Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Short Stay

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Breakfast was good. The breakfast had eggs, sausage, and yogurt--as well as other breakfast foods--not always available at continental breakfasts.
Cons: Lights over bed didn't work, but we weren't there long enough to complain.
Location: We were about 35 miles to the beach destination, and so we didn't explore. TONS of furniture places were available.
Our stay was short, but we managed to take a brisk walk at the strip mall right next to the motel. The room was comfortable--loved the comfortable chair and ottoman--and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from fayetteville, NC

Pet friendly

Posted Jun 12, 2014
I booked my room online, but upon check in was told the king bed I requested was not a pet room, so I was moved. The room I was given, was not ready, but I didn't know that until getting into the room. The beds were in made and the bathroom was a mess. I spoke to housekeeping, and they advised that the room I was given wasn't on the list, but without hesitation, she volunteered to get me a new room. She was polite and quickly had us in a new room. Unfortunately, the ac was being overworked and we never really got comfortable until the day we left. The bed was hard, not my cup of tea either. Lastly, if a hotel advertises as pet friendly, it would be nice to have somewhere to walk. Oh well...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good

Posted May 27, 2014
Things were clean. ..shower drain needed some attention..overall good for the money :)
3 out of 5
by Jack from North Carolina

Overnight Getaway

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: The front desk staff made this place. They were very helpful and friendly. They are the bright spot.
Cons: If the caulking cannot be cleaned, it should be redone. This would enhance the feeling of cleanness.
Location: New Bern offers a variety of tours.
The hotel location is difficult to access from the highway. The lobby is clean and the reception staff is very helpful and friendly. The room door was open when we arrived, and we had difficulty getting the door to close. Despite booking a non-smoking room the room smelled like cigarette smoke. The wall paper was peeling in spots, and the tub had mildew along the caulking. The hotel uses four twin size pillows for a king size bed, instead of two king size pillows. I know this is a low cost hotel, but somethings need not be skimped. The breakfast staff was rude! It was clear to everyone that she did not enjoy her job! She spoke harshly to children, and mumbled about parents.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted May 26, 2014
Staff was very friendly. Nice hotel for the price didn't have any problems at all. Bed was very comfortable
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Billy from Charlotte

Ok hotel

Posted May 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Extremely furn beds . Very loud air conditioner.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by tLe from Fay, NC

Great location, okay hotel

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Positives Staff was friendly Breakfast was very good Excellent location- 15 min from New Bern, 30 min from the beach Negatives Room a little dirty phone did not work at all Heater/ Air control panel was broke off but still worked
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Bob Springle from Southport, NC

Good night's sleep

Posted Mar 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Quiet room (no space under door, quiet HVAC), nice amenities (like exercise room, breakfast). Some things need to be fixed in room 106 - looks like car ran into back wall of room from parking lot, shower control handle comes off, light bulb burned out by bed; all in contrast to the otherwise pleasant experience. Girlfriend liked the half pillows, but they don't work for sitting up to watch TV.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by Miranda from Tampa, FL

Yikes!

Posted Nov 12, 2013
Pros: The manager that we spoke to on Monday morning was very helpful and on the ball. The bed was comfortable.
Cons: Hmm. Staff, the rooms could use a serious updating, nothing fancy but everything was just old and not well taken care off.
Location: The location was good, very close to the base and many other things in Havelock.
The stay started out with the not to knowledgeable staff member double charging us and she happened to be working the whole weekend so we were at no relief of that until the manager came in on Monday morning. Even when I had Expedia call this staff member, she was no help to them and told Expedia to tell me that I could go to the desk after 11:00 pm or wait until Monday morning. It is advertised the the hotel has a small restaurant/bar which was not the case. We were one of only very few guests in the hotel and they put us right next door to the room where they do construction, no door handle and saw dust all over the ground. From what I could tell the room was clean, yet old and broken. When I tried to wash my hands after using the restroom, the sink faucet came off, the shower faucet was loose and the dial in the shower which states whether you are at hot water or cold was a pathetic replacement. It was almost to the point that we cut our loses and paid for another hotel.