Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Great Hotel in the Center of Bucharest

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Location: The old city center of Bucharest is not far away. The train station is 2 kilometers away. It is a convenient walk to 2 different metro stops.
The Golden Tulip provided everything I was looking for--a great location, an excellent continental breakfast, healthy food, good service, a gym, a safe in the room, and peace and quiet.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mediocre hotel located downtown

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Hotel is conveniently located, reasonable price with a decent restaurant. However, I had enough small things wrong with my stay that I will not recommend it. My room was described as an executive room with a king bed. I found it very small with awkward layout and cramped furniture. 5 minutes into my stay, a maintenance person walked in my room, uninvited and unexpected. He quickly left when he saw the room was occupied, but I have no explanation for his visit. I soon discovered the air conditioning wasn't working. The room was extremely warm (lots of Windows on a corner room) with no way to cool it off. Maintenance came to say "no cooling", and left. I suspect because it was winter, the AC was off. The room eventually cooled off from the cold air coming thru the windows. I suspect this is why the sound of traffic was so loud as well. Later the next day, I had 3 separate housekeeping staff knock and ask if I needed anything. I asked the room be made up. They left and didn't return. The room was finally made up sometime later that afternoon while I was out. The Wifi connection was sketchy at best. The front deal said my corner executive room was farthest from the router, so I need to change rooms. The interior rooms were even smaller, and not what I booked, so I lived with it or 3 nights there. The hotel is very small. So no real amenities. The restaurant was reasonably priced for a hotel, and the food was quite good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California, US

Decent hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Pros: The friendly athmosphere, it feels more like a family run rather than a corporate hotel.
Cons: The shower was a little gritty, so a good scrub once in a while would make it perfect.
Location: There are lots of museums, the Romanian Atheneu, good shops and restaurants ( we especially liked Primus Pub), Cismigiu Gardens-something for everyone
We found this hotel a good choice for Bucharest. It's small and friendly, the location is great-close to everything, but kind of out of the noise and heavy traffic. The room was clean and comfortable, the breakfast was very good with excellent coffee choices. Overall, a decent hotel for the traveler looking for a good place to stay and enjoy the city.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Istanbul

Very well located. Modern. Good value.

Posted May 6, 2015
I usually stay at Golden Tulip Victoria. It is situated right on Calea Victoria. 3 minute walk from Piata Romana. 5 minute walk from Piata Victoriei. 15 minute walk from the Old City - the area where you'd like to spend most of your time if you are visiting for the first time.
5 out of 5
by biz traveller

Oasis on Bucharest

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Everything you could wish for while away on business
4 out of 5
by SummitHouse from Budapest, Hungary

A Solid Business Hotel

Posted May 17, 2014
Pros: The staff, and the beds
Cons: The bathrooms are on the verge of needing an update.
Location: The main tourist points of Bucharest are no more than a 2-3 km walk from this hotel.
This hotel offers a great location if you're in town for business or pleasure. It's only a short walk to the city's main business district, and a 10-15 minute walk to its main tourist sites. The hotel has a nice outdoor terrace for a quick bite or a drink on sunny days, and a popular cafe/ restaurant in the lobby. The rooms are clean, nicely appointed and come with every standard feature you'd expect from a four star hotel. While the bathrooms are on the verge of needing an upgrade, the sheets, pillowcases and mattresses are above par which translates into a solid sleep. The hotel management understands their clients, and has made WiFi free and fast throughout the hotel. LAN cables are also in each room for anyone who needs to be wired. Special note about the desk staff. They aim to please, and if you have any issues, this hotel has some of the friendliest, customer service oriented hospitality professionals I've come across in a while. They make this hotel a good choice, and would give anyone 100 reasons to return when they're in Bucharest.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not such a great hotel

Posted Oct 2, 2012
Pros: Location
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Ok
The breakfast was awful. The room price was high for what they offered. There are better hotels on the Victoria boulevard than this one.
5 out of 5
by Dervis from Kyrenia, Cyprus

Getting the value of what you paid for

Posted Apr 25, 2012
Pros: close to important points in the city, clean, reasonable rates
Cons: rooms could be a little bigger
Location: This part of the Calea Victorie is very quiet when you compare south part of the avenue....
It is on the Calae Victorie, which is one the oldest and important avenues of the Bucharest, it is very near to most of the point of interest of the city, all the personnel of the hotel are very friendly and polite and helpfull. And this hotel meets all the standards of 4 starred hotel. Price/value ratio is also considered high.....
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wash DC

Best location for going around Bucharest

Posted Jul 8, 2011
Neat, clean, quick, perfect located. well priced. good not find any better
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Flörsheim, Deutschland

Ruhiges Hotel in zentraler Lage.

Posted Dec 14, 2010
Das Hotel ist für kurzfristige Übernachtungen gut geeignet, für längerfristige Aufenthalte eher nicht.