Ratings based on 121 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Cracking hotel with bus route to get to split town just a 5 minute walk down the road. Anna is a lovely lady and all staff willing to help with whatever you need. Plenty of excursions to hand and reasonably priced. Your own beach is literally 5 seconds walk from the hotel and plenty of sun beds no need to run down and reserve a bed etc. Own bar on beach too with local beer on tap. The owner speaks German and no english however Anna is there a Croatian lady who speaks good English if your stuck with wanting to know anything etc. However the owner is really welcoming and equally willing to try to help with anything! Would defiantly recommend this hotel to anyone willing to experience Croatia for a nice relaxing holiday but with all the excursions to give you the option to explore if you would like adventure.
4 out of 5
by Anica

Sun & swim

Posted Jul 26, 2016 on Hotels
Great for relaxing..they do everything at a relaxed pace
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Great location right next to the beach

Posted Oct 11, 2015
Arrived early in the morning at 11am and was greeted by the owner who doesn't speak English, Croatian or German only. Was told to wait at the outdoor sitting area till 2pm when the room is ready and another staff arrive who speak English to check us in. Bedroom and bathroom are small but clean. We have requested specifically for a room with sea view and balcony which made up for the size of the room. The hotel has no lift with lots of steps/stairs. You would need to use stairs to get down to the beach. Therefore this is a problem for someone with limited mobility. As advertised, the hotel is right next to the beach and we had the balcony door opened and slept with the sound of the surf every night which was lovely. Breakfast choices were limited if you are used to full English breakfast. The swimming pool is smaller than it appeared on the photo but as I was the only person who swam in the unheard cool water, it was fine. Bring your own toiletries as only one shower gel and two tiny soaps were provided. Biggest issue we had was the hotel is permanently under staffed and on several occasions, we were approached by other guests if we have seen anyone as they could not find hotel staff anywhere. Appreciate it is not high season when we were there but not brilliant if you are running the business on a shoestring with one owner and another staff. Not the most welcoming/friendly owner we have met in our travels.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from atlanta, ga.

The location is perfect Service bad for 4 STAR HTL

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Pros: The view of the breakfast area outside, however we were kicked out of it the second it turned 10 am, and we could not use it.
Cons: I would change the rating to 2 STAR so people who book will be happy and not cheated paying for a 4 start hotel while it is not
Location: The location is nice and we wanted to have a reubion and enjoy the view of the hotel, but we could not do that, there was no area to sit in the hotel.
Our experience was: -Misleading hotel advertising with every aspect -Tiny rooms, no sitting areas -No sitting area in all the hotel -When it rains we have to sit on the bed -No body wash or shampoo supplied except one tiny bottle for all stay -TV is limited and shuts down -Internet limited and shuts down -No English speaking authorized person to talk to -Charges extra for any request including ice pick up -No room or customer service knowledge, all they know is the word NO. -Very expensive for what it is -Our booking was based on a 4 STAR HOTEL not a 2 STAR. -We had 2 rooms and a suite, as a family reunion that we were so disappointed. -This is maybe my 1st or 2nd booking with Expidia and maybe the last for the bad experiance
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon, UK

Small hotel, lovely staff, smart and clean

Posted Sep 19, 2015
Pros: The large room, the swimming pool, the restaurant overlooking the beach, the beach cafe and the fabulous view. Helpful, friendly staff.
Cons: The beach cafe could be open longer, but it was mid September and the season was coming to an end.
Location: Hotel Sunce is on a main road into Split where there is history and culture, ferries to the islands, restaurants and shops and a great market.
We wanted a small hotel in a good location. This fitted the bill. We were visiting Split for one week. Hotel Sunce is a 30 min bus ride from Split in Podstrana with the front of the hotel on the road and the back right on the beach. The hotel has a small indoor pool with sliding doors so that you can look at the sea while you swim. The beach is narrow but with lots of sun beds, it has small white stones as most of the beaches along this coast, so you need beach shoes to get in and out of the water. We had a suite, a sitting room with bed settee a generous shower room and a double bedroom with doors opening onto a balcony
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It's terrible owful

Posted Aug 28, 2015
I think this hotel must be closed or they must change their staff , because they don't know what is the meaning of word "client" all what you have as description on your Web site is not true
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Paisley, Scotland

Very nice hotel and close to the beach.

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Pros: Location was good and right on the beach. Good sized balcony with sea views (room 301). Beach bar served food & drinks a few steps away from the sea.
Cons: Breakfast didnt seem to be replenished if you arrived after 9am (open 7 to 10) Toiletries only supplied on first day - 2 small soaps and one shampoo
Location: Near to Split and Diocletian Palace and boat trips to islands. Three very good resturants minutes walk along beach.
We had a very nice stay at this hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room and balcony with sea view was excellent. Traffic into Split was very busy and congested.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Sussex

Lovely hotel right on the beach!

Posted May 31, 2015
Pros: A very well presented hotel, well designed interior with clean lines and a modern contemporary feel.
Cons: There was a very limited choice at breakfast but this may have been due to the hotel only having a few guests.
Location: Ideally located directly on a beautiful white pebbled beach with clear blue sea. A choice of good reasonably priced restaurants only a stroll away.
We travelled as a group of 5 women and were made very welcome on arrival. Reception and restaurant staff were all very helpful, however, maid service was not up to scratch with bins not being emptied daily, the floor left unswept and us having to make up the 5th bed ourselves on arrival as well as having to ask reception for extra pillows and a 5th glass. It would appear that the maid was unaware that 5 people were staying in the apartment as the 5th glass was continually taken away, only a small thing but none the less very irritating. Apart from these minor inconveniences our stay was very comfortable and enjoyable. Ideally located directly on a beatiful white pebbled beach with crystal clear blue sea. A choice of good reasonably priced restaurants are only a short walk away. The city of Split is approximately a 20 minute bus ride away or in the other direction, a 15 minute bus ride away, is the town of Omis and Cetina Gorge, well worth a visit. If you are feeling adventurous then take the bus into Split and then catch the bus to Trogir, well worth the 40 minute bus ride from Split.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Great hotel right on the beach

Posted May 27, 2015
Pros: Great location, good facilities and parking.
Cons: Personally I'd prefer a room with a bath rather than a shower, but not everywhere can provide that. Otherwise, nothing!
Location: From this location you really need a car if you want to explore and the hotel is about 20 mins from the airport and Split - a lovely place to visit.
This is a lovely hotel, small but all amenities. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the food was good. Our room was comfortable, mini bar, bathroom with shower only. The hotel is right by the beach, just go downstairs and through the gate and you are on the beach! The views were heavenly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Not for us

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: View and close proximity to the beach.
Cons: Tell guests it is not suitable for people with mobility issues. Be candid about the air conditioning not being operational.
Location: Quiet location, suitable for beach holidays. Mario's restaurant 5 mins from hotel does great food, is reasonably priced and has friendly staff.
On arrival at the hotel we noticed there was no disabled access and my wife who is a wheelchair user faced a steep flight of stairs to access reception. We had requested a twin room suitable for someone with limited mobility and to our dismay we got a double room situated on the second floor of a split-level hotel with no elevator - bad start! The hotel owner didn't speak English but said there would be a staff member who did the following day. With help and support my wife eventually made it to the room. The room was nice enough and clean. The king size bed had a single duvet. During our stay the temperature was 28+ degrees. The air conditioning didn't work and the owner said it did work but it was too cold to switch it on! We were told to open the balcony door but this didn't help as it was just so hot, all it served to do was let in mosquitos. The following morning we were moved to a first floor room and although better, it still involved stairs. There are however positives...the view and the close proximity to the beach are amazing. The staff who did speak English were nice. For an able bodied traveller this hotel would not be a problem. We chose to eat at Mario's restaurant which is 5 mins away, the food and service were super. If we had been told the hotel wasn't suitable for disabled guests we wouldn't have booked. This hotel should not advertise they have air conditioning when guests clearly can't use or control it.