service is their greatest weakness: 1 Bad-humored personnel during check-in 2 They don’t answer the phone at the reception 3 They refused to provide us with a second key to the room for my other friend 4 Tourist information has no clue about the activities you can do on the island 5 No transportation offered at all 1 I have never seen such an irresponsible scuba diving school in a hotel. First 2 dives were rescheduled 1 minute before the confirmed hour even when I waked up early. Scuba equipment was too big for my size and one of the o-rings failed when I was testing the regulator. No wet suit offered and I froze while diving. Last dive, the dive master did not show up. Don’t trust your life to them.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 7, 2014
Cons: The Room water. IT must to be potable. A welcome coctel at The Check in. Some employies must be more friendly.
Location: short but fun. recommended as an option for Colombia. jony cay, bolivar, Providence.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2013
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jason from Houston, TX

Average Hotel, great people and beaches around

Posted Nov 24, 2012
Pros: The entertainment staff was excellent. Super friendly and funny!!
Cons: Having to schedule a reservation for a restaurant a day in advance... and then you pass by the restaurant and there are maybe 3 or 4 tables occupied
You will not find 5* quality in San Andres, but hotel is not that bad, it is just average. The AC in our first room didn't work well at all. The front desk staff is of very little help for anything, and is not concerned at all with resolving a problem in a timely manner. So after being told to stay in that room and wait till they could find something open.... I just walked around our building and had the maid let me into various rooms that were available to check the AC, then told the front desk staff which room I found and wanted to switch to.... problem solved. Our maid was so nice and accommodating, working around our schedule to clean our room and not bother us, and she was 10x the help of the front desk staff for advice on things and places to do on the island, so I tipped her very well. The girl at the travel agency was helpful also. The hotel front desk staff, in my opinion were useless, and unresponsive. San Andres is definitely a step or two below all other beach destinations I've been to in Mexico, Dominican Republic, Jamaica, as far as accommadations, amenities and infrastructure.... and really overpriced for what you get. But it is cool to see at least once, and it is easy for my Colombian girlfriend to travel there w/o a visa since it is a Colombian territory. Spanish is a must in San Andres. I speak enough to get around just fine. You might be able to get by with only English, but you'd be missing a lot. All tours, excursions and shows are in Spanish.
3 out of 5
by Octavio A. Roman

Posted Sep 24, 2012 on Hotels
We could not be in confort because the aircondition was not working properly the room was to hot, they provide us with a electric fan but it was to noise, the rest of the service was adequate.