Ratings based on 876 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay of Plenty NZ

staff worked on our request

Posted Nov 24, 2017
Pros: Price
Location: just down from main social street and Museum
they organised so we could check in early after being booked out the night before. out side was under renovation when there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Front staff
Location: Near Te Papa, Supermarket, CBD
Good hotel, location, facilities. Front staff could have been friendlier
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Hotel was tired and had scaffolding around it which interrupted the view. Lift was very slow to operate. Room layout was poor and shower not easy to access.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dated hotel, lack lustre experience!

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Dated hotel, lack lustre experience! AND you have to pay extra to park in the hotel car park - stupid!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent position

Posted Nov 14, 2017
A very convenient hotel with friendly staff and on site parking available. A good dining room too. The view of the harbour is limited, at least on the lower floors. Renovations of the outside is in progress and when completed will make the place very appealing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Visit to Wellington

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Pros: Parking and location
This was our third stay in this hotel. It has a perfect location for walking tin CDBD area. Also it has fantastic parking that allows in/out as many times as we need during the day. Strongly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Taranaki

Comfortable big room, close to Te Papa.

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Pros: Very convenient location for what I wanted. Great views (on the city side)
Cons: Decor is pretty tired but clean and tidy. Bathrooms although perfectly clean and functional are dated. It had everything I needed though.
Location: I had a conference at Te Papa, so it was a 5 minute pleasant walk.
Pity about the scaffold and blue screen mesh. Murphy's Law when you get a room on the 9th floor with great city and harbour views, it happens to be when they are doing exterior maintenance! The hotel was easy to get to, good parking, really pleasant staff, good sized room, well priced and very pleasant restaurant and perfect location. Decor is a bit tired but everything worked as it should so overall it was great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old and outdated

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff
Location: Probably on the wrong side of town. Quite a walk to Lampton Quey
Was disappointed whem we arrive quite old Also found the traffic noisy
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Londrina, Brazil

Poor service- staff not friendly to tourists

Posted Oct 22, 2017
The reception assistant was not a friendly person. She didn't mind to take a moment to speak in a way that we could understand what she was saying, as we don't speak very good English. Also, we were trying to retrieve a bag that we had forgotten in the shuttle van and again she was of very little help. Another very disappointing thing was breakfast. First day it was very good with plenty of food because they had a large Chinese group but on the second day there was almost nothing served! We complained about it (breakfast is not cheap!!) and the waitress suggested that we ordered from the menu. Of course we didn't do because that would be added to the 20 dollars each we had paid for breakfast :-(
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ruapehu

Perfect location

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Location: As above
We wanted to spend a night on the town (girls night) and Bay Plaza was the perfect location. Loved the car park at extra $20 it was well worth it. Reception staff were very friendly and professional. Loved that our room had a view even if it was obscured a little with maintenance being carried out. Thank you. Will stay again. Would've like a later checkout option :)