Ratings based on 539 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Talk about misleading reviews!

Posted Oct 12, 2014
This is a great gem, right on the beach that has all to offer for a reasonable price. I guess people who complain about it really would like to stay at hotels that cost a lot more who then complain about the hotel to express they want something they are not willing to pay for.This is a very pleasant and friendly place that is not flamboyant but rather lets you really unwind without the preassures of a rich and famous frilly hotel. All the staff is courteous always there to answer any question and ready to serve showing they are proud to have you as a guest. I loved the great "mirrored wall" that lets you see the ocean while having a shower! What a subtle gesture. The room was very clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Great staff. Clean and comfortable. Close to beach. Will definitely use them again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mold rust

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Asked housekeeper for towel not her hotel even though rm next door.hab to go to different lobby .two card keys had to carry. Had to put shirt on per secutity rvu kidfing mr HORRIBLE..PAY TO PARK. .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient, but worn.

Posted Oct 5, 2014
I was fascinated by this old hotel and its history. You can tell that in its day, it was the gem of this beach. Today, it is worn out and old. It needs some major love. Still, I found the staff friendly. My sheets and towels were clean. The A/C worked great. For the rate, I didn't expect much more and was happy that it wasn't less. I was not happy about having to pay to park. This was $15 a day, plus the resort fee of $10 a day. Still cheaper than most so I saved money, but it would have been nice to have been given a pass to use during my stay when I checked in. I read they are about to do a big renovation there and I'm looking forward to going back and seeing what they do. There's so much potential for this to be what it once was in its day!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ft Lauderdale

Not what you expect on a resort

Posted Oct 4, 2014
The wireless only works on a little area literally next to the small lobby (the second one, because for some reason there are two), no wireless on any room! Hot tub was off even during operation hours, the 'Mall' inside the hotel consists basically on 2-3 stores and all the rest are closed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aurora, CO

Good from outside, not so good from inside

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Location: Go to Organic brewery which has awesome beer and good food, its located in next building on the left
It's a historic place, so it requires some remodeling big time... Bathrooms are the main concern. Another - vent system is pretty old and you can smell an odor from it. Mall downstairs mostly closed. From good things - it is right on the beach, you have kitchen and all necessary amenities, close to the restaurants, bars and public transport, staff is very nice and helpful. If you are planning to spend a lot of time outside - this hotel would be a good choice, if you prefer luxury - go to different place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Good value

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: On the beach, clean, well maintained, pool, good price, family friendly.
Cons: Expensive parking.
For the price, this was the best hotel we stayed at in the Ft lauderdale-Miami area, it was right next to the beach, the pool was clean and well maintained with a nice hot tub, I didnt have any issues with our stay. However we where there on Monday and it seemed like there was nothing to do and nothing close by to do. Also giving it a 4 out of 5 because we have to pay for parking, which was consistent throughout our trip in the Miami area, but for a hotel not centrally located in Miami I was hoping for free parking. Other than that we had an excellent stay and would recommend it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Great location, terrible accommodations.

Posted Sep 25, 2014
I booked a king single and arrived to a full double, which was fortunate because one of the beds broke the first night. The room was visually dated, but the kitchenette was appropriately stocked. The hotel itself had a funky smell and the carpet was disgusting. The downstairs area that led to boardwalk and pool was spooky and deserted, especially at night. One night my key didn't work and the receptionist was very rude and unapologetic regarding my inconvenience. This "resort" needs a major update!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from atlanta

Great

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Great value and location for the nightly rate. Best location for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveland Ohio

Reviews can be so misleading

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: The location of Hollywood Beach Resort is perfect. The pool and the Tiki bar open the frame for the breathtaking views of the ocean and Broadwalk!
Cons: It needs some interior decorating, just cosmetic...If it were my resort, I would develop an outside coffee bar/cafe atmosphere for early morning views
Location: Perfect , in between Miami and Ft. Lauderdale I walked the whole Broadwalk and then took the street back..like 4. 5 miles. I went to Hollywood city.
I booked this package, air, resort and car for a good price. I did not read reviews until all was booked and paid for. Then, I started reading alot of negative reviews, more then good ones! I started to get alittle nervous. Media can be a killer sometimes. Anyway, everything about our vacation to Hollywood Florida was just about perfect! No doubt, Hollywood Beach Resort and Cruise Port is old, and it is historic! The prices are reasonable!! The in rooms are hotel rooms as well as condos for purchase. They are old and alittle shabby. But who cares?? The whole hotel is different then any other I have been in, and full of charm!!! Besides, Hollywood is smack in the middle of Miami and Ft Lauderdale. By the time I got back in at about 1 am, I was ready for a pillow and bed.....the reason for a room. Sleep and get ready for the next day! 88 degrees and more sun!!!! We came the week after Labor Day, so I am sure the season slowed down to a snail pace. With the summer crowd and younger people, the hotel probably ran into more issues! Just saying ,we did not have any to speak of or call out!