Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, but church bells ring loudly and often

Posted Sep 7, 2017 on Hotels
As others have said, the church bells are loud and ring often--every 15 minutes, in fact. I even counted about 130 rings at 6:30 a.m. While this is no fault of the hotel, if you are a light sleeper you may want to choose a hotel farther from the church.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017
Yes thats true. We are in the middle of the city centre with a church. But the hotel has also rooms facing the backside. Just ask at reception. Hotel Hecht
5 out of 5
by Cathy

Quiet hotel conveniently located, Great breakfast

Posted Sep 2, 2017 on Hotels
Location of this hotel to the Bernina Express/Glacier Express train station is super convenient. Hotel is located on edge of old town and rooms were clean and quiet, even though you face the streets in some rooms. Check-in/Check-out was convenient and breakfast that is included is one of the best we enjoyed on our 16 days in Switzerland
5 out of 5
by Samuel

Highly recommended

Posted Aug 5, 2017 on Hotels
All good. Great location. Comfortable. Terrific breakfast. Very convenient to the rail station—3 short blocks/5 minute walk max.
5 out of 5
by Benjamin

Great location & staff, but room hot

Posted Jun 2, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed here 3 nights and loved the room which had its own huge top level patio/balcony (room 460). Beds were comfortable with a very nice size new TV. Bathroom was large and updated and the breakfast had a daily good variety of items with fresh eggs to order available in the shell. Location very close to public parking which is a bit annoying to have to feed a meter each day from 8 am to 8 pm. The rooms do not have their own fridge but they do have a community mini bar where you can take cold drinks including beer for 4 CH on the honor system. Staff were extremely helpful and got us buckets of ice several times per day as they do not have an ice machine available directly to guests. The only real negative was that their really is no air conditioning, certainly the guest can change. As it was in the 80's during our stay, the room was hot and they do not have any fans in the room or available for use. I realize they probably don't need air conditioning often, but it would have made a big difference in the comfort for our trip. Overall loved the hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

BEst Place

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
Our stay was great ! The staff was great especially Sandra and Carry .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago area, IL

Lovely sray

Posted Sep 22, 2015
Pros: Location and room decor.
Location: Town is the attraction. Great walk along the river. Town of Stein, nearby, has cheese factory.
Beautiful room in central location. Wonderful breakfast. Would stay there again.
5 out of 5
by Mike from Washougal, Wa. USA

Appenzell

Posted Sep 4, 2015 on Hotels
Were only able to stay here for one night, next time we'll stay at least 3-5 nights.
5 out of 5
by T Keith from Dallas, Texas

Lovely hotel, super friendly staff

Posted Aug 3, 2015 on Hotels
The location is GREAT on the main road in Appenzell. The staff is super friendly and helpful in suggestion things to do. The breakfast was very good as well. The only to be aware of (which wasn't a negative for us) is the Church right across the street rings its bells until pretty late and again at 6:30 am. They are awesome bells, but very loud. That being said, my wife is a light sleeper and this didn't seem to bother her. It did wake me at 6:30 am however, but that's not a problem if your an early riser. Overall I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel. It's not the Ritz, but its super comfortable and quaint. I would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
by Mark from Lubbock, Texas

Wonderful stay

Posted Jun 5, 2015 on Hotels
This place was excellent. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The breakfast was so good. All of the different cheeses of Appenzell were there at breakfast. We were given a welcome beverage upon our arrival. The hotel is directly across from the old town church and on the main street. It was like a fairy tale. The rooms were spacious and immaculately clean and the shower in the bathroom was very state-of-the-art.
4 out of 5
by Susan P from San Diego

Splendid stay - incredible Appenzel!

Posted May 10, 2015 on Hotels
Splendid stay! I couldn't have asked for a nicer welcome, a cleaner nor more comfortable room for my first visit to my Grandmother's birthplace: Appenzel. Lovely people, and breakfast was lovely, too. The only thing that made me nervous, realizing my room opened directly onto the big Catholic church and it's chiming bell, was that it might go on all night long. Rest easy, they don't ring chimes after the 9 o'clock, or was that the quality of those double-pane windows? ; ) Highly recommended!