Ratings based on 148 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Decent room at a good price

Posted Jul 2, 2015
This hotel could use some improvements, but it was a good price and only one night. The Indian restaurant was good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smells of indian food

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Indian restaurant in the hotel, results in strong indian cooking smell permeating the whole hotel....
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kelowna, BC

Old, dated, smelly!

Posted May 4, 2015
Cons: Carpets, smell, overall cleanliness. No free breakfast offered and no hot tub either.
I was so disappointed with this motel as they clearly do not care to keep up to any regular standards of Econo Lodges. There was a musty smell in my room and halls and entire motel and a very strong smell of very evident curry as well coming from the restaurant down below. The fan in the bathroom had mold all around it and the tv picture size was super tiny. Carpets were so old as well. Staff not bad for friendliness but maybe only cause I never addressed my concerns as I just wanted to sleep to get up early. Needs a new owner perhaps to make necessary changes to make it at least a place to consider in Kimberley.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Poor

Posted Apr 27, 2015 on Hotels
Looks good in photos but bad in cleanness
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poorly run hotel:

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pros: Location.
Cons: New owners, experienced management !
Location: Location is right downtown, but, perhaps due to the time of year we were in Kimberley, many businesses were closed, however people were friendly.
Upon arrival there was no-one @ the front desk, we had to make contact via phone before a person showed up. Check-in was slow, desk person appeared inexperienced. Hallways are dimly lit. Room was clean, beds were comfortable, very little traffic made for a quiet stay. When entering the building from the parking lot, we found that carpeting, that had covered the stairs, had been shoddily removed, there was garbage strewn all over a staircase leading to a basement area, adjacent to a sitting area for staff, not a pleasant sight. The overall appearance was that of a poorly run operation. We shall not stay at an Economy establishment again !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Beverly from Edmonton, Alberta

Plan B Hotel

Posted Apr 13, 2015 on Hotels
Our stay was okay - the hotel smelt like the East Indian Restaurant that was located in the lobby. (It smelt good btw)The good thing was that the room did not smell like the restaurant (probably because we were on the other side of the building). Staff were friendly and helpful at check in. The halls and room were clean. I would most likely stay again if there were no other options available - this is a plan B hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

You get what you pay for

Posted Mar 9, 2015
The entire hotel smells like the Tandoori Hut attached to it, but it's a great location in Kimberley. Cheap stay so I didn't expect much. Room was clean & bed was comfortable, other reviews are accurate.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

average

Posted Feb 22, 2015 on Hotels
Beds were very uncomfortable. Good prices.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 8, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Better Than Expected

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean and well appointed. The mini-fridge came in handy for storing late night snacks since nothing is open.
Cons: Rooms could be updated a bit, but for the price they are appropriate.
Location: Great location close to pretty much everything Kimberley has to offer.
After reading several scathing reviews, I was a little scared of sleeping here. However, I found that people were far too critical given the cost per night. Our room was definitely a little retro, but it was clean and comfortably stocked with anything we might need. The location was great, surrounded by Kimberly's downtown with a market across the street and several restaurants easily within walking distance.