Ratings based on 208 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Reno, NV

Close to restaurants and the beach!

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: location to the "center" of town and also a short walk to Carmel beach.
Got there early afternoon and an early check in was ok. There must be 20 good restaurants within a 5 minute walk of the hotel so location is great. I got a 2nd story room that was clean and comfortable. The electric fireplace is pretty cool. The beds are comfortable and the bathroom looked recently remodeled. Very nice place for the money.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Very old needs to be updating
Location: Great loaction right in middle of town.
Need of updating looks very old like a grandma was in charge of decorating. Staff was friendly and location is it's main selling point.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the best deal in Carmel

Posted Oct 7, 2014
The hotel had a different name than was listed on the internet and we went around in circles looking for it. The location was good, close to restaurants and the Plaza
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Enfield, North London

Lovely hotel in the centre of town

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Great hotel, fantastic room, breakfast basket delivered to your room, would thoroughly recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Loved the location, within a short walk of Ocean Dr, nice restaurants and the "Fairy Tale" houses Comstock built in the 20's, the Forge was an excellent restaurant and bar a couple of blocks away. Hotel is a little dated but very comfortable and quiet. Priced very competitively.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Fresno, Ca

Great location but disappointing

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: A basket with a small continental breakfast was on the doorstep each morning. Primarily location sells this place.
Cons: Insulated windows, softer beds, room updates.
Location: Loads of excellent dining and shopping within walking distance. Carmel mission within one mile. Monterey nine minute drive away. We came to scuba dive
We booked this for Labor Day weekend. The location is right in Carmel by the Sea, so if location is most important you might think about this. However, half of the rooms are within five feet of a high pedestrian sidewalk with traffic late. With no air conditioner windows have to be open and sleep is really difficult. Also, you can't open the blinds on the downstairs rooms because pedestrians can see right in! The room was clean, but there were chunks of something under the carpet and wall paint was really odd. No desk clerk at night. We enjoyed our stay but were truly tired. Great if you're a night owl or very sound sleeper!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom san francisco

Adequate, close to all

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Location is everything with this place. Recommend for quick overnight if you can get a deal on expedia. Room had musty smell. Furnishings mismatched. Poor paint job on walls made place feel cheap and if no one really cared. The sofa bed seemed from another era. Too many decorative pillows and big comforter on bed which who knows when they were laundered, not dirty just felt dusty. Owners could put a little attention on the rooms and make a big impact. Definitely need repainting! Blinds did not block light from outside. Comfortable bed and relatively quiet. If you can get it cheap and you are not fussy, it's a great central location in the heart of Carmel. Also, no hidden charges which was appreciated.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London

Avoid it if possible !!!

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Hotel room , just OK , Staff at reception , RUDE and not interested at all about costumers ! Continental Breakfast it's a joke , a basquet with few things inside to be supposed delivered outside your room door , never happened to us , when I asked the guy at the reception in the morning where the breakfast room was , not bother at all , he looked behind one desk looking for a leftover " continental breakfast basket " and handed out to me ! I refused it and had proper breakfast somewhere else !!!!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by S.H.from Toronto

Pleasant and quiet

Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was quite nice, not new, but clean. Nice big bed, nice bathroom , service was friendly and prompt
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom texas

In the heart of Carmel.

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Good for the money but could do with some updating. Musty smell in room. Need curtains in room. Very noisy road behind building - trash day I think. Great location for shops and restaurants. Young lady in office in the morning was very helpful and pleasant. Nice breakfast basket delivered to room in morning.