Ratings based on 132 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Our non booked room at Shutters

Posted Aug 10, 2014
We have stayed at Shutters many times and it's a great hotel- however, when we booked through expedia, we showed up and didn't have a room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Great location.

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: A convenient location. The ambiance of the hotel is warm and inviting. The rooms and common areas are impeccable. Valet staff is outstanding.
Cons: Shutters staff should be made to understand profiling customers is short sighted. They should treat every guest with gratitude and courtesy.
Location: Right on the beach at the Santa Monica Pier. Close to tons of restaurants. Great people watching.
Stayed at Shutters probably 10 times before. I (alone) visited over the 4th of July holiday as a little get away. When I got there at about 2:00 p.m. they gave me a room above street traffic. I asked for something more quiet. The desk staff said "...there are no other rooms in your 'classification'. It is a holiday weekend." I pointed out I was a repeat customer and wasn't asking for a upgrade, just something quiet. After much discussion, they eventually found a different room if I wanted to wait 2 hours for the room to be cleaned. I said yes. When I got the new room it was quieter but absent many amenities that I knew came with their standard rooms but, I didn't complain. I then went to the lobby for a glass of wine. I waited 20 minutes for a waitress but couldn't get their attention even though I was literally 10 feet from the 3 of them. I got up and went to the wait station and asked for a glass of wine. I drank it and waited for a wait person to get my bill but, again, couldn't get their attention. After waiting another 20 minutes, I finally left money on the table. In the lounge the next late afternoon I got slightly better service. I noticed that out of all the guests in the lounge, I being female and traveling alone, received the least and most discourteous attention from the staff. Frankly, I've never received such treatment in any of the 5 star hotels I've stayed in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2014 by Gregory, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you so much for your detailed feedback and joining us at Shutters. I appreciate that you are a repeat guest and am sorry to hear that our usually high standards were not met on this visit. I apologize for the service issues you encountered in the lounge and with your room. We are grateful for each and every one of our guests and I will be investigating the issues that you have addressed. Sincerely, Gregory Day, General Manager Shutters on the Beach
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by BigAl from Edinburgh

Lovely Hotel Staff extremely helpful and welcoming

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: The hotel was fantastic, rooms extremely comfortable, staff helpful and the food was excellent.
Cons: Personally I dont think anything could be improved.
Location: The hotel is located on Santa Monica beach, a short walk away from the famous pier at the end of Route 66. This is a great location to explore LA.
This has to be one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in and I would recommend this to anyone. From arrival to departure the staff at the hotel looked after us extremely well making the stay feel very special.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maggie from London

Great hotel on the beach

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: Right on Beach.
An excellent position. Everything is close by. Pool overlooking beach is great and service excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pa

Wonderfully cozy hotel.

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: This hotel is in a great location with much to do. The beds were soooooo comfortable.
Cons: More coffee in the lobby in the mornings......it seemed to go quickly so get down early if you want to sit and enjoy the view with your coffee.
Location: We could walk everywhere or have the hotel driver take us within a 3 mile radius. Beaches, volleyball, bike riding, trapeze lessons, shops/restaurant
Beautiful hotel to be a guest in. Superb location for fun shopping, a great mix of restaurants, and steps away from the beach, Santa Monica Pier and park. We had a great time riding bikes down the beach and shopping and watching all the entertaining locals.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by lou from london

Gorgeous hotel right on the beach

Posted May 23, 2014
Pros: Pretty much everything
Cons: The hotel is across a couple of buildings which makes it a bit confusing to get around
A lovely hotel, very comfy rooms and helpful staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Chrisee from New York

Beautiful hotel

Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel is gorgeous with an accommodating and pleasant staff. Right on the beach also has a pool. Only damper on the trip was that housekeeping kept raising the air con to 70 degrees while they were in the middle of a heat wave of upper 90s and the room was not staying cold
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto canada

A little advice!

Posted May 16, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Customer service. Even the valet seemed rather aloof! The doorman was very nice however.
Location: The pier in Santa monica
We had just stayed at 5 other hotels before this one and all of the hotels were wonderful and so we compared shutters to them and they lacked in a few categories. They knew it was my 60th birthday just like all the other hotels and they were lacklustre about it. Of course I knew what the other hotels had done to help "kick it up" for the occasion. The staff were not as friendly as the other hotels and we were paying the same kind of fees to stay at all of them and so they should feel somewhat the same. They need a lesson in customer service and what customers expect when they are paying. $500.00 plus per night. Mgmt should check out the service standards at the four seasons Biltmore if they want to see what I mean! I was disappointed for sure!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2014 by Gregory, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for the candid review of your experience at Shutters on the Beach. I’m sorry that our service did not meet your expectations on such a special occasion. I appreciate you taking the time to alert me to your concerns as well as your comments regarding our great beachfront location in beautiful Santa Monica. Wishing you a very happy birthday and wonderful year to come! Sincerely, Gregory Day, General Manager Shutters on the Beach
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by najla from Dubai

The hotel is nicely located on Santa Monica beach.

Posted May 4, 2014
Pros: I mostly enjoyed my morning coffee on the little balcony overlooking the ocean.
Location: The location was perfect as you are right at the beach and a 10 minutes walk to the famous 3rd street promenade.
We had an ocean view room. The view is excellent, but we found the room size is a bit small. We were somehow disappointed that the fitness centre was under refurbishment. We were able to use the gym at the hotel next door. The gym is tiny & with 2 hotels using the same facility made it busy in the morning. I wish they had warned us of the closure. The lobby bar is really nice with live music everyday. The pool is a good size with a nice view over the beach.