Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Would recommend

Posted May 26, 2017 on CheapTickets
Loved the location, breakfast was very good, would definitely recommend and stay here again myself
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida, USA

Fantastic hotel in medieval city

Posted Nov 4, 2016
Pros: Rooms, breakfast
Cons: Parking
This was absolutely great experience. But please, remember that you will need to have very lang walk with all your luggage from Hotel reception to your room. - aprox. 10-15 mins to hill through medieval city, but after this you will surprised by room and absolutely fantastic homemade breakfast.
5 out of 5
by Lisa and Dutch from Nederland

Unique Medival Experience

Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Hotels
what a great place, wish I had more time to explore this village. We just loved it.
5 out of 5
by Marit from Tallinn

Amazing stay in interesting hotel

Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is interesting. Rooms are located in the village not in one particular house. This place has its own personality.
5 out of 5
by Angela from London

Something very different

Posted Aug 10, 2016 on Hotels
The Albergo Diffuso is a delightful idea - from a central and accessible reception the staff whisk you to your room or apartment in the heart of this historic mountain village. Breakfast is provided in a lovely facility which is very convenient to our apartment. You get a real taste of living in this delightful town. The staff are so welcoming and helpful - you won't want to leave.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Picturesque stay in Apricale

Posted May 31, 2015 on Hotels
We booked this place for the Formula 1 race in Monte Carlo, based on its reviews. Reaching it by car was a real challenge, as both GPS devices we had took us along a very narrow, poorly maintained and poorly marked road from San Remo over the mountain, to Apricale. The road to take is from Ventimiglia, which is much better. The room was comfortable and people very friendly. Getting the baggage to and from the room entailed a 10 minute pull up/down steep streets, so the recommendation is to use light backpacks and leave the heavy bags in the car.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Great Romantic Getaway - Excellent Views and Room

Posted May 19, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Our Room - Bathroom - Views - Being able to make a cup of tea.
Cons: A Better map to find Breakfast Room needed as the one provided is not that simple to follow even with the instructions provided by staff.
Location: We only stayed one night and were able to visit the local museum (you must see the museum). We were also able to explore the rest of the village.
Absolutely amazing rooms and views. Lovely Medieval village to explore, friendly locals and great restaurants. We took our 78 year old mum with us and was a bit of a challenge for mum walking around because of the steps to navigate. If you are of average fitness for your age, it is just good exercise though. We would visit this place again. Breakfast room is not that easy to find and a more detailed map showing the location of it would help. Margaret and I loved our room - clean - comfortable bed and great shower area. Spectacular view from balcony. Communal area withLounge area - Fridge and Tea making facility is fantastic
2 out of 5
by Chuck from New York

Thought it would be the highlight of our vacation

Posted Sep 10, 2014 on Hotels
We were so excited to stay there, the pictures made it seem so friendly and quaint. It actually ended up being a very rough time. We drove in and the road the GPS gave us was very dangerous. When we got to the village it was utter chaos with everyone yelling at each other to move their cars because the 2 way road only handles one car in either direction. Then a hotel baggage handler comes up in a golf cart. I thought he might offer some relief, but he was also yelling at us to move our car. I ended up backing up into a trailer left on the side of the road from all the confusion. Lucky my rental car had all insurance. The room was pretty but impractical - it also smelled very funny and the smell that stayed in my lungs for days after. The people in the village were not very friendly or helpful except Ildo and Aldo at a restaurant on the main road. I will never go back to this hotel - it is all marketing and no real substance.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great service

Posted Sep 8, 2014 on Hotels
Service was great. Bags were taken from reception through the town to our room (which was a long way and uphill!) and we were given a small tour of the town as we were shown to the room which identified some good restaurants and places to visit. Well worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from uk

Interesting concept which worked well

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: The concept was new to us and worked really well.
Cons: Not a lot given the location
Location: Hill town on the edge of the Maritime Alps. Quaint cobbled streets with many steps. Car parking on the outskirts of the town but help was available.
Staff were all excellent and helpful, speaking to all clients at breakfast and looking after them. Room clean and well kept. Breakfast, possibly all home made, was also excellent. It was a delightful experience though the location would not lend itself to persons with mobility problems.