Ratings based on 141 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Palm Beach, FL

Very nice hotel. In the middle of the Old Town.

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: I liked the location and the facilities. It´s a fantastic option.
Cons: There are major renovations going on in the area of Old Town, and specially in the street in front of the hotel, they should warn that.
Location: Great location. You can go to museums, forts, bars, restaurants and cigar parlors simply bay walking around the area of the hotel. Security is great.
This hotel is a fantastic option for those who want to spend some days at the capital. Walking distance to bars, restaurants and museums and forts around the area of Old Town Santo Domingo. The staff was great and helpful at all times. I recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york!

I love this hotel. Especially the daytime manager.

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Very professional! It's always clean. Breakfast is yummy and staff is great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from atlanta,ga

wonderful staff

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: the location was ideal to restaurants and shops.
Cons: wifi in the rooms was a spotty.
Location: great restaurants and museums.
me and some friends were looking for a safe and inexpensive place to stay in santo domingo. the hotel staff is friendly and professional. they are currently doing construction on the street in front of the hotel. my only feedback would be for better wifi in the rooms, we had a little trouble staying connected.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami Beach

Good for Exploring Historic Santo Domingo

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: The staff are helpful and friendly. The complimentary breakfast was good.
Cons: The hotel needs some renovation although it is perfectly functional as it is.
Location: Very convenient for exploring the historic part of the city and there are lots of local bars and restaurants to visit.
This hotel is ideally located in the Zona Colonial and great for exploring the more historic parts of Santo Domingo. There are plenty of local restaurants. The rooms are adequate although not very large, same with the bathrooms. The complimentary breakfast was plentiful although the seating capacity of the restaurant is very limited. The staff are helpful and friendly and the complimentary wifi was OK. I have no real complaints about the property as it served my purpose of a one night stay, however some renovation would make it more appealing. The road outside the property is currently being reconstructed by the local authorities so there is no access to the hotel car park, however the hotel have made arrangements to reserve some parking in the street behind the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Ms. Jeovany was very friendly and professional

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: The breakfast was fantastic and the hostess provided excellent service
Cons: The deluxe room was very small and so was the shower. There was major street construction taking place outside my window so I did not get much sleep
Location: Hotel location was perfect and close to all of the colonial area sites
Ms. Jeovany was very friendly and professional. The staff was very attentive to my needs and took care of all of my requirements prior to my arrival.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from FL

Good hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Had a pleasant experience at the Hodelpa Hotel. It is close to the Cathedral, the Nuestra Señora de Altagracia Church, the Colón plaza, as well as several gift shops and decent restaurants in the area. Friendly staff and clean rooms. Get a room opposite the front entrance if you want some quiet at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice hotel in the heart of colonial Santo-Domingo.

Posted Jul 4, 2014
The hotel is conveniently located about 30 minutes from the airport by car. It has all the amenities that one should expect. It is in a quiet area. It is a completely modernized small building which contrasts sharply with the neighborhood's old houses. The elevator is small; it can only accommodate 4 adults without luggages. I did interact with a very courteous staff. The food was great if you decide to try room service. I had convenient complimentary breakfast. Free Internet and free parking were included (limited parking space). The surrounding is definitely old and many historical buildings, such as the oldest catholic cathedral in the Americas: Cathedral of Santa Maria la Menor, are just a few feet away. It is located very close to a busy strip of shops selling authentic cultural artistic Dominican products. Driving in the vicinity was very difficult as a lot of streets were closed or severely restricted to motor vehicle traffic because many renovation and "repavement" works were being performed when I visited in the beginning of July 2014. I didn't venture much at night because some of the side streets were not well lit. In general, it's definitely a fine hotel in the heart of Old Santo Domingo. I would stay there again and would recommend friends and family members to do the same.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great hotel, great location

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Location: Right in the middle of Zona Colonial close enough to walk to all attractions and pubs and restauarants
Excellent experience. Right in the middle of Zona Colonila, close to all attractions. Super helpful staff, clean roome, a/c, HOT showers, excellent internet and FANTASTIC breakfast. We will be here next trip for sure. Best we've had in Santo Domingo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel over all

Posted Jun 3, 2014
The hotel is modest but nice ,great location the staff is vey friendly good over all.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carlos from New York, NY

Not bad for the price

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Not bad for the price. Breakfast is the same every day, but the restaurant is very good and affordable. The hotel is close to El Conde and other main attractions of the Colonial City.