Ratings based on 484 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient place

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Just a quick stay. Pool was nice. But it's a hotel 6
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa ana

Fooled again

Posted Jul 20, 2014
I liked the pics of the rooms and such, unfortunately for me (and you) it looks nothing like that. When I inquired about the room in the photo I was told I Could not upgrade. At any price?!!?. Not again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from So Cal

Dated, but comfortable - the problem was the noise

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: The location is great. Lots of restaurants and fast food nearby. There's an In and Out in the parking lot. The pool was nice.
Cons: The dated amenities, the room smelled of strong cleaner, and the noise level was ridiculous.
Location: Great location for Newport and Balboa activities.
We didn't mind the dated look or even the 1980's clock. The pool was nice, the location was great, and the staff was friendly. But when we turned the lights out at 11pm to get some sleep for our upcoming big day of fishing, that's when we noticed the problems. We had very noisy neighbors upstairs and downstairs. The single-paned windows did nothing to help block the noise. The 2am car alarm, and the all night traffic noise was very frustrating! Our neighbors went in and out of their countless times until about 3am - each time shaking our room and windows with very slam of the door. So while this hotel was many perks, the noise level kept us from getting the good night sleep we intended. You definitely get more for your money at other hotels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calif

Nice centrily located

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Very nice accomodations staff very helpful. Would recommend to friends
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Average rooms nice staff

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Great pool and jacuzzi relaxing. Seemed a lot if emotes used facilities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AZ

Cheap but you get what you pay for.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
A/c does not work well when hot outside. Very outdated tv. Can see 1/2 light coming through doors which can be easily kicked in. Beds are very old. Basically just pastries and juice for breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gulf Breeze, FL

Good value

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Vagabond was as advertised. Not five star, but fairly clean, covenient to 405 and beaches, and very affordable. Very nice pool area and staff was friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Nice to stay but poor WiFi

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: Look nice and
Cons: Need strong WiFi.
Location: Nearby restaurants and beaches.
I enjoy clean room and nice pool. Frustration with WiFi for three days.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Stayed there two nights, quiet comfortable and decent rooms. We would use this hotel again
2 out of 5
by Jeanette from Northern California

General Appearance of Hotel room

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Based on google, it was closest to our event... but Motel 6 was right across the street and looked cleaner and more upgraded
Cons: Carpets should be changed, refrigerators checked after each cleaning And lamps/lights checked
Location: lots of restaurants, fast food and sit down, within walking distance, also stores and gas stations..
The room smelled horrible. The refrigerator did not work and none of the lamps worked. The carpet was not vacuumed thoroughly. TV is antiquated, reception and station selections very poor.