Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria, Australia

Out of town, high above Positano village.

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Pasquale & his brother are wonderful hosts. Very welcoming, charming & always polite. Breakfast delicious. A challenge to get to Colle dell'Ara but views of Amalfi Coast absolutely superb. You need to be relatively fit to stay here because you have to walk in to the B&B from the road. Some parts of the track are steep and narrow. Our room was spotless & it was serviced every day. Clean linen & towels on day 3. This was really appreciated. Pasquale assisted with booking restaurants & taxi. Nothing was too much trouble. Thank you for your warm hospitality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Inverness, Scotland

Absolutely Superb - wish we could've stayed longer

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: What was there not to like! A beautiful location, good food, friendly hosts in an extremely stunning and tranquil setting.
Cons: A lift would be nice but totally impractical! We don't think anything needs to be changed.
Location: There is a bus every hour taking you into Positano and back, an amazing ride. From Positano pier you can get boat trips to Capri, Amalfi. Beautiful!
Finding the Hotel wasn't easy on a very twisty and narrow cliff hugging road. Your car is parked on the road tight against the cliff and your luggage, thankfully, goes up the cliff in a hoist. The only downside is there is a fairly steep climb up the 120 odd steps to the hotel. However once we'd arrived it was well worth the effort. Our room was on the upper terrace with a communal balcony overlooking the Amalfi Coast - a view to die for. (Directly outside of the room the balcony was sectioned off to give you some privacy). The hotel is run by the family who are incredibly welcoming and can't do enough for you. We arrived about 1930 and were told they served dinner every second night and we could join them if we wanted to. The menu was a set menu, no meat, about 7 courses with most of the produce coming from the terraces around the hotel. There were 8 other guests and we all sat together round the one table - what a brilliant night we had and what a way to learn about the area. The family recommended a restaurant for the second night. A car was sent to pick us up and brought us back afterwards - the meal was fantastic. Next night another "shared" meal with 14 round the table - we provided a bottle of malt just to round off another perfect night. Breakfast on the lower terrace overlooking the coast was quite stunning. A "must visit" for anyone visiting the Amalfi Coast. This is one place we would definitely recommend to everyone and hope for a return visit. Thanks
5 out of 5
by TuckL from Sydney

fantastic location and view.

Posted May 22, 2014 on Hotels
Excellent! The view from our room was breathtaking. Food was great and dedicated staff. We loved this place.
5 out of 5
by ak from USA

Worth the walk!!

Posted May 31, 2013 on Hotels
Colle dell'Ara was absolutely excellent and well worth the local bus ride just past Montepertuso. The very kind and personable hosts took care of everything upon arrival, and even gave me a tour of their property - they were always ready and available to assist with ferry bookings, sight seeing, hiking, etc. Breakfast was extensive and very good, while the dinner was prepared by hand from local ingredients from their very own garden. My room was very clean and had a private balcony with amazing views of the city of Positano - I couldn't have asked for anything more. I met some of the most interesting and wonderful people from all over the world. Highly, highly recommended for anyone wanting to stay just outside of Positano - just perfect. My only complaint was that the rooms are aligned along a tile corridor which effectively amplifies even the tiniest sound!! If you are in need of privacy, I would advise you to request the private, detached quarters. :D
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 25, 2013 on Hotels
The stay was great. It's a great little find in a neighborhood that is just above Positano that has a wonderful authentic feel. You must know that there is a bit of a walk to get to the house from the street, but the views and the accommodation are worth it. The staff are wonderful. You won't have a bad experience, we'd stay there again.
4 out of 5
by pk

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 3, 2012 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Off the beaten track but view is amazing

Posted Oct 11, 2012 on Hotels
Way uphill out of Positano and beyond Montepertuso. Car parking available off road but climb up the numerous steps from there isn't for the faint hearted. A mix of concerete and rock steps to climb very high to the plateau where the house is found. Room clean and tidy on arrival but no cleaning or fresh towels during our three day stay. Bathroom very dated and shower curtain grotty! No aircon, which might be a problem in Summer. Mosi screen on patio door is great. Breakfast and evening meals all excellent. Run by 2 Brothers - really helpful. Bus runs from the road nearby down to Positano.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A piece of heaven!

Posted May 18, 2012 on Hotels
This was the perfect place for us. It is way up on the hill and you do have to walk a bit to get to the hotel but the views, the people and the food all make it very worthwhile. Pasquale, Giacomo, Marco and their parents could not be more welcoming or helpful. There is a lift for your luggage and lights for the path at night. The family cooked for us one night and it was lovely. La Tagliata, a great dining experience, is just a short walk down the hill. There are paths and steps so you can walk down to the beach but we chose the bus for the return trip! Of all the places we stayed on our trip, I think this was our favorite. My son did some hiking in the area and would love to go back for more. This might be a difficult place for you if you are dealing with any mobility issues but if not, you will love your time on the hill.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 25, 2013 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brasil

Longe de tudo, difícil locomoção

Posted Aug 12, 2013 on Hotels
Em agosto com muito calor num quarto sem ar condicionado, escadaria para se chegar no hotel, ônibus cheio que passa a cada uma hora para levar a praia e à parte movimentada de Positano, dura meia hora de viagem. Pessoas simpáticas e prestativas no hotel porém o local não ajuda. É longe de tudo e locomoção complicada. Toalhas não são trocadas, cama mal arrumada, limpeza precária. Tem um bom restaurante próximo.