Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chester

Lovely hotel but the room let it down!

Posted Aug 23, 2014
The hotel, location, staff, facilities and food was excellent but it was let down by the room I was allocated! It was a disabled room and was in need of refurb. However, I can't complain too much as I appreciate you get what you pay for and it was a bargain rate on Expedia. The food was delicious and I was allowed full use of the facilities, so value for money was great........just wish I could have had a room like they advertise on the website, which looked amazing.
2 out of 5
by Jackie from Carmel USA

A disappointing experience

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: I like the pleasant staff, and the ambience of the old mansion rooms, including access to a piano.
Cons: Smoking needs to serious reconsidered onsite. Cigaratte butts litter the grounds. The room I saw needed to be updated.
Location: The hotel was difficult to find and on asking about the nearby golf club found only one person had any idea that a golf club might be in the vicinity.
Upon arrival the reception seemed to have difficulty understanding that I had a booking and spent some time finding a room for me. That room was unacceptable, with stains on the carpet, black mould on the tiles in the bathroom and the distinct smell of cigarette smoke leaching into the room from the corridor. I was happy to accept a room that didn't suffer from any of these problems and had a pleasant aspect to the delightful lawns and gardens. Staff are extremely well trained and pleasant. However, it seemed impossible to get a decent coffee for breakfast and only the continental breakfast was inclusive. This hotel has a nice swimming pool and spa facilities for an extra fee. Overall I was indeed disappointed, and both rooms only average and on par with three star experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by becky

Lovely setting but a little shabby around the edge

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Overall this is a lovely, luxurious spa hotel set in beautiful grounds and the potential to be perfect but there are a couple of areas where Champneys let's itself down slightly. Namely, some of the furnishings are a little bit scruffy, the decor in the corridor to our room was a bit worn out, the dining rooms decor seemed a bit dated in comparison to the rest of the resort, the spa changing rooms were also in disrepair - these were clearly being refurbished however they still tainted the luxury experience. The information in the rooms needs updating, as we excitedly read about a snooker table but asked at reception and found it had been replaced by conference facilities. I thought the hairdressers and nail salon looked cheap and could do with a classy make over and some relaxing spa music instead of pop music. I also resented being charged for everything, for example at dinner you are offered water only to find it added to the bill at £3 odd, and at breakfast it costs £1.50 to have a boiled egg. For the price paid by guests I'm sure a little more extras could be complimentary. However, all that being said it really was such a lovely place, I couldn't fault our room, the food was delicious and £20 for 3 courses at dinner was very reasonable indeed. Despite criticisms would still come back because it is a beautiful resort with lots to offer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Dan from Wilmslow

Expensive spa not really hotel

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
last minute booking at 8pm Had to stay here as the whole area around London was coming up fully booked on Hotels.com Expensive £199 for a bed for the night. Didn't use restaurant as it closes at 8.30pm !!!! No bar !!! Didn't get chance to use facilities as they wanted another £55 to use gym etc in the morning . Breakfast was very healthy, the most expensive boiled egg ever come across £3.60 or was it £5.60! I wish I had worn my luxurious bath robe to breakfast . Not really what I was after, but in saying that everything was luxury , relaxing , first class. I would send my wife and friends here for a spa break . Sumptuous bathrobes , complimentary flip flops , spa treatments, professional service . the very competent E European staff must be clicking their heals everyday working at a place like this , what a find .. Would I stay again ??? Only if you were paying
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Nobelpete from Somerset

Lovely Setting

Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great setting, welcoming staff, very relaxing. Only downside would be the fixed evening menu which wasn't to my taste (but actually quite enjoyed!).
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Ema Shah

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Gonzo from Manchester

Lovely Hotel

Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
From the moment we entered the gates the experience started, beautiful ground and landscape. The receptionist very helpful and escorted us to our rooms. The rooms had all the amenities we required. The robe and footwear to use for the in house amenities was an added bonus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

beautiful location

Posted May 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
we were highly pleased. even though there was a problem with our internet booking the staff were exceptionally helpful and patient. well done
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Lexa from Sunderland

Over priced

Posted Mar 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beautiful hotel and location but the price for food, drink etc was stupid
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 22, 2012 on Hotels.com