Ratings based on 3,015 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Well located, on the bay, a block from the beach

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: Loction and facilities.
Cons: The rooms are dated, but clean.
Location: Ideal for those that like the beach or water sports on the Bay. There is also a Midway nearby and we explored the Midway aircraft carrier - excellent.
The hotel had beautiful grounds, much like a tropical paradise with water features, Koi fish and ducks, a terrific spa and lovely restaurant. We enjoyed some treatments at the spa which were excellent. Staff were very pleasant and helpful and the location of the hotel was ideal - just a block to the boardwalk along the beach and overlooking the bay where there are lots of activities. It's also just a few minutes drive to La Jolla where we saw the Harbour Seals and Sea Lions. The rooms, although somewhat dated, have kitchen facilities which are handy if you are traveling with children.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Nice hotel close to the beach, will come back again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on the bay and one block from Beach

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Great staff and resort!! Close to great restaurants. And Beach.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 4, 2016
We found the bathroom in completely dirty state upon our check in. Had to call housekeeping for a total clean up! Also, no elevators at parking structures so you have to carry your luggage on stairways. Will not come crack and will not recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2016 by Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share a review of your recent stay. We would like to apologize for the rare lapse in service that you experienced upon check-in. Providing clean and comfortable accommodations is our main priority so we are sorry for any inconveniences that were caused. Thank you again for your review, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back with an improved experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Laguna Woods, United States of America

Great hotel in a fantastic location

Posted Dec 1, 2016
We had a studio room at the top of the tower, and the view of Mission Bay and the ocean was amazing. The food in the hotel restaurant was delicious. It is only a block to the beach, and the bay is right there, with boats and other water toys available to rent. Other restaurants are nearby. We will be back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Very nice view from our room.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Everything.
We enjoyed our stay, despite the rainy day, The room was clean, large and cozy. More like a one bedroom apartment with complete amenities. We liked the welcome wine and hors d'ouevre. The hotel lobby was relaxing with lounging chairs and a nice water fall pond. The birds, the Koi and ducks brought nature close to the guest.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lawndale, LA

Average hotel with horrible staff

Posted Nov 22, 2016
We stayed overnight before heading back to LA the next morning. During the night while we were watching movies, we were harrassed by the front desk and security staff on 3 occasions due to noise complaints downstairs. We told them that all we did was watching movies and going about our business. Not recommended. Don't get conned by the low prices. Stay away.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2016 by Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share a review of your recent stay. Our staff's highest priority is to provide attentive service to all of our guests and address any questions or concerns that occur. We would like to apologize for any miscommunication that might have arisen during your interaction with our staff. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel agradable en sitio tranquilp

Posted Nov 22, 2016
La habitacion estuvo bien con cocina incluida. Tiene alberca y una zona muy aradable directa a la playa. Los desayunos son a la carta y no estan incluidos
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Location first, Amenities second, Staff third

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: The location!
Cons: Update the rooms (carpet, showers, bed), and increase the size of the gym or rearrange so it isn't so stuffy
Location: The Taco Shop next door is legit. We enjoyed the nearby restaurants and bars all within walking distance and Lyft/Uber all affordable
The location is why I would recommend this hotel. Is it high end? Of course not. The rooms are very outdated, not secure (sliding glass door on lower level access to public), and the bed is so terribly uncomfortable. However, it is affordable for what they offer (a pretty good gym, though the size is a bit difficult to work with), an on-site bar/restaurant (we didn't eat at the restaurant, but convenient bar to have a drink), and the ambiance are great (it's pretty neat having ducks and birds just comfortably walking around). Overall, I may look into something a bit more updated on my next stay, but I wouldn't completely rule it out.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, United States of America

Great location. Close to the beach.

Posted Nov 18, 2016
I know the area well and was so happy to stay at the catamaran. It's close to the beach and right in the heart of PB. The staff was friendly and the room was great. The ambience made u feel like u were on a tropical paradise. It was great.