Ratings based on 183 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent room, little service

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Cons: Fix your signage.
The room was pleasant and comfortable. The picnic basket in front of your door with free breakfast was great in theory...but the 2nd day of my stay they ran out of half of the food they included the first day. My main complaint is that arriving at night can be very difficult, primarily because the name this hotel goes by here on Expedia is NOT the one visible on the only signage that can be seen from the street. (The only indication this place is a Clarion hotel is a tiny sign by the parking lot entrance to the front desk room.). And there's no front desk to call after 9pm. For that reason I would not stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by M from Hermosa Beach

Quaint and convenient

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Proximity to all that Carmel has to offer.
Cons: Bedroom and bathroom lighting was 2 thumbs down! The mirror in the bathroom kept swinging from the hairdryer -- #annoying.
Location: Beach, shopping, cafes filled w/delicious treasures. If you're a dog or cat lover, I HIGHLY recommend Diggidy Dog...Your pets will thank me!!
If you're looking for a place to sleep, shower and walk to town, then this hotel will certainly suffice. This place is quite simple, but in a terrific location. It's proximity to Carmel's boutiques, cafes and beach is great. Our room was clean and comfortable, two highly important factors since we weren't in town to hang out at the hotel. The continental breakfast was lovely. This is a modest hotel, as I would venture to guess the other hotels around town offer similar accommodations. The d├ęcor of the rooms are not my personal taste, but I was not here to rate their interior decorator's decisions.
2 out of 5
by Steve

Small and hot.

Posted May 31, 2014
Pros: Location was good.
Cons: Willing staff.
I won't be back. I found our room was small and hot. The staff was unwilling to move us to a larger and available room.
3 out of 5
by dave from Seattle

Who is Bella ?

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: Location, its close to the Forge in the Forest which was a lovely place to eat in the evening.
Cons: The receptionist .. I assume Bella was off when we checked in as a different and polite person checked us out. The bed.. it was uncomfortable
Location: Carmel beach is great, Forge in the Forest was great, in fact the only negative thing I have to say about Carmel is that parking is a pain ..
In the comments book there was lots of praise for someone called Bella, we clearly were not greeted by Bella, we were greeted by someone rude who frankly was more interested in watching on a small TV on the floor than making us feel welcome or at home, we had arrived an hour early and asked if we can leave our car at the hotel (As there was LOTS of empty spaces) we were told no we must leave until 3 and we need to park some place else. So we did, when we returned at 3, the young lady on reception was still sitting watching TV with her feet up on a chair and I felt like I was really being a problem asking for my keys. This really set the tone for our stay at the hotel and if it was not such a busy weekend I would have gone elsewhere and asked for my money back. The room is OK .. I have stayed in much better for much less.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by B&S from Campbell

Clarion Collection Carmel by the Sea

Posted Apr 20, 2014
We booked our hotel through Expedia.com & saved $30-40!!!! Walking distance to everything, we had the best time!!!!! There is a store & deli nearby you can buy snacks etc for a picnic & leave leftovers in refrigerator for later use. Perfect Weekend Getaway!!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from b

Close walk to town and restaurants

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Few amenities but great value and location. Ask for a second floor room, if you face the street. Otherwise, sidewalk is just outside window.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by CA Hartland from Central CA

Perfect for the Price!

Posted Jan 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
just a one-nighter & the place was perfect for what we wanted to do & see! very clean, no noise, helpful staff. $100 for a Friday night in Carmel is outstanding!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 24, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Joe from Nottingham

Comfy and clean hotel close to Carmel's centre

Posted Jan 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
No reception if you get there in the evening but there is a phone near the entrance to call someone who turns up within 15 minutes. Other than that all was good. Clean comfortable room with clean bathroom. Very quiet location close to Carmel's town centre, shops and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel within walking distance to town/beach

Posted Dec 18, 2013
Pros: Location and friendly staff.
Location: Within walking distance to everything.
Friendly staff, great location, walking distance to the Carmel shops, restaurants, bars and beach. The room was clean and cozy with an electric fireplace. We received a breakfast basket in the morning with cereal, rolls, granola bars, fruit and juice. All around very nice place to stay.