Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tate from Virginia

Nice place steps from a private beach

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: quiet location, excellent hearty breakfast, friendly staff.
Cons: no complaints
Location: Nearby golf and tennis. We went to the Lighthouse. Tribe road walking trails were terrific-old railroad path.
My wife and I just got back from our "babymoon" in Bermuda. We had never been before and it was excellent. The Reefs is a top notch resort. It's not "prime" season so there were maintenance folks getting things tidied up for the crowds but this didn't bother us and we didn't feel like we missed out on anything. The hotel is on a hill overlooking the water and the views are amazing, just like the website and expedia show. A short walk down the property leads to a private beach. We swam, but only briefly as the water was still a little cold. The daily breakfast was fantastic and a nice way to start the day. Taxis are easily available and there are bus huts for pick up and drop off right outside the hotel. The location is away from the "city" part of Bermuda in Hamilton, which made it very quiet. We slept with the sliding doors on our patio open every night- very safe island and resort. Overall a terrific stay, we would return without hesitation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by thomas from new york

Best beach hotel i've stayed at

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: eveything
I have spent the last 10 yrs enjoying more then 2 visists a year to bermuda.....the reefs is my new favorite hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

what a view! AMAZING

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Stunning location. The staff was great and super friendly. Very relaxing time. Rooms were nice and updated, but could probably be cleaned better (found a dirty hat from previous guest under bed, plus a random pill.) We traveled with kids and were hoping for better kid amenities. Otherwise, I'll be back for sure (without kids).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Best place to stay in Bermuda

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: Private beach.
Cons: Hot water could be hotter. Toilet paper holder is on the wrong wall. (You asked)
The Reefs is the best place to stay in Bermuda. Private beach. 3 restaurants to choose from. Daily tea and cookies. Bus stop across the street. Walking distance to Horseshoe Bay ( if you're a walker.) Hot water in the Shower could have been a smidge hotter( that's how I like it). Took the cloudy/bit cooler day to go into Hamilton/Crystal Caves and the Perfumery in St. George. Highly recomended. Was reluctant to rent moped due to busy and winding roads but will do it next time I visit as I will be more familiar with region. It was our 1st trip and a great one!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa, Fl

Beautiful property, excellent location and staff

Posted Feb 2, 2014
Pros: It's located on the beach and rooms have a beach view, convenience to get to the rest of the island.
Location: Gibbs Hill Lighthouse, walking Horseshoe and other beaches closeby.
The location is great with a small, private beach at the bottom of the cliff that The Reefs is built into. There are bus stops just outside the lobby, so getting around the island is convenient. We were fortunate enough to upgrade to a room in the Club section, and it was outstanding. Our room, and the facilities in general, were clean and fresh. Very well maintained. Renovations are seemingly ongoing, which is good as the improvements ensure a quality experience. Unfortunately, we didn't get to enjoy any of the restaurants as they were all closed for ... you got it ... renovation. It turned out to be a good thing though. It pushed us to go out to other restaurants, and we enjoyed all of them. Henry VIII is just a few minutes from the hotel and was very good. The Dining Room at the Lighthouse was also very good. I'm sure the restaurants at The Reefs are also very good too. Lastly, my husband and I checked out a few other hotels on the island and, as a results, are even more convinced that the Reefs is the best! Few of the others even have a beach view, and the beach is a long walk away from the rooms. I highly recommend the Reefs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 7, 2014
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by be real from USA

Motel 6 with great view

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
This place is no way near a luxury resort. A large cockroach showed up in my room one day and I had to kill it with a telephone book. Bathroom is very outdated with brown marks in the toilet. Refrigerator in the room is rusty and old. Also, towels were kind of damp when it is suppose to be a fresh new towel. Staff are often missing from their places (bellman, front-desk, restaurant staff) and very slow. Food at the restaurant (Echo) was mediocre at the best. The slider I ordered was actually awful (we ended up not finishing it). You self service the towels at the pool or beach rather than getting serviced. Front desk charged me for the safe key deposit while I returned it. I had to point it out to remove it. I based my selections on internet reviews as well as magazine reviews but the reviewers must got lucky getting better rooms and services. All in all, if you have been to any 'real' luxury resort, you will be very disappointed. This place is more like a overpriced Motel 6 with a nice beach access.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location on the reefs is excellent

Posted Jan 4, 2014
We visited The Reefs for four nights during the Christmas break of 2013. December is the not the best season for Bermuda as the weather gets cooler (65-70F with winds) and most everything looked shut down and deserted. The hotel had an excellent Christmas dinner available as well as great buffet breakfasts although the prices were steep. The view from our hotel roof and the balconies were excellent but the beach area was quite tiny. Bus stops are conveniently located near the hotel, although the nearby well-known Fairmont Southampton might be a better option to visit the famous Horseshoe beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

superb

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Pros: service phenomenal
superb
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 27, 2013 on Hotels.com