Ratings based on 1,874 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Nothing
This hotel is 1 star masquerading as 3. Their "breakfast" is pathetic, they don't even have a large enough dining area for even 1/4 of their guests. The staff is friendly except for their moron "maintenance supervisor." I've lived and worked around the world, this hotel is a terrible redneck hotel and you should spend your hard earned money anywhere else.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2017 by oswain, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. The incidents you described is unacceptable, and I sincerely apologize for your experience. We will be coaching and training our Staff to ensure this is an isolated incident. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us. O. Swain
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cary, NC

Nice hotel near downtown.

Posted Mar 26, 2017
The only complaint I have is that the mattress was awful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2017 by o.swain, Hotel Management
Dear Dan, I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I was thrilled to read you enjoyed your stay with us. I sincerely apologize the mattress did not meet your expectations. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us. O. Swain Area Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Mar 22, 2017
The bathroom had not been cleaned in The first room we received. The agent gave us a different room and was very nice. However the bed just was not comfortable
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2017 by o.swain, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I was thrilled to read the room was very nice. I was disheartened to read the bed and the cleanliness of the first bathroom didn't meet your expectations. I apologize for your experience. We will be coaching and training our Housekeeping Staff to ensure this is an isolated incident. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I appreciate you providing us with your feedback. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us. O.Swain Area Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to everything in Asheville

Posted Mar 22, 2017
We really liked everything about the hotel, except the beds are a little on the hard side. Other than that, it was a wonderful stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017 by o.swain, Hotel Management
Dear Joe, I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I was thrilled to read your stay was great. I sincerely apologize the beds didn't meet your expectations. We continually work to improve our hotel; I appreciate you providing us with your feedback. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us. O. Swain Area Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Definitely worth the stay

Posted Mar 21, 2017
This hotel was the best choice I could have made . The staff was very nice, the room was clean and spacious with 2 Queen beds and the fireplace in the lobby adds a bit of comfort when the nights are cold. The breakfast was the BEST I have ever had at a hotel. Eggs were hot and fluffy and the Belgium waffles were a treat with my daughter. Lots of bread choices, juices, cereal, sausages. There is an amusement center behind the hotel which features an outside track for go carts and inside has bowling, games and so much more. The Biltmore village and estate is right down the street and lots of good shopping and food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017 by o.swain, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I was thrilled to read you enjoyed your stay and the rooms were spacious and comfortable. We are ecstatic that you enjoyed not only the selection of breakfast options but the breakfast itself. We continually work to improve our hotel; I appreciate you providing us with your feedback. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us. O. Swain Area Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

lovely hotel in Ashville, NC

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Friendly staff, good breakfast, very clean rooms. Had a dark washcloth for removal of makeup. The sheets were beige instead of white. Close to the Biltmore. Also had covered parking for some of the vehicles.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by o.swain, Hotel Management
Dear Kay, I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I was thrilled to read the staff was friendly and the breakfast was good. Thank you for mentioning the room was very clean. We continually work to improve our hotel; I appreciate you providing us with your feedback. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us. O. Swain Area Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Very nice hotel.

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: Large, comfortable room with comfy beds. Quiet. Friendly staff.
Location: Handy to highway. Close to local attractions.
Comfortable room. Clean quiet. Plenty of amenities (coffee maker, fridge , microwave, indoor pool, etc.) Would definitely recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by o.swain, Hotel Management
Dear Patricia, I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I was thrilled to read your stay was great. We continually work to improve our hotel; I appreciate you providing us with your feedback. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us. O. Swain Area Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from h

So disappointed. Age&Racial profiling

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Because I'm in my young twenties, this hotels staff profiled me and made false accusations that resulted in 2 buncombe county officers to check things out. Obviously everything was fine but I have never felt so disrespected.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by o.swain, Hotel Management
Dear Holly, I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I wanted to thank you for bringing your concerns to us. I was disheartened to read of the unfortunate events that occurred. I sincerely apologize for the experience. We continually work to improve our hotel and in the process of renovating. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us. O. Swain Area Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: Front desk was friendly But they did make a mistake we could not get in our room the second night. the card would not work.
Cons: Breakfast needs to be improved. Never replenish the food. Only people there were at front desk. They had to come over and work.
Carpet needs replacing. Room was small for 1 queen bed. Outlets did not work in bathroom and beside microwave. Very noisy outside. Heat kept turning on and off. Had to run fan in order to drown out the noise outside. We have stayed here before and was pleased but we had a larger room with 2 beds.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by o.swain, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. The incidents you described about the staff asking you to move room and the level of noise due to construction is unacceptable. I sincerely apologize for your experience. We will be coaching and training our Staff to ensure this is an isolated incident. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I appreciate you providing us with your feedback. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us. O. Swain Area Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, Tn

Nascar Avenue

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: Blocking out noise from traffic by soundproofing rooms near the road and traffic light.
Location: convenient location
My wife and I went to Asheville, NC for a couple of days to celebrate our 44th anniversary. The Brookstone Lodge is in a convenient location. We were anticipating a pleasant stay, and everything was fine until bedtime. The lodge is located adjacent to an exit and entrance to I-40. There is a traffic light at this point as well. After lying down for a good night's rest, we turned on two sound conditioner machines we always use. However, with the traffic coming off the interstate and other traffic entering the interstate, it was like the cars and trucks were going through your driveway at home --- close by and LOUD. The loud mufflers, transfer trucks stopping and starting at the traffic light, loud bass radios blaring from some cars, made it impossible to sleep until about 1:30 am. Then it started back up about 4:30 am. The two sound conditioner machines didn't help at all. After sightseeing and lunch the next day, we checked out and went home. We didn't stay the second night. The lodge needs some soundproofing installed on the rooms located on the backside of the facility near the road and traffic light to make it tolerable. This is Room 201 and it was on the back of the lodge, nearest to the traffic light and road.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2017 by o.swain, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. The incidents you described about the noise you encountered while staying at our hotel is unacceptable. I sincerely apologize for your experience. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I appreciate you providing us with your feedback. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us. O. Swain Area Manager