Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The location is good for us to Visit friends

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Cons: Improve Staff accountabiliy
During the whole stay they could not get the room Telephone to work which was a major inconvenience for us, and all the staff could do was make excuses. On another day on returning we found the room had not been made up ,again excuses!!!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Family of five from Scotland

Helpful staff

Posted Apr 7, 2014
We made the booking last minute enroute home to Scotland. We are a family with three children aged 9, 11 and 13. The rooms were adequate for our stay- we would book larger rooms for a longer break. The staff were excellent. From enquiries via phone to reception prior to arrival, reception staff on arrival, pool staff and also in the restaurant for breakfast. I am coeliac (gluten free) and the waitress and chef were most helpful. Many thanks for a lovely stay albeit for only one night. We will return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mark from Lincoln

Could not find any significant fault!

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: Good staff, good rooms with high quality TV and a gym
Having read other reviews about this hotel I booked with some trepidation. My fears were however completely unfounded. The room was of a good standard, Check in time took about three minutes, the staff were courteous and attentive and we were offered a room of our choice on the ground or first floor. It comes with its very own swimming pool (quite small admittedly) and a small gym with weights and rowing machines etc. If you want Four Star luxury and Westminster Shag Pile Carpets then this may not be the type of place you want but as a stop over close to the heart of Leeds it is excellent
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by k from london

Good

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: Rooms are decent size, free wifi was a bonus!!!
Cons: No comments
Decent hotel ,good value for money. No more comments
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice

Posted Feb 15, 2014
We got married here so went back to stay again stopped in exécutive suite had à great time will do it next year
2 out of 5
by Georgina from Derby

Nice lobby but the rest disappointing

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Pros: That it came with use of the pool and steam room even though these were disappointing.
Cons: Rooms need updating and need to be as described - an advertised double should be a double, not a 3/4 sofa bed.
Location: There is a very nice pub just across the road that do fantastic food that we ate at in the evening. Apart from that there is nothing else to do.
We booked our hotel for a night out in Leeds city centre, but this hotel is too far to make that journey unless you take the bus. The taxi from the train station to the hotel was £16 (Amber Cars later quoted us £12.50) and that's expensive when you have to take four trips. The hotel lobby was as it looked on the website but that is where the hotel budget ends - the facilities and decor of the rooms were shabby and the hotel was cold. The 'leisure club' was dirty and disappointing and the room was basic and very fusty. There was no overhead light in the room just two lamps, one bedside and one on the desk. We booked for a 'family' room and the room did not even have a double bed, but a 3/4 that was a sofa converted. The shower was covered in limescale with a dirty plastic mat in the bath.
2 out of 5
by Steve from Poole

Gas gas gas. Waiting half an hour for a cold pud.

Posted Jan 23, 2014
Pros: It was only a 2 minutes drive to my meeting.
Cons: Heating, slow service and price
Location: My meeting the following day.
First impression, why is the car park full of British Gas work vans? Second thought was, is this the reason you have to wait so long for a British Gas technician to arrive late! On entering the room I find an apology, for the heating not working and an electric heater waiting to be pluged in, to heat the room. How ironic that a hotel full of British Gas fitters has a problem with the heating, and are unable to rectify it. Service was slow, I waited half an hour for a cold pudding, gave up in the end asked for the bill. When the bill arrived so did the cold pudding "this one is on the house" I was told. A pitty it didn't arrive sooner, it would of tasted so much sweeter.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mouldy

Posted Jan 6, 2014
The room was alright but dated. The TV was prehistoric and didn't work properly. There was mould on the net curtains. Otherwise it was fine. I would probably not stay here again as there are similarly priced hotels in the vicinity that probably don't have mould.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Cougar from Dorset

200 metre walk to get to room!

Posted Jan 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
This must be a record - long corridors with one flight of steps followed by three separate small flights of steps followed by a full double flight of steps and two more long corridors to get to our room; paced out on walking back to the reception desk at just over 200 metres! Room tired, not clean, dusty tops and surfaces everywhere, and bathroom needing a proper clean and refurbish, although room was reasonably comfortable. Disappointing for a Holiday Inn. Very limited choice in restaurant for evening meals, and the pizzas were the worst ever experienced although room service was prompt, and staff polite and helpful but sadly this did not make up for all the negatives by a long way so we will not be staying here again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by kimmyg from Bedfordshire

Tiny room and very dated bathroom

Posted Dec 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
Lobby area of hotel quite nice and welcoming but then quite a long trek to the room. Room was supposedly a family room (double and single bed) but was so small it was really quite depressing. Lighting inadequate in room, not helped by desk lamp not working. TV channels inadequate and less than what you get with a freeview box and no kids channel. Bathroom door had chipped paintwork, mouldy rails on the airer and black grouting around the shower/bath. Breakfast was standard hotel fayre - a range of continental and cooked items and was included in our room rate and free for kids. Member of staff at the pool/gym very friendly - we used the pool but it was on the cool side and a bit murky. It looked like it could do with a good clean out. Parking plentiful but overflow parking not well-signed.