Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from fla.

not historic downtown, 6 miles away.

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: that I didn't stay there
Cons: dig a hole and push in motel, build a new one
Location: kind of shady and scary
don't be afraid of the owner, he has been thru everything and you can tell by his remarks, I cussed him when he got me upset, I should have gone by...........pool is empty for.......... don't walk, run from this place....he said I couldn't cancel, I told him we couldn't walk that far and downtown parking was packed.....
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2017 by Kiante', Hotel Management
It is December not middle of summer. Call hotels in the winter to see if the pool is closed before you book a reservation. Most are closed in Decemeber and January. Read the terms of your reservation and the cancellation policy before you book a room at ANY HOTEL ANYWHERE. Special event weekends & occassions can not be cancelled and or require a minimum of a 24 hour advance notice to cancel. As with any product, service or resertvation, it is up to the guest to READ the terms and follow procedures. There is no reason to take personal neglect out on hotel staff and staff is not hired for your verbal abuses or on the job harrassment. Thank you!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nasty stinky hotel

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Location: good location to old city
Aweful place. Run down, dirty, extremely stinky. Just plain simple bad!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by JIM., Hotel Management
HIGH EXPECTATIONS, THANK YOU, READ OTHER GUEST REVIEW YOU WILL FIND SOME THING GOOD,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

They could do better

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Area for breakfast is horrible. Shower hot water comes and goes. Main light of the room did not work. Beds were uncomfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by JIM., Hotel Management
MAIN LIGHT HAS TWO SWITCH ONE ON WALL AND ONE ON LAMP, IT WAS EASY IF YOU LET FRONT DESK KNOW, ONLY ONE ROOM HOT AND COULD WATER ?, THANK YOU,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Dirty! I will never recommend this hotel, I rather
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This hotel is very bad

Posted Oct 3, 2016
This hotel is really bad i dont recommend the hotel the room was smelly the walls had hoes
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

You get what you pay for.

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Cheap and had a room at last minute. Room was clean.
Cons: Nothing
Location: White Lion bar, which is where we went to watch Dirty Pete play, is a short cab ride away.
If you are looking for a grand plaza suite for under a "bill" a night (can't post actual price apparently), then you are delusional. If, like us, you booked last minute and didn't want to pay "3 bills" a night just to drive down here, take a cab to the bar and get wasted watching an awesome band (Dirty Pete), cab back and have somewhere to sleep, then this is perfect. Front desk guy was very nice and courteous. Parking is cramped, so don't drive anything big.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Cons: Definitely needs updating of furniture, carpeting , fixtures and paint. It does appear management is attempting to move in this direction.
This is an older motel that does need updating but the rooms are very clean and the staff was pleasant. There is a small fridge and microwave in the room which functioned fine. No coffee maker in the room but the office area has a coffee maker and complementary muffins each morning. The motel location is close to the historic district and plenty of local restaurants. The motel was more than adequate for our purpose and the rates were very reasonable. Also, it appears that all the a/c units have been updated and functioned fine and a new roof has been installed. After reading some of the negative reviews, I was somewhat Leary of my decision to book a room however after staying there, I would definitely book again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2016 by gym, Hotel Management
Thank you, We are working hard to take care our guest, and there needs,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from orlando

Do not reserve here

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Room smell like Bleach, blanket had human hair, electric cords hanging outside the door
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2016 by gym, Hotel Management
Very smart, but very dishonest to post picture, you see our permit is posted on front window we are working on it,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Daytona Beach

Hey its shelter

Posted May 16, 2016
You really can't expect much from a budget motel which this is. That being said, little things like changing worn out valve stem seats in the faucet (caused big fluctuations in temps) and tearing out moldy caulk can make a big difference in opinions. Updating your TV would also brighten up the rooms. Try putting on a decent mattress pad too. The Fred Flintstone bed sucked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not recommend

Posted Mar 7, 2016
My girlfriend and I didn't have high expectations for this place, but we were just looking for a cheap stay during the seafood festival. Honestly, it was the worst experience. The room was disgusting, had hand prints on the wall above the headboard and some kind of feces (lizard, rat etc.) on the nightstand. We asked the woman at the front desk if we could just get a refund and told her the situation, she told us she could give us another room but it would be the same. When my girlfriend questioned her comment she began screaming at us to get out and we weren't getting a new room or a refund but that we needed to leave the premises. We tried explaining that all we wanted was a clean room since we paid $150 for it, she threatened to have the cops called on us so we just left and drove the 3 hours home. It was the worst customer service I have ever experienced. We would have been happy taking another room, however we were forced to leave and still lost out on the $150.