Ratings based on 3,066 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
48% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

Worst Hotel Nightmare Ever!!

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: Pet friendly?
Cons: All the rooms not remodeled!
Location: Location is good, hotel was terrible! Bad recommendation from Expedia.com!
You see those hotels offering room's for $39.99 and think to yourself, "I would never stay there!" Well, this is one of those places. I did my booking online through Expedia.com and they made it sound like it was this great deal and grand hotel (1145am). Two rooms for under a $100? Should have been my first flag. There was the pictures of the newly remodeled area and it did look nice but to stay in that area was at least $20 more a night. I say, "at least" because while waiting to check in, I heard the two hostess say two different rates to two different people. Once checked in, finding that our rooms were in the old part of the hotel. The rest went downhill from there. The website states a smoke free hotel, this it was not. The hotel itself had a very foul smell. The beds were at least, at least, twenty years old! So it turns out, our other guest decided to not go, so we only needed one room. We had just checked in (330 pm, same day). So maybe I can get the refund for the second room? "No, you made the reservation with Expedia and we cannot refund the room without at least a 24 hour notice! I tried to state my claim, that we just reserved the room hours ago today! Turns out the second room came in handy as the beds were so terrible our guest switched to the second room to get some sleep. Overall, worst hotel experience I have ever had! Thank you Expedia.com!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas TX

Could have been better

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: I loved the open atrium.
Cons: It needed someone who cared about their job to do the painting and remodel.
Location: The Big Texan !!!! gotta go there.
Emily does an amazing job and hosted our group with professionalism and care. The hotel just had a major upgrade and being in the profession I was disappointed that the upgrades were not done well. i.e. broken bathroom door, rusted AC, pain smears on tile and cracked tile. I also noticed that the doors were not updated but just painted (and poorly at that) I am surprised this wasn't done well. It is an amazing space that could be a gem in Amarillo.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA, CA

Potential to be amazing.

Posted Apr 24, 2017
We stayed one night on our way to Kentucky and one night on our way back. We had difficulty finding the hotel at 11 o'clock at night because of a lack of signage but we realized that the hotel is currently in transition. The room the first night was not as nice as the return stay. We only stayed to sleep for a few hours before continuing our trip. You can tell by the design of this older hotel that it was top of the game in it's heyday and could be that again. It kind of had a Vegas feel to it. The updates to the hotel are only mediocre, but it was clean and comfortable. The bathrooms definitely need to be completely remodeled. The sink in our bathroom had a huge crack running from the top to the bottom. There was no stopper in the sink. The ambiance of having an indoor pool and indoor courtyard were very nice. There was only one front desk clerk and she was clearly overwhelmed; however, she remained professional and handled everything that came at her, while I waited to check in, like a pro. I would recommend investing some more money, bring the hotel up to modern standards and raise the room rate.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs

Hotel was old and dirty

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Remodel.
Location: Location was fine, restaurants, convenience stores etc were nearby.
Hotel was old and dirty. We were told that we got an "older" room because we had a pet, but they would put us in a newer room but pet was not allowed. What are we supposed to do, leave the dog outside??
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from texas

A place to stay

Posted Apr 22, 2017
When I walked in all the drawers and cabinets were open including the fridge door and the cushion on the seat was flipped made me think that it might have been haunted hahahha.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Amarillo tx

Bad hotel.

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Bed was like sleeping on doorknobs. We would be better off sleeping on floor. TV didn't work right. Bathtub leaked water on floor. A/C didn't cool room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2017
39$ don't expect much, breakfast was ok, rooms are very used.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Apr 16, 2017
We got a warm welcome, the room was clean and everything was OK
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hooker hotel??

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: The bathroom soap smelled good.
Cons: Everything.
I am usually not one to complain but.....it was scary! Our room looked like it has been used earlier in the day by a hooker. The beds were unmade. The sheets were not clean/new. It was obvious they had been slept in. The HVAC window unit was partially melted and the curtains didn't fit the window (too long) so they draped over the heating/air unit which probably is the reason for the melting. No fridge or microwave. The TV was super old. We didn't bother turning it on because it was so late. The room had a door from the inside hall AND the outside parking. It was our fear all night that the hooker would return. Scary!! Found lots of beer cans next to our car in the morning. The bathroom was gross. It stunk. The shower tiles were missing, falling off, or barely hanging on. There was a little squeeze packet of shampoo big enough to clean a mouse. The electrical outlet was by the door so it made it hard to use any appliances (which they did not provide) in front of the mirror. The towels were extremely small and not soft at all. Skip the breakfast!!!! Yuk....yuk......yuk
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from az

Nightmare

Posted Apr 5, 2017
I would even take my clothes off. Didn't want to under the covers. When you turned on the tub faucet water came out the hot and cold water knobs along with out the spout. The sink was backed up...no brushing your teeth.