Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great budget hotel on main strip

Posted May 1, 2017
Very much enjoyed our stay at Venus Hotel. It was budget friendly and close to everything we needed. One of the best things this hotel has to offer is a man named Abraham. He works security at night and is taxi driver by day. He will help you organize any activity you like and he is just overall one of the nicest men I've ever met. Ask him anything...if he doesn't know the answer or can't personally help you, he will find someone that can. He took us to Xunantunich for half a day and gave us the local inside info. He then took other travelers we met into Belize City. His customer service is superb and definitely helps make your stay that much more enjoyable. Our room had A/C, large king bed, clean sheets, towels. A/C drowned out any outside noise so it was quiet as well. I would definitely recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Over night stay

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: Clean rooms,friendly & helpful staff, free parking and great little breakfast
Location: Right in the heart of town
I was in town with friends for the night. Since the hotel is in the middle of town, it is with in walking distance of several restaurants, visitor's' center and the market. Would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by Matt, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are glad you and your friends enjoyed your stay at Venus. It was a pleasure hosting you both. Best Regards.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Great location, priced right.

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: Location, hot shower, good air conditioning, nice towels.
Cons: Beds are terribly uncomfortable, bed linens are clean, but have seen better days, rooms are incredibly small.
Location: Maximus Tours is right beside hotel, and there is really no need to walk up and down the street looking for a better deal, since they have the best!
The Venus Hotel was a bit of a shock since it is so dated and looks a bit dodgy, but I would stay here again. It is located in the heart of town, and the price is excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by Matt, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review Jane. We will look into replacing the beds and linens. We appreciate you staying with us and it was a pleasure hosting you. Best Regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, clean and helpful staff

Posted Feb 17, 2017
We loved our stay in the Venus hotel in St Ignacio. It was clean and comfortable. If you stay here, I recommend chatting with the staff! They are very friendly and helpful and full of cool suggestions for activities to do that you may otherwise miss in St Ignacio. I would recommend!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by Matt, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review Mathieu. It was a pleasure meeting you and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Best Regards.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bc

Close to main activities

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Good experience. Hotel staff were great, helpful, courteous .
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by Matt, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. Best Regards.
5 out of 5
by Cole

Clean and conveinent Med priced Hotel.

Posted Jan 30, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is a fairly simple place. It has the essentials for a stay in San Ignacio. The rooms are of decent size with in room showers and toilets. The beds are clean and comfortable and were quite during my stay. The location in right near the restaurants, tour guide services and bank with an ATM. The rooms in the rear of the building look onto a pleasant park and the rooms in the front of the building overlook the action on Burns ave. A continental breakfast of fruit, toast and coffee are provided in the mornings. The best part of the hotel is the staff. We found them to be very friendly and helpful. This was my second stay and I would stay there again. This is a probably the best option if you want to be in town and are on a medium range budget. Also the bus stop is just across the square from the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 2, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure hosting you. We appreciate your choice of staying with us and we hope to see you soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Totally sufficient.

Posted Jan 13, 2017
We stayed for three nights. We were gone all day long so basically only slept there. But it was a good clean budget friendly place to stay. Right in the middle of town, we felt safe leaving our packs in the room when we went exploring. And was close to everything. Only thing was the shower water poured out everywhere due to poor design, but when I asked they provided plenty of towels to mop things up. Great deal for the price.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location for a cheap price

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Perfect location, right on the tourist street and next to the bus stop. Room was clean but always damp (no AC), so our wet clothes didn't dry out. To keep it fresh (not musty), we kept the window open, so I could hear the busses arriving early in the morning and people outside our room at all hours. Internet was not great in the lounge, and barely worked in our room at all. It was functional enough to do what we needed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 24, 2016 by Matt, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were not completely satisfied. Being that Belize is a tropical country with alot of humidity there is always alot of moisture especially when it is raining. All rooms have AC an option for guests to pay the extra fee. Unless the guest paid for the AC already. We have upgraded our internet and recently installed routers all over the building. Sometimes theres issues with the internet provider with their services.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 7, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Avon Colorado

A 2 Star hotel with a 5 Star Customer Service!!!

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Pros: Location, Staff
Cons: Double windows, soundproof
Location: Everything is outside the hotel. Bus stop in the back street, great restaurant next door and the BEST tour company Maya Adventures right next door.
Budget hotel located in the heart of San Ignacio. You cant beat the location. Tour agencies, restaurants and bus stops are just outside the hotel. My background is in hospitality industry and while this is a 2 star hotel I have to highlight their top Customer Service. We were in touch long before my trip. From them i learn what to pack, what to see and even arranged my transfer from the airport. They were constantly checking on us and making sure we were comfortable. After we left San Ignacio to Caye Caulker my 7 years old realized he has left his favorite stuffed animal between the sheets. I contacted the hotel and in few days the package with his toy arrived to our new location. Yes, I would not hesitate to recommend them to any traveler interested in exploring San Ignacio. Note: the hotel rooms can feel loud and if you are staying on the plaza side you are definitely hear the music if they have any event outside (never later than 9:30pm) . So if you are looking for peace and quite and enjoy more "hotel time" you better stay in the lodges outside town.