Ratings based on 146 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice stayover

Posted Sep 29, 2016 on Hotels
A very nice stayover hotel in the autumn. Great evening dinner and very good breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from McKinney TX

Wonderful experience and we will return for sure

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: Location and Staff. Very unlike Germany which was a very nice surprise.
Location: We stayed on the property and we enjoyed everything.
I have to say this was a wonderful experience. I came here form Texas and took my sisters here for a bridal getaway. The staff was AMAZING and extremely friendly and totally willing to make our stay wonderful. Even though the pool was closed due to a technical problem, they were willing to give us a free dinner as a compromise. The food was truly amazing and worth eating there. The location as beautiful and our whole experience was amazing.
4 out of 5
by Yanita from Tonbridge, UK

Convenient and cosy hotel near the ski pistes

Posted Feb 22, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel has a perfect location for a family ski holiday in Winterberg. It is situated just next to the ski pistes of Neuastenberg within 3 min walking distance. Since it is on the main road, the access to Winterberg ski pistes is quick and easy - Skiliftkarussel. The breakfast is good, but the food in the restaurant for dinner is not good and very expensive one. We didn't try the buffet dinner, because it was extremely expensive, but we tried the a-la-carte restaurant on the ground floor - and we didn't repeated it. Better option for dinner is a nearby restaurant on the same street, with really nice menue and reasonable prices. Another option for people on a budget is to buy food from Aldi near P6 of Skiliftkarussel and have dinner at the room - as it has a cooker, fridge, sink, cutlery, coffe machine etc. WIFI in the room is poor quality. Sometimes we had to go to reception to check our emails and use Skype and Viber. The rooms in the houses are not cleaned by personnel. It is expected that the guests clean the room themselves - but unfortunately there were no cleaning tools. Swimming pool and sauna are good. Entry time for house rooms was 5 pm (so we had to wait for several hours when we arrived) and leaving time was 10 am (so we had to leave the room earlier than planned). In general, the hotel has excellent location for family ski holiday with kids. The rooms and facilities are convenient, but it could be better - in terms of food, cleanliness and WIFI.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Huge skiing complex in the middle of Germany

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Location, room size, amazing buffet breakfast
Cons: Given the price, cost of parking should have been included, at least in the summer months.
Location: In the winter, tons to do. In the summer, walking is the main thing although there might have been more if you went to Winterberg itself.
Heading back to the UK from Austria, we decided to make our hotel reservations last minute and based on how far we thought we'd get that day. The Winterberg skiing area sounded like nice open country where we could stretch our legs after 5 hours in the car. We were surprised to find how seriously winter sport is taken in this area and could only assume it caters for those who can't be bothered to drive to the Alps. Loads of ski slopes, ski jumps, skeleton and tobaganing runs, though since the elevation is under 900 meters, they're all quite short runs. The area is quite dead in summer though they try to encourage walking/hiking. The hotel took a bit to find since it's 5km outside of Winterberg, but finally we arrived to find a massive complex with restaurants and indoor carting. Lovely man who checked us in. Room was large and with a small kitchen area. Small patio area as well. We tried to wander around the town but the weather turned and we found ourselves sheltering under trees, watching rivers of water flow by on the roads. We ate in the bar and the food was fine - not stunning, not bad. The next morning we had breakfast since it was included in our hotel rate. Wow! Best buffet we'd seen in the 2 1/2 weeks we'd been travelling. Hot and cold dishes, 5-8 types of cheese, bread, meat, 3 kinds of honey?!, etc. Not sure we're go back but a nice enough place -- must be amazing in winter!
1 out of 5
by Laura Sullivan from Virginia

Ghost town

Posted Jan 20, 2014 on Hotels
Although the weather is no fault of the hotel, the lack of snow has made both the hotel and staff look much like a ghost town. When we arrived, there was not a restaurant on the premise that was open until 5pm. We had to leave the hotel to eat. The following day, our room was not cleaned despite the fact that we had a "please clean room" sign on our door. We visited the activities center at 10:30am and it was closed. The hotel was empty, with plenty of parking, yet we're charged 9 euros a day to park on top of the already overpriced hotel. On a positive note, the evening bar staff was extremely friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
by Helen from Germany

wonderful hotel

Posted Nov 10, 2013 on Hotels
A wonderful hotel in a stunning location, lots to do in the surrounding area, lovely cosy bar at the hotel. Great for couples and families alike.Rooms very clean and comfortable. Only -minor!- complaint is no tea/coffee in the rooms. Fabulous hotel at bargain price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel in a splendid location

Posted May 31, 2013
A lovely hotel in a splendid location. Was there in May so no idea what the winter sports facilities were like. Anyone wanting to spend quality time in a n idyllic quiet location would be hard pressed to beat this.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Joe1 from Germany

Excellent hotel in a beautiful location.

Posted Feb 17, 2012
Pros: Overall amenities and location
Location: Located 3 miles outside of the main town of Winterberg this hotel is in a lovely location with fantastic views.
This hotel is excellently located for all the activities that the local area offers. We went for a short ski break and the slopes are at the hotel entrance. Our room was spacious with all the facilities needed. The decor is not exactly modern, but it is clean, tidy and has everything a family could need. The complex has a restaurant, a german style 'pub', a bistro and a diner - the diner is in their own on site indoor go-kart track! This hotel really does have everything and we wont be hesitating to go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Norfolk, England.

Brilliant

Posted Feb 24, 2010
We had a brilliant time on the slopes - great resort for those with small children who are just/starting to ski. You could not lose them on the slopes and the ski lift staff were excellant. We took our tobagans and there was a slope dedicated to these - and a ski slope (black - but not the black type you would get in the Alps) next door to keep an eye on the bigger little ones if they went down on their own. We just went for 3 days (not extensive ski area nor long runs) - most there did too - most came from Holland - English can be shaky but most did a great job of translating us and for us! The hotel is right next door - no need to drive anywhere and had enough options for food - and even a kitchenette - so could cook your own. Hotel did smell of smoke throughout apart from the pool (and the pool a little cold) but other than that could not fault the place at all. Used sainsburys vouchers to pay for part hotel and tesco on the stena line night ferry across - only 3.5hrs from hook of holland. Recommended way to travel with kids.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Pirna

Sehr gutes, in die Landschaft passendes Hotel

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Die Zimmer sind mit Schrankküche ausgestattet.
Location: Hotel befindet sich im Wintersportgebiet und man kann wunderbar wandern
Wir haben uns sehr wohl gefühlt, das tolle Frühstücksbuffet genossen und nach ausgiebigen Wanderungen auf dem Rothaarsteig das Schwimmbad und die Sauna genutzt. Großes Lob an das gesamte Team des Hotels.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2017 by Ihre Bewertung, Hotel Management
Lieber Gast, vielen vielen Dank für das tolle Feedback. Das Kompliment haben wir an unser Team weitergegeben. Wir freuen uns auf Ihren nächsten Besuch. Bis dahin viele Grüße aus dem sonnigen Sauerland Ihr Dorint Team Winterberg