Ratings based on 111 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Doug from Huntington Beach, CA

Shutters in Santa Monica

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: See experience above
Cons: It will be nice when the spa is renovated.
Location: See experience above
This hotel just feels like a five star hotel from the time you arrive. With great front door service, friendly staff and fine attention to detail. The only two issues I could find were: 1) Our first room faced a parking lot, while the one we moved to was difficult to get to. Up the elevator to 3rd level, walk down a corridor into another building, another elevator, another corridor. 2) The spa facilities were down. Next door, there is a sister hotel where the spa substituted for Shutter's, but although easy to get into the hotel, even the doorman there was confused about where the spa was. If you are looking for the spa being an integral part of your hotel experience, you may wish to wait until it is renovated That said, there were many amenities that were absolutely five star. There is a driver and a town car that can take you anywhere within a 3 mile circle. We utilized that service. He picked us up from the restaurant just shortly after we called The location of this hotel makes you feel like you're really getting away. Right next to the pier an its carnival like atmosphere... we took their bikes down to Venice Beach, to see all the crazy antics there, and the hotel set us up with nearby tennis courts and times. Lots to do in the area. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by lisa from d

Shutters on the beach

Posted Feb 12, 2014
Wonderful relaxing stay at shutters. James in coast restaurant was the nicest, most efficient server I have ever been around!! Food fantastic, spa exceptional, staff very pleasant! I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Clare from Hampshire England

Amazing small hotel. Wonderful surprise.

Posted Jan 9, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Temperature in the pool was a little cool even for us Brits especially as we were up & in the pool by 07.30.
If you prefer a quiet little hotel on the beach at Santa Monica this is for you. What a wonderful surprise to find such a pretty and intermit accommodation. We both felt relaxed from the moment we walked in the doors. We were frightened that staying in a hotel over the Christmas period would be a bit noisy but we had none of that. Having flown in from the UK Christmas Eve there was something very special about our whole experience. The rooms & facilities are excellent. The staff helpful. & accommodating. Our trip & stay was much too short only 2 nights, really must stay longer next time. We will be back.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Oliver from Lucerne

Reasonable not brilliant

Posted Jan 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Wouldn't stay here again.
Comment from
Jan 15, 2014
Dear A traveler, We are so sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your stay at Shutters on the Beach. We try to ensure the best customer service and we appreciate your invaluable feedback. Gregory Day, General Manager Shutters on the Beach
4 out of 5
by David from Los Angeles

Needs better room planning

Posted Nov 18, 2013
The hotel accommodations were great, but we were put in an adjoining room next to a family with a baby and a small child. The connecting doors did not insulate the sound and we heard crying and loud talking for a good portion of the very early morning. Considering we have 3 small children, we are understanding of the situation. However, we were just trying to get a peaceful night away from them and did not get very good sleep. The service recovery was good because they let us sleep in another room for the rest of the morning, but I wish that they had planned a bit better by not putting us next to a family with small children...especially with an adjoining room. Better thought needs to be put into room arrangement. It was an expensive lesson for us to learn. We may go back, but will definitely request to not be near a family with small kids and in an adjoining room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nyc ny

Posted Nov 17, 2013
Everything and everyone was perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Goddess from LA

Excellent Hotel, must try!

Posted Oct 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Had amazing romantic time in this hotel. Only one huge problem fog horn was going on all morning, couldnot get good sleep in the morning.Also rooms were a little expencive for partial ocean view(whci one we got a hall corner, not worth it). Suft and Sand in Laguna beach much better, oh well.I am thinking to come back one day.What I love about this hotel had excellent chef, bravo! All means were 6 stars! Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alan from London

Superb location

Posted Oct 24, 2013
Pros: Location, comfort, staff - everything about it
Cons: Nothing comes to mind, as long as it stays as it is, there's no problem
Location: Right on the beachfront, with great local restaurants and great shopping on 3rd street which is a short walk away if you don't fancy driving
Great hotel, excellent staff, very comfortable - would certainly stay here again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cape Cod Charm

Posted Oct 14, 2013
Pros: The bed was great
Aside from parking attendants inability to retrieve my car for some 15 minutes upon check-out everything was fine. The room and especially the bed was great. Common areas might need some refreshing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 13, 2013 on Hotels.com