Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 29, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Gorgeous place - outstanding Sicilian Resort

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Wonderful room, great view. Daytime desk manager was outstanding - so helpful. Loved this resort.
5 out of 5
by Gregory from Kilmallock

Five Star Hotel at Four Star Price

Posted Jul 20, 2016 on Hotels
We had the most beautiful stay at Il Podere. The staff were superb from the minute we arrived. Nothing was too much trouble for them.The food was superb and steeped in Scicilian tradition. The two pools were fantastic and the pool side furnishings were 1st class. could not fault a single moment of our stay and although all the staff were magnifigcent a special thanks to Marie Gratze and Lucca No 1
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Quite remote and more focused on hosting events

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Pros: The pool .
Cons: See above
Location: Old town in Syracuse plus the towns of Noto , Ragusa and Modica . You need a car .
When you arrive at the front gate , you have to get out of the car and give your name , whereupon the gate is opened -- even after two nights ( and we stayed three ) , you still have to do this , which is a pain ! You have to go through a similar exercise when leaving the property , but here there is more chance of someone seeing you on the CCTV and opening the gate . The room was full of dark furniture and was hot . Apparently staff have been instructed to turn off the a/c when guests are not in , and also control the thermostat / temperature . The room never got to a comfortable temperature . Breakfast was acceptable with scrambled eggs and bacon and cold cuts , however instead of being asked if you wanted tea or coffee , you had to request it specially . The pool was quite nice . Dinner was poor and we therefore we only had dinner there once . One of us had the chef's plate ( not cheap ) , which was lukewarm and very little food .We were not surprised to see nobody else eating dinner there during our three night stay . The hotel is set up to host events , and it seems that this is where it concentrates most of its efforts . The last thing to mention is that although driving into Syracuse is straightforward , the drive back can be very complex , if you make any wrong turns coming out of the town of Syracuse . There are very few places to eat close by , so plan ahead if you intend to eat dinner out .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Comfort in beautifully restored farmhouse complex

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Cons: The wine list is a bit limited – however, the basic wines are good. The tv was a bit small – but we don’t travel to watch tv.
Location: Perfect location for touring Modica, Ragusa and Noto, amongst others.
The pros of this hotel are: • Beautifully and sensitively restored farmhouse and outbuildings, converted into a hotel around the central courtyard, with lovely garden and swimming pool. • Comfortable, well decorated and equipped rooms. • Very attentive staff. • The restaurant was open on the night of our arrival, which was very convenient as the hotel is outside town. The sea-food based menu was very good – genuine, home-made cuisine, and very kind service. • Breakfast was lovely, too, with a good choice of foods, including a variety of fresh home-made cakes.
5 out of 5
by Anastasia from New York

A Perfect Stay!

Posted May 1, 2015 on Hotels
Il Podere is 10 minutes away from Siracusa, 20 min away from Noto and less than 1 hour away from Ragusa. ½ hour away from Etna and 1 hour away from Taormina, which makes it the perfect base for exploring Sicily’s east coast. The hotel is surrounded by beautiful farms and orange groves. Our room was huge and beautiful. We had a lovely patio overlooking the orchard. The hotel is gated and safe. Plenty of parking. Beautiful grounds. Nice breakfast. Our dinner at the hotel’s restaurant was very enjoyable. The staff spoke English and all were very helpful and accommodating. They helped us with restaurant reservations, hotel booking, etc. We even extended our stay here. Highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Leicestershire, UK

Nice Hotel and Fantastic Staff

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: The staff.
Cons: The breakfast.
The strengths of the hotel are a really friendly and helpful staff, well kept common areas and rooms and good food from the restaurant. The downsides are first and foremost a really disappointing breakfast - just a range of pastries, a toaster plus bread and some yoghurts and basic fruit - a few hot items would normally be expected plus a full range of cereals and milk - particularly when the restaurant turns out such good food in the evening. Also, the bed was pretty soft and uncomfortable and while the remote location is great for peace and quiet, it does mean that everything is a drive away which may not suit everyone and the hotel is really, really hard to find. We did it without gps and in the dark but only after a lot of angst. The mossies were voracious and plentiful when we were there at the beginning of October so while this may be seasonal, you should take a strong repellant with you.
5 out of 5
by Andreas from London

Really pleasant stay

Posted Aug 23, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel is even better than what you imagine. Quiet, friendly and clean, perfect for relaxing. You will need a car as it's a few km away from Siracusa
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Sunday night dinner. The peace and quite. Complete block out blinds, slept in until 10am as room pitch black:)
Cons: The service for food and drinks at the pool leaves a lot to be desired. You had to prompt staff for service.
Location: Close to Syracuse and Noto
A little off the beaten track, but that suited us just fine. The menu in the restaurant is not extensive. The staff were very friendly and once prompted happy to assist with any request. The hotel is a little out of the way, be sure to program your GPS to the exact location, otherwise you may struggle to locate the hotel. It's a shame the hotel's restaurant doesn't offer more. We saw the food that came out for a wedding and it looked great, more of that would certainly pick up the restaurant trade.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Trish from Melbourne, Australia

A peaceful break

Posted Oct 22, 2013
Pros: The serenity. The food was wonderful.
Cons: A shuttle to town would be the most helpful
Location: It is important to have a car, in order to appreciate the wonderful sights of siracusa
This hotel was a welcome break out of town. If you think of booking one night, book two.