Ratings based on 529 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lisa from California

Not bad, but undergoing remodel

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: Location, proximity to hwy 101 and downtown.
Cons: Acoustics.
It's hard to get a true feel of the facilities, as they were being remodeled. The lobby was cut in half, divided by a temp wall and tarps. Paint fumes were very strong, and not comfortable. The room had just undergone remodel, so things seemed nice and new. Our room was by the back entrance, and it was very noisy all night; doors shutting, voices, echoes, etc. Overall, I think when they are finished, it will be a good stop for a layover, but not for an extended stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

remodeling

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: room was a good size
Cons: bathroom door swung shut - no way to keep it open
Location: location looked to be on the beach - it is on the other side of the freeway from the beach
I wondered why the rate was lower than surrounding area.... arrived to find the entire hotel under construction. Lots of noise and hammering during the day, night was OK. Never did find where the "free" breakfast was located.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Room clean nice staff really comfortable room excellent
1 out of 5
by jenn from rancho cucamonga

Worst Place

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Hotel is under renovation. You cannot even get from place to place without being in the way. We had to walk all the way around from the outside to get in the lobby. It's in the ghetto. I dislike Expedia for recommending this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lonnie from Burbank

Holiday Inn Express Carpenteria

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: Absolutely everything
Cons: They really have their act together. I can't think of a thing that was improve this hotel. They even left the pool open for a late swim/spa. Nice!
Location: Near Santa Barbara, maybe 15 or 20 minutes. Nice beaches nearby.
This hotel is a breath of fresh air. The room was clean and comfortable. The hotel staff was as nice and accommodating as could be. The pool and spa were absolutely spotlessly clean. Breakfast was great, eggs, pancakes, cereal,toast, sausage, etc, etc. The place far exceeded any expectations. Thank you very much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

The BEST hotel we stayed in during California trip

Posted Mar 6, 2014
We stayed at 3 different hotels during our trip to California in late February/early March, and Holiday Inn Express in Carpinteria was hands-down the best hotel for our family. We stayed in the Studio Suite with 2 Queen Beds, non-smoking, and specifically requested a non-pet-friendly room to hopefully minimize the allergy exposure from previous guests. We had no problems for our two-night stay. The entire first floor was in the midst of a remodel so we stayed on the second floor which was newly renovated. The decor was fresh and pleasing, and still smelled slightly of new paint. The beds were very comfortable, just the right level of softness. The sofabed, as a sofa, was firm and comfortable. We did not use it as a bed. Originally the AC/heater unit was not responding to the thermostat, but hotel staff were able to correct it and we were very comfortable after that. The refrigerator and microwave were in great condition. The TV programming offered several family-friendly channels including Disney Channel, and even programming from Brigham Young University. In the morning, the Breakfast Buffet was accompanied by family-friendly TV programming, instead of news, which we appreciated. There were a few nice touches in our room, such as a coat rack with hooks just inside the entrance, an open frame closet with easily moveable hangers, and a hook in the bathroom in addition to towel bar. Definitely a great place to stay while in the Santa Barbara area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cat from Orlando FL

Short stay

Posted Feb 6, 2014
Pros: Pleasing appearance and clean.
Cons: Morning breakfast
Location: Did not use
The only real dissappointment was the morning breakfast, started late and the quality was okay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by K from Orange County, CA

My stay

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Pros: spacious
Cons: LIttle things like the frig and coffee maker now working. It looked like they rushed the remodel and did not have all items up and working.
Location: Great location for the event we were attending at the Carpinteria Community Pool.
Part of the hotel was in the middle of a remodel. We were fortunate enough to have one of the remodeled rooms but unfortunately the frig was not working nor was the coffee maker. That was a big disappointment. Otherwise the room was spacious, the hotel staff was extremely nice and the free breakfast was very good. I would stay again once the remodel is complete.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lisa from el cajon, CA

nice hotel, even for kids

Posted Jan 15, 2014
Pros: the breakfast the ability to have 5-6 people in a room with out having to pay for two rooms.
Cons: the water pressure. even a little bit better would have allowed for the bathtub to fill up.
Location: the beach is down the street, and there is an awesome interpretative park with really nice slides and play areas. there is plenty of places to eat.
i would recommend this hotel. the breakfast is better than most whom offer it, and very kid friendly with cereals, bagels, oatmeal. plus the kids really enjoyed the automated pancake on demand maker. they had coffee, tea, milk and oj, cinnamon rolls, bacon and eggs one day, sausage and mini cheese egg omelets the next. plus biscuits and toast. the room was big enough for the 5 of us, and the floor was not as dirty as we though it might be. the bathroom door is VERY awkward, and was sort of a pain. the bathroom itself was plenty big. i think my only real complaint was that the water pressure was literally(not kidding) a trickle from the faucet and there was no way to give the kids a bath in the nice bath tub, so they showered. they did not mind though. staff was nice, and it was close to everything. one could have walked everywhere if you really wanted to . overall we would definitely stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Mateo, CA

Keep looking

Posted Jan 10, 2014
Pros: Pool
Cons: Night staff seemed bored
Location: Location was not bad...just would not stay again
Hotel served its purpose for us to lie our head for the night, but other than that I was disappointed. Room bathroom was not as clean as I think hotel should be. T.V. needed repairs. Pull out couch was broken. Had to set up crib ourselves. Just not a lot of warm and fuzzies. Night time staff seemed bored too.