Ratings based on 203 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Pros: 清潔、広い
Cons: ホームページの部屋の写真は変えた方がよい写真の部屋とはだいぶ違うから
観光に便利、駅からも近い そんなに大きな町でないのでえきから、町の中心に近いので歩いて観光ができる。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel,fantastic location

Posted Jun 6, 2015
Quick,smooth,efficient check-in.Had the Castleview room (303),not the most modern facilities but its a beautiful old building so what can you do? Lovely,very comfortable 4 poster bed and great blackout curtains so amazing nights sleep.Breakfast was a nice combination of buffet cereals etc and a really good waiter service. Staff make this hotel even better with polite,friendly service.will definitely stay here again thank you very much!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington state usa

Close to castle, view of castle

Posted Jun 3, 2015
Historical building, hails back to the 1600's, staff was very friendly and accommodating. Through the many many years and remodels has lost some historical ambiance, but the room was adequate, had wifi, and we had an issue where a shower did not work correctly and we were allowed to change to new room which was nicer- hotel staff was great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York

Family event.

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Helpful staff, clean room, bed comfortable. Breakfast good, service good. Will stay again and will recommend to friends.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Alright hotel

Posted May 30, 2015
Stayed 1 night for work. Location is good bland the hotel has a lot of history, huge rooms with decent furniture and a good breakfast. However the hotel is dated and needs some work, it's quite noisy from traffic and water pipes. It's alright for a night or two and a good choice for central Lancaster but I don't think it was worth what I paid (£67).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from France

Centre of town close to all amenities, bars ,shops

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Pros: Its location, bus station and train station, practically on the doorstep, no need to walk very far for anything.
Cons: Rooms need refurbishing.
Location: Centre of town, Lancaster Castle is a short walk up the road, Williamsons Park and the Butterfly house.
Clean ,comfortable Hotel, helpful staff, good breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bolton

Great central location

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: Location, clean rooms and pleasant staff.
Cons: The decor of the hotel is looking tired and would benefit from updating.
Location: Great location central to everything Lancaster has to offer, great bars and restaurants etc if you're there for a night out as we were.
Although this hotel is a little dated it's in a great location for visiting Lancaster, it was clean and the staff were very friendly...all you can ask for.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Very Historic

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: Close to the castle
Cons: The water could not be adjusted to come out of the shower head. I could feel every spring in the mattress.
Location: Castle tour, historic Lancaster.
Very historic building. No parking available when we were there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cumbria

Great position in town centre.

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: Great position.
Cons: The hallways need redecorating.
Location: Visit the castle. tour the pubs.
Our room was a good size, with a view of the castle. The double glazing didn't shut tight but we were high enough not to be bothered by street noise. The dining room and bar were smart, but the corridors can only be described in some areas as grubby and in need of redecoration. The position is great for the castle and the town centre. We used the hotel car park which was handy too. The breakfast was nice, if a liitle cool. Warm plates would have helped.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great staff

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Pros: The staff.
Cons: The building, but changes would be so major that it would no longer be a budget hotel.
Location: There are a museum, river, canal, market, shops and castle nearby in a quite small city, which is good for walking. The castle tour is a must.
The hotel is old and facilities are fairly basic. It is quite central and consequently there is a lot of traffic noise, which is mostly blocked out with windows closed. So I aired the room during the day and closed up at night. All of the hotel's staff was excellent, Reception, Dining Room and Housekeeping. I became ill during my stay. Everyone's care and empathy were exemplary. The Housekeepers were particularly concerned and helpful, despite their very heavy workload. Not much can be done about the facilities, but the staff makes this hotel. So overall, a very positive experience at a very trying time.