Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London

Beware of building work

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: Staff and setting
Cons: Menu, beach, noise.
Our experience at this hotel was a bit of a mixed bag. The hotel is in a stunning location and the staff where amongst the best I have experienced in the Caribbean, but there is noisy building work going on both above the hotel on the hillside and within the hotel itself (breaking up concrete, connecting drains etc). Even though we complained to management this did not stop and on subsequent days started at 0800. In addition the beach isn't really useable as it is covered in weed wish new weed drifting in constantly. The staff clean it each day but the problem remains. We also found the menu in the restaurant very limited Bottom line if you want peace and quiet and lie to swim in the sea at your hotel don't go here.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London

Lovely apartments and wonderful staff but ...

Posted Dec 22, 2014
Pros: Wonderful staff and beautiful grounds. Very good restaurant with excellent food.
Cons: Perhaps a better choice of food in the shop - otherwise to buy food for self-catering one has to drive to St John's which is over half an hour away.
Location: Lovely bay with good sailing but sadly not swimming in the sea because of the seaweed. Three infinity pools, which were very good.
Lovely apartments with very well equipped kitchens. Beautifully maintained grounds. The staff were wonderful, very friendly and willing to do everything to make the stay enjoyable. Sadly, much of Antigua, especially on the Atlantic side, which includes Nonsuch Bay, was covered with seaweed, which mean that swimming in the sea was not really possible and there was a very unpleasant smell for much of the time. This is a major issue for the island and the locals are rightly very worried about the implications for the future of the tourist trade. Because of this problem, I could not recommend this resort or any other on the Atlantic side of the island.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Thomas, Thank you for your visit to Nonsuch Bay, your kind comments and the overall favourable rating of the hotel. The presence in the Caribbean of seaweed from the Sargasso Sea at the time of your visit was unusual and a temporary phenomena. Since the end of December the waters and beaches are clear and back to normal. We’re very sorry that you couldn’t fully enjoy the beach and swimming in the sea this time but we hope that you will return to Antigua again under normal circumstances. Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Wonderful

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Pros: The facilities, apartment is large and clean,very modern with balconies to sunbathe on if you don't want to go to one of the 3 infinity pools or beach
Cons: The provision of mosquito nets and removal of water baths outside payments which encourage their breeding. Also greater choice in the restaurant.
Location: Half moon bay is a must see
This hotel surpassed our expectations, our apartment was beautiful, home away from home. The staff were friendly, the facilities great. The sea is a bit choppy and the restaurant if you aren't going to self cater is pricey, my husband and I had dinner one night, two steaks, no starters, deserts or wine and it was $150. It would A&O help if they had mosquito nets because the Mosquitos are huge!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A little corner of paradise

Posted Nov 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
A fabulous resort. Loved every minute of our stay. The apartments really are as great as they look in the photos. We went primarily for sailing which was great. A great range of boats and a whole load of new ones delivered just before we got there. Everything was perfect from the driver who picked us up at the airport armed with bottles of cold water to the accommodation and service. Well definitely be back!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A beautiful room with sailing on the side.

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: Beautiful rooms, reception/restaurant, and layout to the resort. Sailing facilities were great. Very friendly staff throughout.
Cons: The road into the resort, which is already being done. More perishable food available at the store (fruit, mainly).
Location: If you want to go to a good swimming beach, Half Moon Bay is close by, but does require a car to get to. Harmony Hall is on the same road.
Nonsuch is fairly remote, but it seems most resorts in Antigua are a bit off the beaten path. The road into the resort is being repaved (cement!) now, and from the rate they were working on it, I expect it will be done by sometime in November/December. It was passable with our little low rental car as it is right now, but bumpy. The rooms are as gorgeous as they look on the website, and the view is beautiful. We gave the room comfort a 5 we used the air con at night, but the way the rooms are made, if there is ANY breeze, you really don't need it during the day, which was really lovely. We had the sailing package, and their sailing fleet and staff were fantastic - the boats were in perfect condition, with what looked like new sails on every boat we saw out (the resort was closed for September, and we went in mid-October), and everything in great order. We went out with a sailing instructor for the first few times to get familiar with the boat, learn the local reefs, and to even sail out to a snorkeling site. They were very accommodating. There are two sites for snorkeling that are reachable by boat from the resort, and the resort regularly will take you out to the sites twice a day, 3 days a week. The beach is not much of a swimming beach (sea grass on the bottom), but is well shaded with palms, and there are 2 very nice infinity pools. We were there during tropical storm Gonzalo - and were very impressed by how quickly they cleaned up a big mess on the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Lovely modern resort with amazing food

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Amazing secluded location with brilliant food
Cons: The road into the resort is still a track at the moment but they started work on the proper road while we were there so it should be sorted soon
Location: Secluded location with snorkelling reef on nearby Green Island
We spent 8 days at Nonsuch Bay for our honeymoon in early August 2014. We had a 1 bed apartment which was right next to one of the three pools and had a lovely view down to the bay. The resort was lovely and quiet so we had a really relaxing time. There is a sailing/water-sports club on site and when your staying on the resort lots of the activities were free including sailing, kayaking, paddle-boarding etc. The restaurant on site (The Bay at Nonsuch) is amazing, looks right out over the beach and the bay, the food is BIG, we never managed more than one course but its great. Lots of local fish on the menu and had a big BBQ one night. Zoe on reception is so lovely, happy and helpful so look out for her!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peterfrom UK

Top value for money and excellent staff attitude.

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: Good layout of site especially restaurant. Always cooling breeze blowing giving a great feeling although actual air temperature around thirty
Cons: Main access road to the resort
Location: English Harbour, Nelsons Dockyard, Devils Bridge, Betty Hope plantation
Food was excellent with menu changing completely every two days
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Karafrom Toronto, ON

Beautiful location, friendly staff!

Posted May 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nonsuch Bay Resort is beautifully kept and set on a scenic hillside with great views. The resort is 5 star - modern units are FULLY stocked (everything you could want in the kitchen, washer/dryer, hair dryer, wifi, and very clean). I was there with my mom for four nights. It was low season, so the whole island was pretty quiet and Nonsuch was no different. There were a few couples there and some young families, but this is not your place if you're looking to party. The pools are amazing, the beach is not. We knew that ahead of time from the other reviews, and rented a car. We drove the whole island and saw many of the beaches, and in my opinion Half Moon Bay (which is 5 minutes from Nonsuch) is the best beach on the island. The staff at Nonsuch is super friendly and will go out of their way to help you with any request. If I weren't the type who likes to travel to new places, I would go back to Nonsuch Bay Resort in a heartbeat!
2 out of 5
Recommended
by conettafrom scotland

huge rooms

Posted Apr 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
hotel staff were very pleasant , but the location is poor. The beach is very small and not kept in good condition. the road to the hotel is awful , room cleaner was not too good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by martha hamiltonfrom NYC

a missed opportunity by management

Posted Apr 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nonsuch Resort is quite remote from English Harbor and Nelson's Boatyard, the nearest center for restaurants and stores. Added to the distance is quite a long stretch of unpaved and potholed road. The result of the resort's isolation would be an impulse to hang out at the resort's beach and eat at the restaurant -UNFORTUNATELY, the beach is quite unappetizing: excessive seaweed and algal growth - and the restaurant is ridiculously expensive and nothing to rave about. We took daily taxis to beautiful Half Moon Bay to swim - and additional taxis to English Harbor for dinners and spent less money than if we chose to eat in at the resort restaurant. The best thing about Nonsuch was its contracted car service with VERNON'S - and the incredible kindness of Antiguans in general.