Ratings based on 201 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Roseville, CA

Disappointing stay for tne price

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: The continental breakfast was decent and included in the price. I would definitely recommend the Mendocino Hotel Restaurant surf and turf.
Cons: Friendly customer service and full disclosure about the "pet-friendly" designation... oh and extra toilet paper for heaven's sake
Location: Area is a great get away town. Dick's Place is a fun sports bar to watch the game and the Mendocino Hotel Restaurant is a MUST
First off we paid the extra money to stay in a "pet-friendly" room but don't be fooled. By "pet-friendly", they mean they'll allow you to bring your pets but don't expect anything else. What we weren't told is that even though you're paying the extra money, you'll still have to fork out the extra $25 for the 1st night and $15 each additional night to bring a pet. What we also weren't told initially is that we couldn't leave our pets in the room unattended even though they referred to it as "pet-friendly" or we would be fined $100. Perhaps that's a law I was unaware of but it should've been disclosed prior to booking. If we would've known we couldn't leave them in a crate while we went to enjoy dinner, we would've left them with a friend at home. The front desk staff I dealt with was not very welcoming or friendly and straight to the point. Now on to the hotel itself... repairs and updating are needed including wallpaper coming off the walls which isn't so bad but we expected more for what we paid. The walls were so thin we could literally hear all conversations and footsteps on both sides of the walls and the ceiling which, in turn, caused our dogs to bark ALL night long... we felt worse for the neighbors rather than ask sympathy for our own lack of sleep. When they cleaned our room, they failed to replace the toilet paper and of course you don't notice that until you're doing your business. I expected additional TP in the room on stand by but I was wrong.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mendocino stay

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Lots of mold. Had to switch room three times, and even then, the room had problems. Apparently the hotel is in receivership and maintenance, including roof repairs, isn't being done. A shame, as this hotel in years past, was very nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, but needs updating

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Great location easy walking to beach, shops and restaurants.
Cons: The rooms needed some TLC, updates to bathrooms, furniture and the TV was a 19" Zenith. I haven't seen a Zenith TV in 30 years!
Only stayed one night, the staff were very friendly, but the rooms need a refresh!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clayton Ca

Nice Inn

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Location: Tucked away but right up the street from the Main Street to Mendo shops and restaurant
Very tastefully quaint. Had the Garden View room- Lovely flowers- Lilac outside the entrance etc. The room was spacious enough with a love seat by the window.. Breakfast didn't have a big selection but had waffles or you could make or bagels and OJ coffee etc. I will definitely return.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SF bay area

seen better days

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: The location.
Cons: everything.
The hill house needs a large infusion of freshness. All the rooms seem drab. The mattresses need to be replaced. The whole bldg. needs a fresh coat of paint. The continental breakfast was very lacking .There were Costco bagels ,dry cereal. No fruit, eggs, toast, etc. The restaurant was not open. There were very old tvs in the rooms . It seems that the hill house has fallen on hard times!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, Ca

Shockingly Horrible

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: staff
Cons: close one room down at a time and upgrade. everything could be improved.
Location: Mendocino is a beautiful, artsy town. plenty to do and see.
This place was in shocking disrepair. It was worn out and tired. First let me start with the good. All staff that we encountered were very nice. The room was clean. Pretty far off views. Quiet. room was large. other than that this 'Inn' is not a quaint inn, it is a sleazy motel with beds that are very old and squeaky, lumpy and uncomfortable. the linens were ok, but the couches and chairs have seen better days, the bathroom, tiny, with peeling wallpaper and cheap toiletries. You could see major cracks in the doorways, the sliding glass door lock doesn't work, but there is a bold that you can take out of the bottom to open it. Breakfast consists of: coffee, tea, o.j., waffles, bagels, some whole fruit, oatmeal, hard boiled rubbery eggs. We suffered 2 nights on the bed, and as I walked around the grounds, many doors were opened and you could see how each room had beds with large divots in them. very worn. they need to update. I understand having beautiful antiques in the rooms, but the mattresses should not be one of those, neither should the table chairs, which I thought would break under the weight of a 5 year old. the building itself looked more or less freshly painted, but they forgot the trim and there was so many maintenance issues we could see from just walking to our car. choose elsewhere.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Feel i was overcharged

Posted May 26, 2014
The coffee pot did not work. The hotel was locked until 7. I also could not use the hair dryer
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted May 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel really needs to be updated. Simple things like leaving off the heavy old bedspread for the nice white sheet and comforter would help. New carpeting and updated fixtures would really help. It has the feel of a time warp taking you back to a 1984 bed and breakfast. The rooms were very clean and the breakfast was adequate, if a little uninspired.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet bargain

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: Lots of nice places in town . This has what they do and is less expensive.
Best bargain in Mendocino . Nice , comfortable room , friendly, helpful staff . Breakfast area has a nice view . ( Are ocean view rooms .) Close to downtown . Next to a cemetery with lots of early settlers .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 7, 2014 on Hotels.com