Ratings based on 165 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Nice surroundings. Very helpful friendly staff. Good value would return.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Stay close to Roaring Camp Railoads

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: The drive to the hotel takes you into beautiful Santa Cruz Mountains. Nice forest views and very quiet.
Cons: Needed better carpeting and very poor job in vacuuming. Lots of dust under table. Bathroom window had broken latch. Continental Breakfast mediocre.
Location: The only reason to stay here is to wake up and head to Roaring Camp Railroads then visit the Mystery Spot. Cheaper than staying in Santa Cruz.
Okay hotel for our visit to Roaring Camp Railroads.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Very nice area. Room could be a little cleaner. Overall nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, quiet hotel with basic amenities.

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Staff was helpful. In fact, a front desk representative patiently provided directions to the hotel for a family over the phone.
Cons: The breakfast food and beverages were not very appetizing.
Location: Hiking and camping for the most part.
Stayed in a clean room with two queen beds. Cable TV, mini fridge and large shower in room. A/C worked well. Parking lot was not too big, so you may not find a spot at night if the hotel is sold out.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Good enough hotel but basic

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: The breakfast and overall surroundings. Very pretty area!
Cons: Needs better pillows for the bed!
Location: There is an EXCELLENT Italian restaurant down the road- Casa Nostra. Excellent food and service!
I stayed here for just 1 night and would probably stay here again. I would probably stay here again because there really isn't many choices in this area and it is in good location. Overall this is pretty basic. There are not a lot of frills and the walls are thin. I could hear my next door neighbor in addition to the people above my room. Also, the pillows on the bed are not your traditional pillows. The pillows are small squares that resemble accent pillows for a couch. I have never seen a hotel have these types of pillows. Also, there wasn't a duvet/comforter on top of the bed and I was so cold I went to my car to get my blanket. Very odd in my opinion especially since we are in the woods and it was chilly. The positive things about this hotel is the breakfast offered to all guests. There were: hard boiled eggs, fresh waffles, toast, cereal, yogurt, juices/coffee/tea, and a little bit of fruit. I was happy to have the waffles! The room was clean and the TV was nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Looks can be deceiving

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Nice location, pool area clean and pretty flowers surrounding area. Continental breakfast was ok.
Cons: Rooms should be cleaned daily - Front desk said new service people could not speak English - ????
Location: Santa Cruz
Room appeared clean. Had beverage next to lamp and had to move lamp - Large amount of dust went into my beverage. Told front desk who was very courteous and made sure lamps were dusted. They were, only problem is the rest of our three day stay, no further dusting, no vacuuming, found toothpaste debris on bathroom counter. Very disappointed. Mgr. said they had hired new service which was not doing well....I'll say!! Said Raul and Marta were excellent workers. Certainly hope they were not the people responsible for the lack of cleanliness of our room. Hotel front desk was helpful but disappointed - Probably would not revisit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Rosa

comments

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: Above
Cons: Above
Location: Lots of stuff--See brochures.
Employees very accommodating. Beautiful setting. Lots of small things in disrepair. Microwave oven should be available at least in the lobby if not in all rooms. Very dirty carpeting.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Luis Obispo, CA

Do not be fooled, this is a motel, not a hotel.

Posted Jul 10, 2014
We cut our visit short because I could not bear to stay one more night at this property. The room was stuffy and smelled musty, the walls were paper thin and we could hear everything the person in the next room was saying. Even worse than that, the refrigerator had a motor that sounded like a motorcycle revving up in our room (I finally had to unplug it in the middle of the night), the curtains were so sheer that the street lights shined right into our room all night long, the phone in our room did not work, nor did the remote control for the TV. The pool area is NOT as it is pictured on the website--grass area tiny and pool water dirty. The only positives of this property were: the beds were pretty comfortable and the breakfast was decent for a continental breakfast. Santa Cruz properties are way overpriced for what you get and we will not be visiting this area again any time soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco california

no a little fair away from the beach

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: feeling very pecefuly the room they are very clean and the beeds was very comfort to sleeps
Cons: the only thing i think they need to put a mycrowave in the room"s buz for the distantance and the 9 time everything is close the u need worm the food
was very plessure only they need to less prise i wish to stay more time there , buz was very nice the tree was around the hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cute hotel in the redwoods

Posted Jun 21, 2014
The most beautiful setting on earth. Nice price, nice staff,beautiful pool.... I would stay here again definitely.