Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by D.R. from Bogota, Colombia

Nice beach, nice hotel

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: Beach, the water, rooms are nice, balconies, Internet is decent, very clean.
Cons: Prices of food/drinks, staff is just so so definitely do not go out of their way to help
Location: Dive shop, sea aquarium, next door is a new outdoor mall called the Blvd. which has some shopping and food (Aloha Bar is best)
Spent a week at Lions Dive and generally liked my overall experience here with my wife and two young boys (3 years and 6 months). However, the costs of the food and drinks were beyond ridiculous. Taxi costs are absurd so I would suggest renting a car at the airport or at a local car agency (not the hotel, $57 bucks a day) the entire time if you plan on exploring the island, you'll definitely save money. Taxi to the hotel is $40 bucks (20 minute ride). Beach and water are beautiful....Pools are nice but I wondered every day whether or not they cleaned the kids pool next to the 50 meter pool as it looked dirty and sometimes downright disgusting even in the early morning. Williamstad is cool but try to stay away when the cruise ships come in, then it becomes a zoo. The free transport by the hotel to Williamstad is nice but it would be better if they had a nighttime pickup to see the city at night. The transportation to the supermarket where we bought most of our food is great to help saves a lot of money. A tip, bring a foldable cooler in your suitcase like we did. We bought rum and beer at the market and the hotel has an ice machine. Nice to have the dive shop, sea aquarium, and the new mall basically right on hotel grounds for convenience. All in all we had a nice experience but certainly would not return because there are better options.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by stephan from delaware

Great location, poor desk service

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Pros: View Room service Snorkling Location Beach
Cons: Front desk customer service Restaurents menu
Location: Downtown at 10 minutes Seaquarium to swim with dolphins next door Diving and snorkling a few feet away
The beach was beautifull ina great location close to downtown ane seaquarium. The restaurant was mediocre at best so plan to eat on the nearby places. The front desk service was not helpufll and not very freindly. In fact people in general on the island were not as feindly as for example other islands like Barbados. Be also aware that the hotel does not give you free access to the nearby seaquarium on the contrary of what they claim on the web site. Our room had a nice view on the beach with beautifull snorkling which made it up for all the other negatives aspects.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robert from OKC, OK

nice room, great food, and friendly staff

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: It was neat and clean, the cleaning staff was excellent.
Cons: need a big screen in the Chill Hut
Location: the diving facility is in the resort, the underwater zoo is great, and the food was excellent.
Be sure and take a tour of the island first, the guides are first class and it will help you get around better. Also, you learn what the customs are along with interpreting what the foreign language signs say.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andre from Ontario, Canada

Very nice beach resort!

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: The shuttle services to Willemstad and the local supermarket are very convenient, and they make getting about very easy.
Cons: The food at Hemingway's Restaurant is fine but the prices are a bit steep considering the portion sizes are not extra special.
Location: The location could not be better - good diving/snorkelling, a shopping 'centre', great beaches and a Sea Aquarium all within walking distance!
We had a wonderful six day stay at the resort, March 8-14, 2014. The staff are friendly, helpful and speak many languages including English, Dutch, and Papiamento. The rooms are very clean and the maid service is excellent. Lions Dive has an excellent beach with plenty of loungers, trees and shade, especially nice during the hottest part of the day. Fitness facilities are free of charge and allowed us to keep up with our workouts while we were away. A shopping 'mall' is within throwing distance and had many gift shops and restaurants. The weekend parties on the beach went well into the night, although the weeknights were very quiet. Free shuttle services into Willemstad and a local supermarket make it easy to get out to do more shopping, and find affordable alternatives for meals. We would certainly consider returning if the opportunity arose.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Susan and Dan from Largo, FL

Fabulous hotel, especially for divers

Posted Feb 5, 2014
Pros: Great rooms, restaurants, bars, landscaping, staff.
Location: The dive shop (Ocean Encounters) was basically on-site as we could walk there and store our gear there. We took a shore dive and two boat dives. There
My husband and I travelled to Curacao in November of last year (2013). We stayed for 5 days. We chose Curacao because of the wonderful reputation for great diving. We had some contact by e-mail with Lion’s Dive prior to our visit and were impressed from the start. All our initial questions were answered and we felt very prepared to visit this Dutch Island. From the moment we walked in we felt like we were in the lap of luxury as expected on a Caribbean island. There was an open lobby with lush landscaping and the landscaping was gorgeous over the entire grounds. We were able to upgrade get one of the apartments. It was beautifully appointed with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a kitchen, and a living space, as well as a large patio. The master bedroom had its own entrance to the patio. Accordion doors door along the living room fully opened up and disappeared making an indoor/outdoor space. From our room we had a beautiful view one of the pool (Olympic size) and the ocean beyond. We could sit and watch the sunset. From the side patio could also see sunrise over the hills! The staff in the lobby and at all the restaurants and bars were friendly and pleasant and willing to chat with tourists like us. We learned much about the island’s history and language.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mama from New York, NY

Nice resort, on the beach, lots of stuff to do

Posted Jan 12, 2014
Pros: I enjoyed the location directly on the beach. The proximity to Ocean Encounters and the Sea Aquarium was also helpful.
Cons: The cost of the island in general is high and the price of eating was no different on the resort.
Location: There is a small but nice aquarium, opportunities to snorkel and scuba dive. There is also a strip mall of extra restaurants and souvenir shops.
Lions Dive was a very pleasant place to stay. It is not a fancy resort; the decor is more rustic and cute rather than chic and upscale. But the room was clean and that is what I was most concerned with. The staff was very kind, polite, and helpful with questions. I would call it a no frills resort but this is what I was looking for so that was satisfying. We spent most of our time on the beach where there are ample chairs for resting on and tree coverage if you need to be out of the sun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joanne from New Jersey

Great location with friendly helpful staff

Posted Jan 2, 2014
Pros: On the beach with easy access to good snorkeling right there at the resort. Dive center next door, nice pools, good food on site for a reasonable pric
Cons: Spa attendants need better training, especially in good sanitation practices
Location: Great location on the beach but we didn't find much else to do on the Island of interest for us
Nice place to spend a vacation. Good weather, nice people, very relaxing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Charlotte from Bergen, Norway

Nice hotel at the beach

Posted Jul 22, 2013
Pros: I especially liked the well-kept gardens and the carribean style. Sometimes they had very good live music at the Hemingways restaurant.
Cons: The food in the Hemingway restaurant was mediocre.
Location: Willemstad is not far away, and the hotel is close to the sea aquarium.
We had a nice stay at Lion's in July 2013. The hotel offers many possibilities for activities, such as a fitness center, a 50m pool and a diving center. The beach is the nicest in this area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Elena from New Jersey

Lions Dive is worth the stay.

Posted Jul 14, 2013
Pros: Friendly staff, nice spacious room, great setup, nice landscape, superb pool, nice beach, snorkeling and swimming possibilities.
Location: Lions dive is a bit far from Willemstadt but taxi rides are cheap and the way to go back and forth in the island. There
The rooms were recently renovated. Modern european style, comfortable. Our room was very spacious and we had not asked for anything special. The hotel has been operating for many years so the landscape, trees, flowers etc... are very lush. The 50 meters pool is gorgeous and a treat for swimmers. The beaches in front of the hotel are small but the area is very well equipped, protected from wind and under the shade of palm trees. The hotel has the advantage that the beaches are protected by long wave breakers from the open sea. This is great for swimming and snorkeling. Few hotels in Curacao offer this protection and leave enough area to enjoy the sea. The hotel is located next to the acquarium and the diving school offers boat trips avery day for diving, snorkeling or pleasure. The hotel staff is very friendly, helpful and the cleanliness of the hotel and sunroundings is spotless. The hotel has several restaurants for different tastes and budgets. The Hemingway is a beach bar that offers live music on certain days. Overall, great experience. I would definitely go back. Nice hotel, simple, not overdone with useless luxury but with many things to offer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by denabeach from Taos, NM

Great dive experience.

Posted Jun 22, 2013
Pros: Its location, its beach, its service.
Cons: A more varied menu at the onsite restaurants, including more vegetarian options and fresh local produce and fish.
Location: Take the shuttle into Willemstad, a UNESCO World Heritage site, for shopping and a visit to the floating market and pontoon bridge.
The hotel is very European in feel, the rooms spare in typical European aesthetic. However, we had an oceanfront room on the top floor with gorgeous views of the beach and ocean, a relaxing place to sit after a day on the beach or to have a morning cup of tea. The breakfast buffet was generous and tasty, other meals were good but there was not a lot of variety and very little options for vegetarians. Loved the Cuban buffet, though, and wished more items such as those were incorporated into the regular menu. Bar service was excellent. Attached gym was great, the beach was very well-maintained and large enough that you never felt surrounded by your neighbors. My husband had a very positive experience with the dive shop and said, in general, Curacao had the best visibility he had encountered in our many Caribbean vacations. The shuttle into Willemstad was convenient, as was the car rental office on premises. Housekeeping was top notch. We would definitely return, and would like to see how the up and coming area ultimately evolves. Some drawbacks: If you are traveling from US, you may wish to pack bar soap, a hair conditioner, and wash clothes (none are provided.) Also, the electricity is European so you need a converter and adaptor for your appliances, phones, etc. (Free Wifi is provided, however.) Lastly, the best meals we had were off-resort and at the many local establishments that are not fancy but full of wonderful fresh seafood.