Ratings based on 117 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Philadelphia, PA

Spectacular View

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: It was a beautiful hotel and everyone was friendly.
Location: The location is great. Easy to get to Hamilton and the Dockyard in either direction. Definitely be adventurous and walk to the beaches and coves.
The Reefs was a beautiful hotel. Scenic views from every aspect of the hotel. Staff was courteous and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2015
We had a very nice time, and the beach was awesome!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alabama

Paradise

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Our stay at the Reefs was amazing! The view from our balcony was truly breathtaking on a worldwide scale. The Staff were the most friendly and helpful. We ate at the Ocean echo twice and it was fantastic both times. Looking around Bermuda I did not notice a hotel that had cliff views like The Reefs. The hotel does appear to be a little older, else it would be 5 stars across. I noticed a few places where the paint was chipping on our balcony but also noticed painters onsite. In sum, if you book here you are in for an amazing vacation. I will definitely return to Bermuda and The Reefs!
5 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London, UK

Wonderful Location and Situation, Great Staff

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Cons: The hotel website claimed two 'Happy Hours' - there were none.
Location: In Southampton parish close to Horseshoe Bay. Recommended restaurants nearby are Gulfstream and The Dining Room at Gibbs Lighthouse
The Reefs has an enviable location on cliffs overlooking a secluded sandy cove. The hotel is in great shape and is spotlessly clean. Its other great asset is its staff who are without exception polite, charming and efficient. We would certainly return again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Stony Point, New York

Fantastic! Can't Wait to go Back!

Posted Apr 2, 2015
Pros: Loved the suite! We felt like we had a private balcony. View was spectacular! Staff was extremely friendly/accommodating.Great full Breakfast included
Cons: Try and visit during the warmer months (beginning late April) to enjoy the beautiful beaches during the day and the outdoors in the evenings.
Location: Great location! About 30 min from airport, 20 min to dockyard by scooter. Very close to Horseshoe Baby Beach and the Gibbs Lighthouse.
Very personable hotel with wonderful views, great private beach and good food. Private beach is really nice. Great outdoor hot tub. Our room was very clean and spacious with a balcony on the cliff side with breathtaking views. Full breakfast was included in the price which featured daily omelet and waffle station, hot and cold buffet. Great way to start the day! Nice restaurants nearby. Scooter rental and bus stop right across the street. Loved that we were so close to Horseshoe Bay Beach. Only about a 25 minute bus ride into Hamilton if that's your thing. Very quiet and relaxing, especially for couples. Would love to go back in the warmer months!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Connecticut

Buyer beware

Posted Apr 2, 2015
Pros: Leaving
Cons: Management and owners should spend a week in a hotel room. They need to experience the problems themselves and know their own property.
The Reefs is a poor shell of its image. Our room was small, dowdy and in disrepair. Our king size bed was two twins pushed together, making sleep uncomfortable. Ceiling so low that we couldn't raise our hands above our head without fear of being hit by ceiling fan blades. Lampshades were filthy and stained. The phone didn't work, the window lock was broken and the front door hinge became loose causing it to stick. Shampoo and soap weren't replenished, bed linens did not appear to be replaced for 5 days and bathrobes disappeared after day 1. Staff and management appeared to be clueless that there were problems. They did not respond to our first complaints. While a manager responded to our second complaints, it was too little, too late. Visitors over the next several weeks should also be aware that there is construction (noise and nuisances) and that two of three restaurants are closed -- none of which were disclosed to us prior to our visit. Service was uneven: some staff are conscientious and helpful; others aren't. At a critical time, when a rain/sever wind storm hit in the evening, staff couldn't provide an umbrella and couldn't get the bell staff to bring their motorized cart for assitance, leaving us (myself, my wife and our 3-year old) to face the elements in coming up a steep (and hazardous in the wind and rain) hill to make it up to the main facility for dinner. Disturbing that management was clueless that there are problems: they don't know their own hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

The Reefs Hotel

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Poolside room was very nice - great view of Reefs beach and the sea. Very clean and kept up. Hotel staff excellent. Well located in between Hamilton and Dock Yard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Great change in pace!

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Pros: Location and view from the room. Excellent dinning. Breakfast amazing!
Cons: Nothing significant
Location: Not much close by. Henry the 8th pub was in walking distance with a small store next door. Motorcycle rental at the hotel
If you want a quiet place to relax this is the place to go. Great location overlooking the ocean with its own beach. Great staff that handle everything for you. Excellent food with a nice mix of bar food to high end dinning, great breakfast. Probably not your first choice if you want night life and dancing....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Boutique hotel in great location

Posted Mar 3, 2015
The Reefs is a lovely hotel on the smaller side. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, offering a warm hand towel and rum swizzle upon our arrival. Given that our stay was off-season, it's a bit hard to judge what the experience would be when the hotel is busy. That having been said, the room was nice (although I wouldn't want a first floor poolside room during high season), the spa was excellent, and the location was lovely. The views from the rooms, pool, etc were exquisite. The beach is small, but private. Breakfast was excellent - a great selection of very tasty items. The bus stops just outside the hotel, so it was easy to get around the island. I wouldn't bother with taxis unless it is after 9pm, when they pretty much stop running. We would definitely return to The Reefs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cape Coral, FL

Nice hotel with great views!

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: The views are awesome and the beach is very private.
Location: We took the bus right outside the hotel as it is safer than a moped. It runs from one end of the island to the other and we took full advantage.
We stayed at The Reefs for a week and really enjoyed it. Breakfast and dinner were very tasty with a good selection. If you don't see what you want, just ask. The entire staff is very accommodating. The views were to die for! We could have stayed in a chair for a week looking out at the ocean! The only real negatives were the bed and the shower. Our king bed was actually 2 twin beds pushed together. They might as well have kept them separate because there was no way you were going to lie in the middle and be comfortable. Also, the shower was nice and new but water got all over the floor because the glass wall wasn't able to keep the water from dripping out from the bottom onto the floor. We did have a problem with a broken heater but that was taken care of immediately. We were given the option to change rooms but we didn't want to give up our ocean view up the coast for one that just looked straight out over the water. I would definitely go back though as these are relatively minor inconveniences. The staff was wonderful and we totally enjoyed our stay.