Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ciudad de México

Recomiendo mucho

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: Las vistas y atención del dueño
Todo me gusto mucho y lo recomiendo, en especial las vistas son muy bonitas
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

If it feels like a well let home.....

Posted Jul 11, 2016
What a wonderful two night experience for our family. The rooms were very comfortable - excellent beds. Very nice sitting rooms with fireplaces to keep warm, books to read and coffee/tea to enjoy the view. Great breakfast with fresh fruits from the local area. Very kind management. We will definitely return!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from G

Great spot! Beautiful architecture & great staff.

Posted Jul 3, 2016
The lodge itself is an amazing structure. The lighting and windows are beautiful. We ate breakfast and dinner at the lodge each day and were always surprised with how delicious it was. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Turn down service included bed warmers and chocolates. The staff were all great and so accommodating with any need we had. Property is beautifully maintained. We had my 2 young sons with us and they enjoyed playing games downstairs each afternoon. Would highly recommend this place and I hope to return one day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Nice hotel - too expensive

Posted May 5, 2016
Pros: Meals were outstanding; hotel grounds are beautiful.
Cons: Hotel rooms are significantly over priced - everyone in our party agreed this hotel (of the 6 we stayed in) was the worst value for the money we spent
Location: We visited the Butterfly Waterfall Park which was well worth the price. We also visited the Poas Volcano which was too foggy to view at 8am.
Most of the staff were very pleasant - unfortunately the young woman checking us in and out was not and this is the one person who should be friendly as she is the first person we met from the hotel; the meals were excellent; the room was very large, however furnishings and the room itself needed repairs (toilet paper holder coming off the wall, frayed couch, painting needed, water damage in the bathroom, etc). This room was extremely over-priced compared to other Costa Rican hotels we stayed in during our 2 week vacation. You need your own car to get to this hotel. Suggest doing the local Poas activities as a day trip with a tour rather than staying in Poas.
4 out of 5
by Daniel from Aarau

Ruhige Lage in Nähe Volcan Poas

Posted Apr 16, 2016 on Hotels
Sehr schönes Haupthaus.. Essen ist gut, sehr freundliches Personal
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FLORIDA

SIMPLE LODGE FOR OVERNIGHT STAY

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Pros: CLOSE TO THE AIRPORT MAYBE AN HOUR AWAY.
Cons: SERVICE SHOULD DEFINITELY IMPROVE.
Location: SIMPLE LODGE IN THE MIDDLE OF NOWHERE BUT CLOSE TO POAS VOLCANO (20KM AWAY) AND CLOSE TO THE AIRPORT.
THE LODGE WAS NICE BUT THE STAFF WAS NOT FRIENDLY. THEY ARE HELPFUL BUT DO NOT EXPECT ANY SERVICE. OVERALL IT WAS OK FOR A OVERNIGHT STAY.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stuttgart

Tolle Lage mit Luft nach oben

Posted Mar 22, 2016
Pros: Die Lage ist sehr gut und zentral, um alle Attraktionen um den Vulkan Poas zu erreichen.
Cons: Die Zimmer müssen renoviert werden und der Service kann an vielen Stellen verbessert werden.
Location: Sie benötigen unbedingt ein Auto um hinzukommen und zum Vulkan zu fahren.
Die Lage des Hotels am Fuße des Vulkans Poas ist klasse. Sie können ausgiebige Wanderungen planen oder einfach nur die Natur genießen. Leider ist das Hotel nur funktional und bietet keinen richtigen Komfort. Die Zimmer sind recht klein und renovierungsbedürftig. Außerdem kann es nachts sehr kalt werden, weil man sich auf 2000m befindet. Wir haben uns mehr erhofft.
5 out of 5
by Carlos from switzerland

empfehlens wertes hotel

Posted Mar 9, 2016 on Hotels
es ist ein gemütliches hotel gute atmosphäre. gute ausgangs lage zum poa vulvano
4 out of 5
by Carolin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 4, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Milton from Oregon

Posted Mar 3, 2016 on Hotels
All hotel staff truly were great. However, Wilbur was exceptional. Can't thank him enough for his information, explanations, attentiveness. Only issue, for my wife, was the mildew smell in the room. The environment is very moist and bedding feels cold and damp. A hot water bottle placed with turn down service helped.