Ratings based on 113 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by max from Milan,italy

Good location but very dirty neighborood

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Upgrade some rooms, staff in certain areas
Location: The pedestrian area is called "el Conde" , is very picturesque and nearby you can find several bars and restaurants
First as we arrived they send us to our room which they called "superior"and actually it looked like a thriller movie with very old furniture and some strange decorations hang on the wall. I went down to the lobby asking for a different room and the staff at the front desk was helpful land moved us to another room much nicer. The theme of the room was Marilyn Monroe and it was nice. The breakfast is very poor and the products they offer are very cheap. Staff at the front desk is good but the staff in the breakfast buffet area is not very interested about the guests. I just recommend this hotel for the good location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gregory from Virgin Islands

Perfect location and exceptionally friendly staff

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Pros: The friendly staff and close proximity to everything
Cons: A retractable awning over the outdoor breakfast area for shade
Location: Easy walking to all the shopping , museums and restaurants that dot the Conde Colonial City
One of my many stays at the Hodelpa Colonial...rooms are very comfortable...Staff very courteous .Ramon at the front desk made special arrangements to have breakfast ready for us before the usual 7am opening so that we can have something to eat before the early taxi pickup back to the airport..The staff are always pleasant and welcoming...I would not stay anywhere else when I travel to the Dominican Republic.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland USA

Nice hotel

Posted Feb 21, 2014
Pros: Food is good, Very clean, Staff is very helpful
Cons: The beds are not comfortable... Need to buy new mattress ASAP
Location: Many stores and shops. Hard Rock Cafe is with in walking distance and next door to it is a nice Dominican restaurant.
The rooms are nicely decorated but are small. Free wifi and breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ariel from Uruguay

The prefect location for Colonial Santo Domingo

Posted Feb 5, 2014
Pros: The location.
Cons: A more comfortable space for breakfast.
Location: Well, it is the colonial city. If you like history and old towns is great, and the hotel is located in the perfect place.
The Hotel is about 100m from the Catedral, right in the middle of the Colonial Town, so you can get a better location than that. The Hotel is acceptable, rooms are OK without luxuries, they have parking space (important in that area) and breakfast is good (although the restaurant is small and you might have to wait). And you are at walking distance of everything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Matt from Sydney

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 13, 2014
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 7, 2014
Cons: The bathroom facility.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Angel from Puerto Rico

Not bad

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
It is not bad, but I just didn't like it as much as the Hodelpa Centro Plaza in Santiago. The location is great, near many sites and Paseo del Conde. The breakfast is fairly good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

in the heart of it all

Posted Dec 28, 2013
walking distance to retauraunts shops, museums and attractions. one must note that there is no distinction between smoking rooms and non-smoking - so no matter how well they cleaned the room before hand there was still the smell of a smokers lounge in our room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Phil from Florida

Love it every time

Posted Dec 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
This was my 3rd time in last 12 months at the Hodelpa. Caribe Colonial and I still like it. I had a small problem with my room at check in but it was quickly resolved by the friendly and competent staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Emi from Albany, NY

Clean, quiet, nice place

Posted Dec 4, 2013
Pros: It's location and it's breakfast.
We selected this hotel for its location. We were pleased with the staff, all of them were very helpful and friendly. The rooms are small but comfortable. They offer daily breakfast and we were glad to see traditional Dominican breakfast as part of their buffet. Internet connection was reliable and included in the cost of the room.