Ratings based on 275 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NV

Stay anywhere else!!

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Blood on the sheets, cigarette ashes all over the room, very rude staff. Do yourself a favor and stay anywhere else but here. Worst hotel experience of my life. We didn't even stay the night. We left as soon as we could.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego

Worst. Hotel. Ever.

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Room stinks, its loud, some creepy people at the hotel. Streets are scary, dirty and smell like pee. Overall horrible location, old hotel. Stuff was nice though.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Location: Not good.
It's expensive to compared to the quority and the location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from So Cal

Terrable hotel you wouldn't want to stay here

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: Leaving
Cons: Everythinh From room size and Renovations to new elevator
Location: Hotel is located in the hart of the drug use, drunks, prostitutes, beggars and homeless
Attendant not very enthuastiac about late arrival and as if he was doing us a favor by letting us stay at this Dump. The hotel is located in the hart of the drug use, drunks, prostitutes, beggars and homeless. The Hotel itself is in dire need of renovations, Hotel doesn't have any type of Air-condition, Furnishing are about 25 years old and look that way. Room and room amenities are small and broken, no vanity at all in the bathroom you have to place your belongings on top of the toilet there is only a small sink that has no space for place tour toiletries
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst hotel one can stay in

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Worst hotel conditions, no air-conditioner, looks like crappy renovation of some old building, WORST LOCALITY to stay in. This is a kind of hotel for which you will feel an urgency to get to a PC and write review so that at least others will be saved from wasting money
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bakersfield, CA

It All Depends on Your Priorities

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Our two priorities were low cost and city center, so for us The Regency worked fine. The area is not good and women may not feel safe even in daylight. But if panhandlers don't bother you, then this hotel should work for you. Built in 1930, according to a staffer, it has been remodeled well but it is not trendy and elegant. It is clean and comfortable, though. Their valet parking cost us $35 per day and was worth it to not leave the car.on the street overnight. The complimentary breakfast is no frills but adequate and the staff are very helpful. One caution: the mattresses are encased in plastic covers that are extremely slippery and cause the flat sheets to come untucked resulting in a totally wrecked bed by morning. ?Take a fitted sheet?
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, location a bit sketchy..

Posted Sep 8, 2014
This is a good rate quality/price hotel, clean and with pleasant personnel. Be careful of its location, I recommend arriving from market st and then Larkin st, specially by night. There is a bus stop just in front of the hotel. A bit noisy for rooms with street view.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2014
There no AC in the hotel, so if the weather was warm you cant sleep
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hawaii

Small room in the Tenderloin

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Room was really small and there was no air condition. The windows opened but only to an interior alley so there was no breeze. Cheapest hotel I could find at the time and I don't mind the semi-ghetto accommodations but if you are looking for a nice place to stay, this is not it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Good clean friendly hotel

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: clean well kept and friendly
Cons: older style hotel and renovations are under way
Location: location is good but social issues in area are a problem after dark
nice hotel near centre of town. Good resteraunts close by. No the best area in town after dark