Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel for price

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Much cleaner and updated that other hotels we had stayed at.
Cons: Needed more towels and washcloths (there were 3 of us and they only provided 2 towels and washcloths); they did give us more when we asked.
Location: Close to mall and all major roads to local attractions
We moved to the Astoria after staying at a few other hotels throughout our 10 day trip and found them to be the best hotel that we stayed at (in the price range). We would stay there again if traveling to the area. Front desk and breakfast staff were friendly and welcoming. Housekeeping was okay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from GA

Not Good

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: read above
Location: There decent other hotels (no rooms available) and restaurants nearby; there are activities all along US 17.
The hotel was very disappointing; it was inexpensive so we did not expect greatness, but this was the worst we have ever experienced. The facility was a former Holiday Inn from maybe the 50's, not kept up and not clean. The "free" continental breakfast could have been from a skit on SNL, a large room with a buffet set up at one end (only hot food was a large bowl of oatmeal), the only people present were a couple of employees eating their own breakfast next to a large tip jar. The ice machine was so loud it drowned out the expressway traffic just over the fence. The grounds were littered with empty cans and liquor bottles in brown bags. When the onsite Club/Bar was open there were 5 cops to pat down anyone trying to enter, but you wouldn't want your family to be anywhere near it. The linens were worn out, half-size, paper thin and rough as sandpaper....old and cheap. The room furniture was missing many fixtures and had water stains (as did the bathroom walls and ceiling)....and so on.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Convenient Hotel

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Pros: Staff were great. Breakfast was good. Great location
Cons: General overall all improvements need to be made.
Location: Close to many attractions on the South Side of Jacksonville.
Have good staff. Hotel is not being upgraded and is generally run down. Rates are very reasonable.
2 out of 5
by Soccer Mom

Would not recommend Astoria Hotel

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: The front desk associate who checked us in was very pleasant & professional.
Cons: Bed linen had holes, furniture stained and falling apart, towels were thin, rough and not fresh smelling. Rm was a non-smoking rm but smelled smokey.
We were in town for a soccer tournament. Other nearby hotels were sold out but Astoria had rooms available. Based on our less then pleasant stay I now know why this hotel was not sold out. Bed linen had holes, carpet had several stains, furniture was stained and in need of repair, towels were thin, rough & not fresh smelling. Room was a non-smoking room but smelled of smoke. Would not recommend. However, the front desk associate who checked us in was very pleasant & professional.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by T P from Orlando, FL

Posted Nov 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was ok. The inside of the rooms is better than the outside of the hotel. Work in progress.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Old Tired Motel

Posted Oct 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
Sub par facility and staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Big Ed

For the price ($50/night), nice hotel.

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Pros: Close to a Mall and other stores. See also above.
Cons: Add more amenities to the room; e.g., a iron, blow dryer, coffee/tea maker, etc.
Location: Close to I-295, a Mall, a number of restaurants.
Overall the hotel is clean and in fair condition but the room I had was missing a iron and had no blow dryer. It also had the old TV type television; however, the room was clean and was not stuffy or smelly.
1 out of 5
by Akilah from Texas

Terrible

Posted Sep 1, 2013
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Upgrade of rooms, building, room clean, and staff.
Location: Nothing.
Overall the room is listed as a 3 star, but it's more like a 1.5 star. The room where dirty, staff was rude, and the comfort was interrupted by the homeless, and crack heads knocking on doors. Did not feel safe. Rating should be dropped to 1.5 stars so guest can identify what they are getting into.
1 out of 5
by Lance from Pensacola FL

Nasty

Posted Aug 26, 2013
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything..take down to the ground ansd start over and hire some real service staff
Nothing good to say!!! Need to weed these type of "hotels" out of your listings. NOT a three star as listed..or even a one star...the reviews are way off line...nasty sheets and bedding...carpet and floor nasty...the "No smoking" room smelled like a bar at closing after 300 drinkers and smoker had left. Staff was rude and not able to help....no manager on duty...took bedding to the front desk and was told managment would be in until "mid morning and I could wait if I liked"..."Maintenance" man broke into our discussion two times asking for the "log" and on the third time I had to tell him to stop until we were done...he asked me if I "had a problem" and I told him yes, I alway have issues with rude people, he finally left. I wouldn't put a homeless person in this "hotel", although there seemed to be a few of those around.
3 out of 5
by Tabitha from st augustine, fl

Stay was okay

Posted Aug 15, 2013
Minor issues with tv remote and air conditioner were quickly addressed. Pool was out of service.