Ratings based on 2,795 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2017
The staff are friendly and helpful! The hotel is easy access to the centre.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tallahassee, Fl

Okay place to sleep

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pretty good hike to the tram stop. Hotel is under major renovation. They start hammering and electronic tools running from early morning all day. Meals are pretty expensive and small menu, but there is no place nearby to eat. Breakfast was good, but have to walk down stairs which is hard for handicap people and is $10 euro per person each day. No ice, no refrigerator. Would not recommend this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dundee

Hotel bad points

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Air conditioning in the rooms
Location: Location ok as trams and buses fantastic
Hotel under refurbishment we were not told about. Room oppressively hot - maid kept opening curtains and letting sun directly into room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Cheap for a reason

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: I didnt really like anything about this hotel they had staff working through the night there you go that's one thing. and you could order pizza at 4am
Cons: This hotel needs some serious renovation and decoration. Looks and is a building site.
Location: It's near enough trams to get to city centre which is about 20 mins if you do take the tram. 15 minutes in a taxi to the airport.
This hotel is really bad. Inside decor is awful looks like a building site. No attempt of any signs to improve its appearance. Staff were ok. Reasonable enough. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Just is in such a poor shoddy state. Rooms were cleaned every day but I mean there's no windows in the bathroom and there are no decent views or anything. Just literally book this place if you want a bed for a night and a roof over your head.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds, UK

2nd stay here

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Good location - local shops and links to centrum. Polite and helpful staff The only con would be cleanliness - could smell the drains from out the bathroom but I don't think that's necessarily staffs fault however they could make the room and bathroom smell more pleasant. I didn't have this problem last time so it may have just been my luck. Great place to stay I will be back!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Horrible hotel in the slums

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pros: Nothing everything was HORRIBLE!!!!!!!!!!!!
Cons: This entire hotel should be downgraded to a one star hotel! Honestly I shouldn't even be advertised!!
Location: The location was horrible. It is in the slums next to an abandoned hotel that is occupied by hobos
This was the worst hotel experience I have ever had! The hotel advertised looks like it would be nice clean hotel, i read reviews and everyone seemed okay with it so i decided to book here for my mini trip to amsterdam. Worst decision ever!!! I paid a rough estimate of about $650 for a four nights stay at the west side inn. I arrived to the hotel at 1:00 am due to a late flight and having to wait 2 hours for a taxi because all other transportation was closed for some reason. Well when we arrived to the hotel i was horrified, it was not what i expected at all!! The taxi took us down this sketchy road and was like here is your hotel. It was dirty and had construction everywhere. Trying to give the hotel the benefit of the doubt we go in to check in and there is no one at the front desk! It took about 20 min before someone came to check us in. Once we got our card we were directed to our room. As we walked to our room i felt as if we should have been required to wear hard has because of all the torn up ceilings and walls in the hotel. It looked as if a wrecking ball had torn up the hallways. Once we got to our room located down an isolated hallway we were even more horrified. Our room was disgusting! There were stains all over the floor and furniture, the bathrroom was outdated and looked like mold was growing in the grout work of the shower, and our door in the room looked like someone had kicked it in. It was NOTHING like what was advertised. Also it is "nonrefundable"
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

A lot of building work going on & no aircon

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: Area's that were not under construction were really nice.
Cons: Working Air conditioning please
Location: Great public transport links into the centre and local walks are lovely.
First impressions last....major building work going on at this hotel upon arrival. Scaffolding everywhere. Check in was good & room was comfortable except there was no air conditioning and the windows are non opening. Very hot & stuffy. A portable fan was in the room, which we really needed but there wasn't any air in the room. Location was good for non central hotel, brought tram passes & got around no problem. Not too far from airport either & the staff were helpful with advise which was very much appreciated. Thanks.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami Florida

Maybe after the renovations...

Posted Jun 7, 2017
CONS: They are the mid renovations...never saw this info mentioned on the site when I made my reservations. Pay attention to the no air con. It was very hot in the room If the day was hot. Currently....you can hear the airplanes, people walking to there rooms very heavily. I think the floors are wooden. You have to walk through the outside elements if your room is connected to the side portion of the building renovations. Even getting wet some. You hear the mat they tried to put up for construction blowing in the wind like a train wreck or hurricane!!! (I'm from Florida so I know) No chance of sleeping in cause they start construction before 8am and you hear every of it. Carpet is very stained and old. PROS: Great food in the resturant! Beers as well and they all have great attitudes. The staff fixed a shower problem I had. Even though about 15-20 minutes to city central, Tram 2 is only a 3 minute walk away. Bathroom is like new. Bed was comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newfoundland

Nice hotel not far from the centre of town

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Pros: Staff were friendly
We enjoyed our stay at the West Side Inn. They were doing construction while we were there but we wake early to explore the city so it did not bother us. They have bikes you can rent for a couple hour or a day or more. The bikes were amazing fun! We also ate supper at the hotel which was delicious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jun 6, 2017
The hotel was being done up at the time which was a let down. The double room I was in obviously hadn't been done up as it was nothing like the photos. Apart from that it meet my needs and is very close to shops and tram stop