Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Great relaxing hotel in wine country

Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Wotif
My girlfriend and I needed some alone time and Matakana appealed as a destination and Taxation lodge was perfect. The lodge is placed in a quiet area so for us it was perfect. Matakana isn't far and other tourist attractions are a short drive We were greeted on arrival and given some wine from the vineyard and some nibbles to relax. The staff throughout were friendly, helpful and unobtrusive. The facilities at the lodge are first class and very comfortable. The highlight of the trip was the superb cooked breakfast by the staff, it was delicious and overwhelming. All in all, a great place to visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney,Australia

Posted Jul 14, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: It was in a beautiful quiet location with beautiful views
Location: This was a stopover stay on our way to the Bay of Islands
We enjoyed the comfort , food and ambience of Takatu Lodge so much that we are back here for another night before our return to Auckland
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Point Lonsdale VIC Australia

Gorgeous Lodge with spectacular views

Posted Nov 17, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Jo was a wonderful host, a fabulous cook and very passionate about Takatu Lodge. Plus the spectacular views all made for a wonderful stay.
Cons: Really nothing.
Location: We were only staying overnight so did not have a lot of time to discover the location. The local town Matakana is very pretty and well worth a visit.
We had 1 night at Takatu Lodge and wished it was longer. Jo met us when we arrived and showed us around. She very quickly organised a dinner reservation and then made up a beautiful cheese platter for us to enjoy the sun setting over a glass of wine. The views were spectacular looking over the bay to one side and the grape vines to the other. The room was beautifully appointed and very comfortable, also with gorgeous views. We sat out on the veranda in the morning sun reading our books. Jo made us a delicious breakfast. As we were all foodies we enjoyed talking about fresh produce and recipes and generally eating! And this was topped off by going to the local Farmers Market. Thoroughly recommend a stay at Takatu Lodge.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Romantic Getaway

Posted Jan 13, 2015 on Hotels
Fantastic View!
5 out of 5
by michelle from Balmain

Generous Host in Relaxing Location

Posted Dec 23, 2014 on Hotels
Comfortable room and generous host. The breakfast and complimentary inclusions were delicious and the room clean, nicely furnished and well kept.
5 out of 5
by Kate from Australia - NSW - Sydney

Posted Jul 2, 2014 on Wotif
Pros: Too many bests to list. An overall enchanting w/e away
Cons: No dinner on site
Location: Outstanding
Facilities: Home away from home; Service: Go the extra mile; Cleanliness: Pristine; The walk between the farm properties to the town is a must do!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2014
Hello Kate, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Takatu and Matakana in general, particularly enjoying the service given at the lodge. We do offer a supper platter for those who prefer to eat in, suitable for 2 people and served in the privacy of their own suite. If choosing this option on your first night we need to know prior to arrival so we are prepared. Thank you.
5 out of 5
by Dave from New Zealand - Auckland

Posted Jun 28, 2014 on Wotif
Pros: Perfect lodge in the most beautiful peaceful location
Cons: It was only for 1 night
Location: Outstanding
Facilities: Top of the line; Value: Great deal; Service: Flawless; Cleanliness: Pristine; Perfect get away for a night and not too far to travel too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2014
Thank you Debbie for your positive review. It's always great to get feedback that we're on track, guests enjoying what we offer and sharing this with others. Again, thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Beau from Auckland, NZ

First B and B type experience

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: The architecture was cool. The whole place screamed relax and take a load off. The house was tidy and lots of little touches for us.
Cons: Not important but TV in bedrooms.
Location: Rural location in Matakana. Beautiful views. A few restaurants near by.
It was a great stay. Took my 35 week pregnant wife for just 1 last night away before baby gets here. The hosts were warm, genuinely wanting to make your stay awesome, and made sure we had everything we wanted. They could make things (wine tasting, breakfast) exactly on time, or they could call you if you taking to long :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Stunning reviews

Posted Apr 25, 2014
Pros: The breakfasts were great! Homemade and delicious. The owners were so friendly and generous with their time. The rooms were to a very high standard
Cons: Nothing
Location: Matakana is a beautiful little town, scenery as you drive is beautiful and the little beaches you can find are quiet, clean and relaxing
Wonderful location with stunning views from the guest rooms across the valley and to the sea. Rooms were beautifully designed, with lots of magazines, plush cushions, soft fluffy towels, and very nice wine from the vineyard
5 out of 5
by Katalina from Auckland

A little piece of paradise

Posted Jan 22, 2014 on Hotels
Heather and John have shared there dream with us. All was perfect: the warm welcoming, the room, the service, the excellent breakfast. Even the weather was fantastic and so we were sad to leave. We really enjoyed our stay, specially the open bath overlooking the wineyard and the ocean. Many thanks for making your place a little piece of paradise for us.