Ratings based on 105 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice staff - hotel needs revamp

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: Good staff
Cons: Rooms need to be brought up to an acceptable standard - particularly the bathrooms and sound proofing of rooms
We found the staff very pleasant and helpful however the hotel was disappointing. The 1st room we had was ok except for the bathroom which was plagued with mold, however the noise from the room next door caused us to move rooms and the bathroom in the 2nd room was tired but clean. However we were unable to stay over for the 2nd night we booked as there was a wedding on in the hotel and the place was too noisy. On a plus side the breakfast was nice
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OVERNIGHT STAY

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: CONVENIENCE
Cons: BATHROOMS UPDATING AS PRIORITY
as nice as the hotels is the bathroom leaves a lot to be desired with chips on bath mould around bath this is the second time we have stopped at this hotel in the last 3 months both bathrooms were the same, BATHROOMS NEED UPDATING.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Canada

Good location with a selection of amenities

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: Location, room, pool, steam room and lounge facilities.
Cons: Renovations underway should resolve the minor issues that we encountered.
Location: Easy access to Motorways and close to Leeds and York. There are many tourist opportunities in the area and we enjoyed York for its history and museums
We enjoyed our stay at the hotel and our room was comfortable and quiet. We used the lounge area for supper and the pool and steam room for relaxation. The staff were friendly and helpful even going beyond what we expected. A couple of things to note are that the hotel has just embarked on a major retrofit and some parts of it will undoubtedly be disrupted as a result. In one section, water in the rooms was not available between 9:00 am and 5:00 pm. so worth checking on the status of these improvements. The other thing we found was that Wifi was inconsistent in our room which was a bit frustrating. This is also being upgraded to fibre optic during the retrofit so that should resolve the problem.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Clean but tired reasonably sized rooms.

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: Good selection of breakfast . Gym and swimming pool available for guests. Ample parking facilities.
Cons: Steps are underway to improve this hotel and hopefully it will reflect in the staffs morale.
Location: Idealy placed for Leeds and it's environs.
Check in was very simple staff helpful but the higgledy piggledy room numbering layout made it awkward to find your room, not only for us as we met others trying to find theirs too. The Hotel is undergoing room refurbishment at present so hopefully will pick up soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bloxham England

Good Comfortable Hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: It was comfortable and informal.
Cons: There were one or two minor issues requiring attention e.g, !) grouting around the bath missing; 2) I was unable to increase the room temperature etc.
Location: Well positioned for Leeds (shopping), Weatherby (National Hunt Racing), York (Minster) and Wakefield (National Coal Museum)
I stayed three nights in the Hotel and it more than lived up to my expectations. I would certainly go back again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Handy hotel for short stay

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Good hotel poor information on facilities On TV screen nice welcome but information sketchy ie no mention iof leisure facilities do you take towel from room fir example are towels available slightly picky but that is the information you need. Room menu nothing on restaurant to sell it . No mention bar is there any desks happy hour ore drink before dine extra Poor information on local area no info on assistance local services, Not a bad hotel though good value and peasant staff .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eastbourne

good and improved restaurant meals

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: position for my needs
staff courteous and willing to assist have stayed several times at this hotel, and always meets my needs
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from suffolk

Easy access to major routes

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Location, ability to change room temperature easily, food.
Cons: The corridor leading to our room smelt very strongly of cigarette smoke, but thankfully the room didn't.
Stayed here en route to Scotland. Clean, modern rooms with excellent climate control (it was a hot night). Good meal in the bar. Left too early for breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

No mobile reception, patchy wifi

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Close to clients
Cons: Mobile signal and wifi
Location: Off the A1
Have stayed at the Garforth a few times and mentioned the lack of mobile signal and the patchy wifi (I use the hotel for business trips) - nothing has been done. My observations are requested at checkout and met with indifferent apologies. Nothing seems to be being done about moving the hotel into the 21st century with proper business facilities
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Budget all the way

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Good food and plenty of choice
Cons: decor upgrade staff lessons in friendliness
Location: ok for a stopover
Reception staff very unwelcoming on arrival, dispute over accomodation booked, were the staff member was as agood as calling me a liar. Pool area in need of a clean up as is hotel very tired looking. Restaurant food very good and well priced, however staff rush you and are trying to take plates away when still not finished. Main meal were brought to table when we were still eating our starters.