Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Over rated

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Not a lot
Cons: Rooms need a complete makeover. Food menu's and quality of food supplied needs to improve as do the service and number of restaurant staff.
Location: The resort is not located in a good position when compared with the Muri Beach area places.
We recently had a 3 night stay at Raratonga Sanctuary Resort on way to Aitutaki. While the staff were okay we found our room smaller than was expected and the room fittings were not up to the standard of equivalent rated hotels. The breakfasts were extremely poor and the meals we had at the associated neighbouring Raratonga Resort were of poor quality. Overall the place was very disappointing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

Highly priced for the service &food they offer

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Paid a very high price for a nice room but the service & the food isn't very nice at all!
2 out of 5
by Funa from Hamilton, NZ

Good location shame about the resort

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: The lagoon and beach was nice, snorkelling was good. The Rarotongan always had activities happening which we were able to access.
Cons: The d├ęcor in the rooms, tile around the pool and control the sand in other areas. Staff training needs to be reviewed.
Location: The location is great. The sunsets are fantastic, close to town and a range of restaurants. The scooter hire place is a 2 min walk from the resort.
This was our 3rd trip to Rarotonga. This time we went with friends and stayed somewhere different. We choose the Sanctuary-on the beach. The location is good as it is on the sunset side and close to town. The resort itself was a bit of a let down, the grounds are a bit over grown, the tennis court is run down and not maintained, there is to much sand...... sand around the pool so that gets tracked into the pool, sand in the restaurant, the tap/ shower to wash the sand off your feet was on a tiled area but to get into your room after your swim in the lagoon once you washed your feet you had to walk on sand again, hence sand in your room. Also because of the overgrown grounds there are a lot of mosquitos. Your rooms are only serviced if you request it and then your lucky if they are done by 2pm. The rooms are probably in need of some maintenance, our air con dripped and it looked like it had been like that for awhile as there was some mould on the wall. The cabinet the fridge was in had a fan to keep it cool, this we had to turn off at night as it was noisy. The rooms are quite dark, you have to turn the lights on during the day. During our stay there was a leek in the restaurant so they had to dig up the floor to fix it, this took a day and a half to sort. I had a cocktail at the swim up pool which at the time I charged it to our room, that evening we had a drink in the bar and I paid for the earlier cocktail, come check out time they tried to charge me again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Glenis from Auckland, New Zealand

Beautiful 5 day break away in the Sunshine

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: The beach, the pool, feeding the fish, nice room, great cleaning, good location
Cons: Staff sometimes would kind of just ignore people for quite a while which I found pretty bad. Get rid of the sand from the floor in the restaurant.
Location: We got a scooter from across the road and made our way around the Island.Drink at trader jacks is good a Mahi mahi sandwich from the mooring cafe yum
We stayed at the Sanctuary for 5 nights. Played tennis swam at the beautiful beach swam in the pool, went for a Kayak fed the fish and went snorkeling fun fun fun. The room was really nice, cleaned really well every day. Didn't really like the sand on the ground in the restaurant sandy feet yuk. Brekky was great for the 1st 2 days and then the 3rd and 4th there was no brown bread and no marmite and hardly and jams or honey just marmalade, I think they had just run out in this restaurant and needed to stock up from next door because when I asked if they had marmite somebody was sent to get some. One morning we requested a wake up call which never happend and our children called while we were not in the room and asked for us to be given a message to call them and we did not get this message either. Also the drain part in our shower was broken and when you stood on it it moved so I took it of in the hope that this would alert someone to the fact that it needed fixing but it was just put straight back to sit on top and fall off again. Hence why my rating is a 3 and not a 4. Overall had a great time and it is a great place with just a few little things that impacted on our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 29, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sue from New Zealand

Beautiful beachside hotel

Posted Nov 20, 2013
Pros: Loved the setting, the beachside room and the beautiful pool with the swim up bar.
Cons: Bike hire next door at the Rarotongan could do with some new bikes! The Asian restaurant at the Santuary was closed the whole time.
Location: Good location. Recommend snorkeling, paddle boarding, kayaking and tennis. Dive centre opposite.
Have stayed at the rarotongan beach resort and spa before and checked out the santuary then. We were really pleased with the room which was on the ground floor and straight onto the beach. The room was in excellent condition and had a good comfy bed. All the rooms are beachside overlooking a private beach. Plenty of sun loungers and access to kayaks, snorkeling gear and paddle boards. Tennis court outside the rooms. We had a great time. It was very peaceful and relaxing and found the staff very helpful and friendly. They went out of their way to help us with anything. The Santuary isnt a large resort, so the restaurant isn't large but in a lovely setting by the beach, undercover but on sand. The breakfast was great, but we ate out mostly for lunch and evening meals as some of the dishes were off the menu the night we went. There was entertainment in the evenings. It was low season when we went so it was particularly quiet but loved it and would go back anytime.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 18, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Liz from Sydney,NSW

Island paradise

Posted Nov 11, 2013
Pros: The location was ideal - directly on the beach. The hotel supplied all equipment for daily activities & the food was great.
Cons: Table drink service could be improved. It was long periods of time between drinks & is a good opportunity to improve on.
Location: Located directly on the lagoon, short bus ride into town, scooters to hire, lagoon cruises, snorkelling, paddle boarding - all water activities avail.
Amazing location directly on the lagoon where you get up each morning & make a short stroll to the water. Staff were friendly & were helpful with any requests as well as giving local advice to ensure you got the complete experience in the Cook Islands. This island paradise is perfect for complete relaxation & what you see in pictures is exactly what you get. Good little hideaway which has not been overly commercialised.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rob from Auckland NZ

Sanctuary Rarotonga

Posted Sep 17, 2013
Pros: The ocean views were fantastic.
Cons: Put up signs to advise non-Sanctuary "visitors" that the facilities (eg pool) are for Sanctuary guests only would be helpful.
Location: The location is close to the airport and nowhere in Rarotonga is far away.
From the time my wife and I arrived to the time we checked out the staff could not have been more helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We are parents and have had fantastic holidays with our children who are now grown up but the idea of no guests under 18 is an absolute winner as we had a wonderfully quiet and relaxing stay.....it really is a sanctuary.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Disappointed, easily improved!

Posted Aug 13, 2013
Pros: Snorkelling was great! Once licence secured riding around on scooter good fun.. Had a nice massage @ Polynesian Spa.
Cons: Poor service in the restaurant @ the Rarotongan, the beach doesn't look like the pictures it was a let down - just needs maintenance. Could be great!!
Location: Marine reserve side of Island good position, vehicle rentals across road. Not prime position for watching sunsets. Bus service comes to the door.
Staff are friendly & helpful but it is time for some overdue maintenance at the Sanctuary. Beach area is neglected, needs grooming and tidying up, lots of debris around and genrerally looking tired. Outdoor furniture around pool and beach front needs cleaning or painting, very dirty condition. Looks like maybe residue from sun block, grease and dirt on armrests. Room service pretty basic, didn't remove dirty dishes, shower doors were not clean on arrival. On one evening there was an Function at the Sanctuary so we dined at the Rarotongan next door, part of the same complex.This was very disappointing experience, we waited for an hour for 2 beers & garlic bread. There was only 5 tables with people when we ordered, as the restaurant started to fill up we noticed people that had seated after us getting their mains, I had asked twice what was happening with our order before we finally got our drinks the garlic bread was basically burnt bread with butter and no garlic. Mains arrived shortly after and were not great, very disappointed with meal & service. We visited Trader Jacks and that was a great meal & service!