Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Probably the best location to be in Bangalore

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Pros: Staff, the ambience, cleanliness
I used to live in Bangalore 4 years ago and am amazed how the city has changed - for the better or worse.. I'd leave it to you to decide. But traffic is certainly out of control and if you want to stay someplace nice, that is conveniently located to the city, the railway/bus station and to the airport, it does not get better than the ITC Windsor. The hotel itself is beautifully maintained and the hotel staff are great. We had an early morning flight and would have missed our complimentary breakfast that morning. O enquiring with the staff about this, they were kind enough to have a packed breakfast ready for us at the reception to take to the airport early in the morning which I thought was great. Overall, a very enjoyable stay and would definitely stay here the next time I am in Bangalore. One word of caution would be to check the prices of food and the airport transport. They are quite pricey and would not suit everyone's palate.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Room not ready at promised time. Bathroom

Posted Jan 11, 2016
Pros: Location
We were not given the room at the promised time. Given a room went in to find that the room was not ready. Poor worm out bathroom fittings. Not value for money spent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Unprofessional

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: Location and ambiance
Cons: The professionalism that is lacking in the staff
Staff are very unprofessional; very disappointing that the star hotel that I used to know and admire when I was growing up has come to this.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location to access airport.

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Pros: Nice looking buildings in old English architecture.
Cons: Add shops and improve surface condition on carpeted areas in hallways (uneven surfaces that may you trip)
Location: No shops or restaurant nearby.
Some hiccups during my stay included a misunderstanding with security guards at the entrance of the hotel when they asked me to disembark from my taxi out on the street. Had problem with hot water which required some plumbing work. Hotel is not close to shopping district and hotels doesn't offer shops on the premises with exception of a small shop with little variety.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

my favorite hotel in Bangalore.

Posted Jan 26, 2015
2nd stay in as many trips over last 4 years. Hotel continues to please.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent heritage hotel, helpful staff

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Beautiful heritage hotel. Friendly and helpful staff. Will definitely go back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Beautiful building with helpful staff

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Pros: The bathrooms in the rooms were incredible and the breakfast buffet was out of this world. Fresh squeezed orange juice and a juice bar were highlights
Cons: Transportation options from the hotel are pricey. A one-way trip to the Taj West End, which is very close, was around $20. Outside cabs better.
We had heard great things about the ITC Windsor and, after staying at several 5 star hotels in India, found it to be a superior hotel. The inside and outside of the building are breathtaking, the rooms are spacious, clean, and well decorated, and the bathrooms have both a tub and shower separately. Both are marble. The staff recognized us after having stayed there for only a day or two and asked about what we did during the day. My girlfriend got sick and the staff voluntarily provided us with medicine and water to fight her cold. The grounds are a bit smaller than I would have expected, but they are very well done. The breakfast buffet is the best I have ever had and there is an assortment of great food available at the hotel restaurants for very un-hotel like prices.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MA

Poor Experience

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Maintain the facilities to the 5 star standard that they claim it to be. Inspect the room prior to guest checkin. Do not shift the burden to the guest
Barring uniformed staff with friendly smiles and their over anxiousness to be polite, the rest of the hotel was blasé.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tring

Good location to airport and customers in town

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Staff, as always made me feel as I was a VIP, they were on intrusive but always there to help and advise
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saratoga, CA

Period hotel that needs to emerge

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: The staff was simply excellent, and I would return just for that. The architecture and design is nice, and the location works!
Cons: Rooms are a tad small, and a little dated. The bathroom tub is tiny and cramped. The A/C temperature is fixed for all rooms, so no control there.
Location: The Golf Club is walking distance, and the center of town (MG Road) is easily reachable by autorickshaw.
The Windsor is an old hotel, with a lot of British Raj touches. While nice and all, it does seem to have frozen in time some, and would benefit from moving into the new era. Our stay was comfortable, the staff was excellent and catered to every detail (and more!). The food was decent too, and the atmosphere was nice, especially on the weekend, when a vintage car rally started from the hotel. The architecture was nice, we had a room that opened into a second-floor garden that was simply unbelievable! Very beautiful, and definitely recommended!