Ratings based on 390 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas

Location

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: Airport Shuttle service, location, restaurant and bar.
Cons: Update the rooms.
Location: Close to Eastman School of Music, University of Rochester, Eastman House.
Lobby, staff, restaurant and bar were excellent. Room on 17th floor was quite dated and not up to the Hyatt standard. The bed only had a sheet covering the mattress. It took a call to housekeeping, then a call to the front desk and finally a written note for the maid on the third day to get a mattress cover.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

A great hotel in a shady area

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Service, room
Location: Stay in your hotel at night unless you are going outside of Rochester
Met with great service and the room was clean and comfortable. Just wish the city of Rochester to be somewhat safer to walk around.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Albany, NY

Good conference hotel.

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Pros: The staff were very helpful when I arrived in the lobby.
Cons: They need real blankets, especially if the heat is not on. Staff should check items in the room to see if they work.
Location: At the Rochester Riverside Conference Center. There was a nice pizzeria, Tony D's a short ride away.
The room was comfortable, very basic and did not include wifi. Wifi was an additional ten dollars a day. Parking in the hotel garage was also extra and you were charged each time you exited. My biggest complaint was the room was cold. I turned the heat up, but I don't think the heat was actually on. When I asked for a blanket, I received a piece of material identical to the drapes that was not warm at all. The hair dryer did not work, thankfully I had brought my own. Our organization paid for a coffee and tea break, but when the hot water ran out they refused to bring any more out, with a half hour to go. There was coffee, just no tea. I wouldn't recommend this hotel for a vacation, but for a conference it served it's purpose.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cranston

No Grand anymore

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: Centrally located
Cons: The rooms need an upgrade and the bathroom need more attention.
Location: Dinosaur BBQ is 2 blocks away
The hotel is centrally located with its own parking garage, (modest overnight parking fee). The room I had was on the 10th floor and had a roll up curtain that didn't function well and I could only get it to roll down completely on one side. The bathroom toilet had rust stains and the walls had some peeling wall paper. The room was very large with a nice flat screen TV however there is a $10 charge for the internet unless you are a gold passport holder. I didn't eat at the hotel and instead went to the Dinosaur BBQ Bar and Grill. It has great food and is just a two block walk off of South Street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Room was nice but staff did not have it cleaned on time after requested
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location and staff

Posted Oct 6, 2014
I would recommend this hotel. We'll probably stay there again on our next visit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ny

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: The price I got was reasonable.
Location: I did not feel comfortable walking around outside the hotel.
The hotel room could use an refresher. Bed skirt was frayed, furniture was dusty, there was some garbage on the floor in the bathroom. The shower curtain was dirty and tub looked worn. Also not in a particularly nice part of the city. When we left the area we liked rochester better.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Posted Sep 8, 2014
I was quite disappointed in the room and the overall appearance of the hotel, it just felt dirty. In the room, the t.v console was missing the veneer on one of the legs, the closet was missing one of the siding mirror doors. Although the bed was comfortable and the shower had a good force of water coming out it.The elevator floor/carpet should have been replaced awhile ago. The attention to detail was lacking along with pride of appearance. Now, mind you I just stayed at the Boston Hyatt and had a wonderful experience with everything, from the service desk, to valet, to the room.It was 180 degree difference in the two.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from O

The hotel is great but the restaurant is terrible.

Posted Sep 2, 2014
I wish the food in the restaurant was better. Wanted a nice sit down diner and choices were poor and seats were uncomfortable. Felt like it was made for bar food only. Ended up going out for dinner the second night. Bar also is expensive and closes early.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G

Hotel in downtown Rochester

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Our room was nice. The hotel staff were helpful and polite. I was disappointed that there was no complimentary breakfast as that is usually our experience in most hotels these days